We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Lugano Paradiso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added ibis Lugano Paradiso to your Saves list
ibis Lugano Paradiso
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Geretta 10A, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Only On: 5% discount
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Lugano
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Really new Ibis. located beside ibis budget and novotel.
The new ibis bed is very comfortable.
However, room wasn't considered clean.
had 2 hair in the shower when we checked in. and a dead mosquito on the wall near the window.

In the morning, it was hard to go down stairs as there is only 1 very small lift. we ended up going down through budget's lift.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen80811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Functional and typical for an Ibis room: ugly bath however clean and limited amenities. Value hotel, though for one night stay the “same door” Ibis budget should be considered.
The CHF 15.- breakfast buffet is at most correct except for the standard Ibis but disappointing coffee machine, not acceptable for Switzerland, especially in Tessin where usual quality is much higher. TV channels choice and available Wifi appreciated.

Room Tip: no fitness center available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerringong, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We recently spent two nights at this hotel after travelling by train from Rome. It is about a five minute ride by taxi from the Lugano train station and after getting over the cost of the taxi ride (20CHF) we settled comfortably into the Ibis. The weather wasn't in our favour for our stay in Lugano, but we were greeted by helpful, friendly staff and made to feel welcome! Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable and the bed was like heaven after experiencing some hotels in Italy. We enjoyed a good breakfast on both mornings at the Ibis and at night went into the Novotel next door for a nightcap. Although Paradiso is a little way out of Lugano, it gives you the opportunity to take a lovely, easy walk along the lake into Lugano. Lugano is a beautiful city and we took a ferry from Paradiso to Gandria on the lake, which we highly recommend. If we ever get back to Lugano we wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Ibis Lugano Paradiso.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for three nights and it was one of the worst experiences that I ever had.

Bad was:
- RUDE staff. Receptionist has OVERCHARGED me by 25 CHF, and when I tried to explain she refused any explanation. The refund was made only after the call to booking.com and a Scandal with the receptionist. When I've asked about it, I get an answer that it is my problem to call and to prove anything to them.

- Always long queues on reception. It took 15 minutes just to wait for my turn to check out. There are huge groups of tourists in the hotel and they are not able to serve them all.

- Stupid uncomfortable system with a lift. It goes only with the room key and system works one time out of three. The room keys are frequently demagnetizing after a day use and you cannot access you room or even your floor!

- When I needed to park car I had to leave it in front of the parking and go to the reception for the first time. The automatic opening was not working. The parking was overcrowded and there were lots of cars.

- The room was fine, but a bit scratched. Worst thing was the loud noise of the construction site, which was nearby. On my vacations I woke up at 7 a.m. because of the loud noise from it.

Just imagine the thing: you parked your car on the parking and you cannot enter the hotel as the entrance is also by the card, which is demagnetized. You call to the reception and then you come to the reception and wait in the queue as you can not reach your floor. Then you come to the lift and wait, as there are huge groups coming in it. Then you get into the lift, but the system doesn't recognize you and you go to the 7th floor instead of 3rd. And than again - it could last for 15 minutes surfing in the lift.

Terrible experience with the staff, I never saw receptionist arguing about the rates and overcharging me straight away. Never again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.0 mi away
ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#17 of 44 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
#12 of 44 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Delfino
Hotel Delfino
#9 of 44 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
0.8 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#6 of 44 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
1.0 mi away
Albergo Acquarello
Albergo Acquarello
#34 of 44 in Lugano
3.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Lugano Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Lugano Paradiso

Address: Via Geretta 10A, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Lugano Paradiso 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening in July 2012, this hotel is situated in Lugano-Paradiso, not far from the town's historic center, sophisticated shops and conference center. Open year round, the ibis hotel is an ideal base for business trips, relaxing vacations and restful weekends. The hotel boasts modern and elegant soundproofed rooms offering maximum comfort, as well a bar and breakfast room. Free WIFI access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your ibis Lugano Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing