We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso

Save Saved
You added Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Carona 27, Lugano 6902, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed in a suite for 2 nights, which was very spacious and had 2 nice balconies, but I was not happy with the location of the hotel. It is a very long walk to the center of Lugano but there is a train at the bottom of the hill which can take you 1 stop to Lugano. The restaurant in the hotel is outrageously expensive and there are few restaurant options nearby.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    77
    31
    10
    5
See reviews for
44
76
6
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed at one of the suites. The room was comfortable and spacey. The main room was nestled at the back with no view and very poor lighting.
The best view was from the terrace. The worst part is the food. The japanese restaurant was very VERY bad. when i ordered a Gohan they brought me a white rice risotto since no Japanese white rice was available!!!! (how do you manage to make sushi then ? Absolutely overpriced. We had a rented car which proved to be a life saviour, without it the shuttle bus is not your best bet.
Breakfast was mediocre, and room service has basically what bas food is offered at the restaurants plus a few more sandwiches. I would not return regardless of the view. Best to stay at a five star Hotel down in the city.

Room Tip: I stayed at one of the suites. In the end you are paying for the view so any should do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

a great hotel in Lugano with lovely views of the Lake from our balcony

Good location but on a steep hill the restaurant and food is excellent

The bar is lovely but we couldn't use it because of the cigarette smoke which was very disappointing

also the restaurant it was not possible to sit outside as people are allowed to smoke

this really is a nice hotel but if you don't like cigarette smoke it might not be for you

the Swiss have a different take on smoking and its strange the hotel only has one bar but it is not suitable for. non smokers

Room Tip: the balcony rooms have wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I picked this hotel as it offered a 1 bedroom suite accommodation. It also appeared to offer good quality and good value.Be warned the hotel is up a very steep hill. As we arrived by rail we asked to be picked up from the station , this happened but as with everything in the hotel the was no finesse , the porter was there, but it was made onlyu because it was his job and guests were causing an inconvenience. As we checked in there were sweets but none were offered to our son . The hotel I would have thought to be fairly Italianate but it was more Japanese furniture and a mismatch of oriental and european styles. Do not expect much storage space. We had one small wardrobe for 3 people no draws on bedside cabinets. The biggest waste of space was the hidden kitchen area. This was hidden behind some cane doors and seem to take up nearly a quarter of the room. The room did have 2 balconies one facing the hotel car park which caught the afternoon sun and had no chairs , the other had chairs and good view of the lake but never got the sun. The pool is small 6 people in and it was full and there is no outside area to sit . The only good thing was the restaurant but do not expect a children's menu it does not exist. The food was of a good standard . If you have a lake view room you can expect road and rail noise all day and night as the rooms over look the main Gotthard Railway and the road up from Lugano to servaral villages , as well as one of the park and ride bus routes.. The hotel advertises a turn-down service this happens at about 6-630pm just as most people are getting ready for dinner. If you happen to be in the room nothing is done. The hotel advertises Bulgari toiletries in their suites , they may appear on your arrival but do expect any further toiletries for the rest of your stay. The TV service is a joke , I do not expect a small wall mounted TV in a 4 star hotel these days. The hotel is nearer a 3star+ than a true four star , where the customer satisfaction should come before the staff convenience. The hotel needs to decide if they are going to apply themselves to providing a true 4 star service or just hope nobody ever notices the deficiencies in service levels.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs if you face the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel actually is in Paradiso, next to Lugano. It is a steep walk down the hill to the main strip of Lugano. The decor is dated but the rooms are enormous (effectively suites) and very clean. Prices are relatively (key word as Switzerland is one of the most expensive places on Earth) reasonable (16 chf for good breakfast buffet). Service struggles with English (English is definitely third behind Italian and German and possibly French as well) and definitely isn't at a four star level. Wifi is great in lobby and hit or miss in the rooms; television system is from the 1980s I suspect with a hilarious text controlled menu. The views are great but I am not in a hurry to stay here again, and for my purposes I would pick a place actually in Lugano.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Here you have a hotel on a very nice spot, with view on the beautiful lake of Lugano. But inside, the interior is outdated. The room I slept in had no Wifi, and the cable connection didn't work, despite of restart of the server. Had the luck of around 30 degrees C outside, but the rooms have no airco. As sitting on the top level, room inside temperature was like a sauna.

Upsides are the Japanese food and the Havana bar. But, for staying overnight, there are much better hotels in Lugano at a lower rate.

Room Tip: Don't stay overnight, look for other hotels in Lugano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Parco Paradiso on May 22-25th. We stayed in the Penthouse suite with lake view. It was a stunning view! The penthouse has a living room with doors that open to deck that you can sit and just take in the view. It also has two very nice bedrooms, with the master opening to the deck as well. Two bathrooms finish out the suite. It was great for our family of four to relax and yet have some space. Renting the penthouse was like paying for two regular rooms so it was worth it.
Our rooms came with a very nice breakfast. (there is a kitchen in the living room area, but it is blocked off. There is an additional fee to open the kitchen which might be good if you have small kids, but we didn't have a need for it). The hotel does not have a/c, but has big doors that open up and let a nice breeze in. The trouble is there are no screens, so that was hard to sleep with open doors and no screens. There is also a train that goes by at night. So, if the doors are open, you will here the midnight train toot through town.
It is located at the top of a hill which is fine to walk down to town, but you will get your work out walking back up.
I wouldn't trade our view though to be down below. You really get a panormic view from up there.
The people at the desk spoke Italian, German and English. They were all very nice and helpful. I would definitely return to this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Get the penthouse with a lake view! It is the best one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso

Address: Via Carona 27, Lugano 6902, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, Italian designer hotel with recreational facilities; overlooking lake from a serene hill; walking distance to the center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso Lugano
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.