We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what is most important?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Lugano Paradiso

Save Saved
You added Ibis Lugano Paradiso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Geretta 10A | Lugano Paradiso, Lugano 6900 , Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
GreenLeadersSilver level
florida or ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“what is most important?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

l will admit, to start, that we are spoiled americans. we usually stay at a hilton, but we have stayed at Ibis before. the most important thing when considering a hotel us to us: THE BED!
the beds here are comfy, you will like them. the hotel itself is spartan, but clean. the room is tiny, but has what you need. the shower has plenty of hot water, but sometimes the temp varies and you have to adjust. these is one squeeze tube in the shower with contents described as OK for use as body wash or shampoo. definitely not the hilton. internet works well, and is free, breakfast in usual buffet. there is a pool, but it belongs to the novotel next door, same chain, but more upscale. you can walk, 5 min. to the lake (Lugano), and another 20 minutes to downtown, which has restaurants and upscale shopping (YSL, etc.).
the staff is friendly and they speak english. Marco at the front desk is a treasure. he gave us a map of Switzerland to supplement our GPS, which is sometimes bi-polar.
So, good location, friendly staff, clean hotel, excellent bed but tiny room. biggest complaint, parking is extra, and expensive. $25-30, and you have to use it because the on street parking is maximum of one hour.

Room Tip: we were in room 523, with a partially obstructed view of the lake.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    105
    48
    11
    5
See reviews for
31
93
12
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Θεσσαλονίκη, Ελλάδα
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Nice, simple, clean hotel in a nice area, nice breakfast helpful and polite personnel. I recommend it. Tip ask for a room that sees the lake,the
view is magnificent! Also choose to have also breakfast. Take the bus from the train station for luggano paradiso and there it is

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Really new Ibis. located beside ibis budget and novotel.
The new ibis bed is very comfortable.
However, room wasn't considered clean.
had 2 hair in the shower when we checked in. and a dead mosquito on the wall near the window.

In the morning, it was hard to go down stairs as there is only 1 very small lift. we ended up going down through budget's lift.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Functional and typical for an Ibis room: ugly bath however clean and limited amenities. Value hotel, though for one night stay the “same door” Ibis budget should be considered.
The CHF 15.- breakfast buffet is at most correct except for the standard Ibis but disappointing coffee machine, not acceptable for Switzerland, especially in Tessin where usual quality is much higher. TV channels choice and available Wifi appreciated.

Room Tip: no fitness center available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerringong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We recently spent two nights at this hotel after travelling by train from Rome. It is about a five minute ride by taxi from the Lugano train station and after getting over the cost of the taxi ride (20CHF) we settled comfortably into the Ibis. The weather wasn't in our favour for our stay in Lugano, but we were greeted by helpful, friendly staff and made to feel welcome! Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable and the bed was like heaven after experiencing some hotels in Italy. We enjoyed a good breakfast on both mornings at the Ibis and at night went into the Novotel next door for a nightcap. Although Paradiso is a little way out of Lugano, it gives you the opportunity to take a lovely, easy walk along the lake into Lugano. Lugano is a beautiful city and we took a ferry from Paradiso to Gandria on the lake, which we highly recommend. If we ever get back to Lugano we wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Ibis Lugano Paradiso.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Lugano Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Lugano Paradiso

Address: Via Geretta 10A | Lugano Paradiso, Lugano 6900 , Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Lugano Paradiso 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Lugano Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Lugano Paradiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.