We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel but needs Air Conditioning” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso to your Saves list
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Carona 27, Lugano 6902, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Woking
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Hotel but needs Air Conditioning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel as part of a swiss tour that included room and half board in August and found it to be manly positive. The hotel was comfortable, well presented and with friendly and helpful staff and the rooms were spacious and clean. The food as part of the deal was also very good with high quality four course dinners and a great selection of hot and cold food and drinks for breakfast. The hotel is also situated on the side of a hill and has a pleasant view of the lake from the pool and bar. The only real problem that we had which turned out to be fairly significant was the complete lack of air conditioning in any part of the hotel including the rooms. During our stay the temperature was around 36 degrees and after walking around lugano and up its peaks the hotel offered no respite when we returned for the day. Apart from that we enjoyed our stay and would recommend, although in a cooler season.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    95
    33
    10
    5
See reviews for
49
96
7
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a nice hotel, located at the top of a hill overlooking the lake its hard to find a better location in Lugano, the hotel isn’t exactly modern but it has a real charm more Italian than Swiss.

My room had a lovely view over the lake and the room was clean and bright, there was no WIFI in the room but this gave me an excuse to go to the Havana bar for a drink and to do a few emails, breakfast was basic but relaxing siting on the terrace outside.

There was no air-conditioning so i can imagine it would be very hot in the height of summer, never the less well priced and very charming.

.

Room Tip: make sure you go off season until the aircon is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I've enjoyed everything about this hotel: friendly staff, nice breakfast, sauna, location on the hill offering an amazing view over the city surrounding the lake. And of course, a visit to Havana Deck!

Room Tip: I believe there might be no A/C so you'd better check before you book a stay in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Hotel is located away from town but across from a bus stop and small rail stop. We chose to walk to town often but you can get a day bus pass for about $5 each (24 hr pass). Hotel has a shuttle and will pick you up but it only runs certain hours . We had to take a taxi back to the train station for $25 so not good if you have to leave at 7am. Great breakfast included with our room. Nice room & great view.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The hotel was located in a very quiet part of town, across the road from a small railway station. It is a little hard to find at first and cost about CHF20 from the rail terminal.
** Tip - the hotel has a shuttle!!!! Ring from where ever you are and they will pick you up. **
Rooms were comfortable but could do with a bit of renovation. It was hot when we were there and the lack of air conditioning meant that we needed to keep the window open which meant security wasn't good. We decided to lock the window and opt for the fan. It was okay but not great.
Apart from that the hotel was lovely. Good facilities (including a great indoor pool area), quiet location and a great full breakfast.
The hotel is a short walk to the lake but a decent walk from the heart of Lugano. Probably not walking distance for the frail, elderly or those with young children.
The hotel (as most do in Europe) had free WIFI but it could only be accessed in the lobby which was a pit of a pain but the comfortable lounges meant it was manageable.
Staff were wonderful, treat people nicely and they'll respond well. They even organised a cab to the railway station on check out because their shuttle was already booked. Can't ask for more than that.
Overall we'd be happy to go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Lake view from the hotel is great. Staff pretty friendly and ready to advise on how to reach attractions (Lake Bellagio, Como etc).

Rooms are too old and does not have A/C, gets too hot with only fans.

Restaurant is good with very helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I've stayed there for 3 nights on business. Had a suit on minus 2 level (no. 205) with own garden on the lake side- very spacious with a stunning view. Suit has a bedroom and separate leaving room, which could have extra two beds (hidden in a wall- great idea)- great option when you travel with a family. TV is in both rooms.
Nice and helpful stuff, GREAT breakfast- warm croissant, made-to-order eggs -yummy. Restaurant which serve Italian and Japanese cusine is great also for a diner, specially important as the hotel is a bit far from the city centre, so if tired at the end of the day and don't want to go for a long walk or take a taxi- this is a great option. Also, if you're a smoker- there is a great cigar bar (there is really A LOT OF SMOKE there, so hard to stay in when you're not).
There is no wifi in the rooms, but you can borrow a cable from reception and it's free. You can also use free wifi in the lobby as an option.
What is missing from my perspective is tea and coffee making facilities and a complimentary water in the room.
It was my first stay in this hotel as previously staying in Eden (better location). Must say, although Parco Paradiso is 4* and Eden 5*, I like Parco Paradiso MUCH better in general.

Room Tip: Take a Suit with a lake view. If you get it on -2- it will be with a garden (check my pictures) made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso

Address: Via Carona 27, Lugano 6902, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, Italian designer hotel with recreational facilities; overlooking lake from a serene hill; walking distance to the center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Escapio so you can book your Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso Lugano
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.