We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ibis style with strange bathroom” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Lugano Paradiso

Save Saved
You added Ibis Lugano Paradiso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Geretta 10A | Lugano Paradiso, Lugano 6900 , Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #18 of 42 hotels in Lugano
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milan, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ibis style with strange bathroom”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's an ibis so there are no high expectations to put into. But the bathroom is a metal-box. Not really comfortable when room-sharing with workmates. Prices are as everywhere in Switzerland high. Service and hotel more cold than warm. In general I wouldn't stay for longer than 2 nights. The best is the parking slot.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    100
    43
    8
    5
See reviews for
28
85
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The only thing budget about this hotel is the price! I don't think I've ever stayed in a fresher, cleaner more well run hotel. Every place was spotless and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The comment about the towels in a previous review is misleading, and led to me unnecessarily packing a towel in my miniscule carry on case. The towels are more than adequate and while shampoo is not provided soap is. The breakfast, while expensive at 15 francs, was fresh and well stocked and the girl keeping it all running smoothly was extremely friendly and helpful as well. Location-wise you couldn't get better. The area is very quiet, a stone's throw from the lake with lots of restaurants all around and buses running from the bus-stop on the corner that take you into the centre and to the train station in about 5 mins. There is also a super-market on the same corner as the bus stop though beware it's closed on Sundays. Lugano is stunning. Not only would I go back in a heartbeat to both Lugano and the Ibis Paradiso I will be looking for Ibis hotels in the future when I need a place to stay.

Room Tip: The views are lovely from all sides, mountains on one side, lake on the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We arrived here after ten days on a bus group trip through Italy. We breathed a sigh of relief that we finally found rooms with enough room to feel comfortable in. The first thing we ran to check was that we would have enough room to turn around in in the shower! Now I know that in Italy space in those older buildings is paramount but it was really a joy to find a shower we actually found functional. We also had had comfortable clean beds and we were happy!
There are safes to use and we were able to borrow a universal adaptor as for some reason our European ones didn't fit. Breakfast was small but sufficient. Overall a good value hotel within walking distance of the beautiful lake. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwold, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My DW (Dear Wife) and I arriived in Lugano at around 21h00 after a long train ride from London.
Taxi from station around 15 Euros. Pleasant and helpful night reception. Nice clean room - up to the usual IBIS standards - probably one of the best we have stayed in.

What was the most important thing when we arrived at the hotel? Get the WIFI activated. !!
We had a few problems but the receptionist was more the helpful.

Very comfortable beds - Indeed my DW said it was the best night's sleep she has had for months which is high praise indeed.

Breakfast was fine - usual continental breads and meats and good coffee. Nothing superb but more than adequate.

Bathroom - clean and functional. Usual IBIS standards of soap attached to the wall and extremely thin towels. This would have made me give this 4 stars instead of 5 but the service was so good ....

Next morning we had to go over the border into Italy and reception arranged a car and driver to take us there - very smooth operation.

Switzerland tends not to use regular European electricity adaptors but instead uses a three pin variant. Fortunately has this sorted.

We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida or ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

l will admit, to start, that we are spoiled americans. we usually stay at a hilton, but we have stayed at Ibis before. the most important thing when considering a hotel us to us: THE BED!
the beds here are comfy, you will like them. the hotel itself is spartan, but clean. the room is tiny, but has what you need. the shower has plenty of hot water, but sometimes the temp varies and you have to adjust. these is one squeeze tube in the shower with contents described as OK for use as body wash or shampoo. definitely not the hilton. internet works well, and is free, breakfast in usual buffet. there is a pool, but it belongs to the novotel next door, same chain, but more upscale. you can walk, 5 min. to the lake (Lugano), and another 20 minutes to downtown, which has restaurants and upscale shopping (YSL, etc.).
the staff is friendly and they speak english. Marco at the front desk is a treasure. he gave us a map of Switzerland to supplement our GPS, which is sometimes bi-polar.
So, good location, friendly staff, clean hotel, excellent bed but tiny room. biggest complaint, parking is extra, and expensive. $25-30, and you have to use it because the on street parking is maximum of one hour.

Room Tip: we were in room 523, with a partially obstructed view of the lake.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Θεσσαλονίκη, Ελλάδα
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Nice, simple, clean hotel in a nice area, nice breakfast helpful and polite personnel. I recommend it. Tip ask for a room that sees the lake,the
view is magnificent! Also choose to have also breakfast. Take the bus from the train station for luggano paradiso and there it is

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Lugano Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Lugano Paradiso

Address: Via Geretta 10A | Lugano Paradiso, Lugano 6900 , Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Lugano Paradiso 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Lugano Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Lugano Paradiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.