We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and clean - location just ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Lugano Paradiso

Save Saved
You added Ibis Lugano Paradiso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Geretta 10A | Lugano Paradiso, Lugano 6900 , Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
GreenLeadersSilver level
South Bend, Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Modern and clean - location just ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was a clean and comfortable hotel. The elevator was a little crazy. A room key was required to go above the reception floor and it was a weird lotto system on which floor the elevator would stop. Just because you pressed a button first did not mean the evevator would go up or down. It seemed to go to the closest request. However the reception was extremely friendly and very helpful and the rooms were clean. Parking was not included in the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    104
    48
    11
    5
See reviews for
30
93
12
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We booked two rooms here for a night when we were transiting thru Lugano (to catch the Bernina express). The hotel is in a decent location - you can take a bus from the railway station and get off one stop before Paradiso. We were four people with luggage at night, so we opted for a taxi which costs 20 CHF. next day morning, we took the bus back to the railway station. If you are staying and visiting in Lugano, the location is very good. One of the funiculars start just outside the hotel. Our rate didn't include breakfast - it was very expensive so we skipped it. The rooms themselves were small with a tiny bathroom. Wifi worked fine and was free. Overall an ok choice in Lugano, but I thought it was a bit expensive for what it offered.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

New, clean, modern, comfortable, inexpensive, a 15 minute walk along the lake to the town centre. Supermarket 5 mins away, a few restaurants and a pub close by too. Railway about 20 mins away. Service is minimalist but friendly but this is part of the budget experience. Bring shampoo!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san luis obispo, ca
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a recently remodeled more middle priced Novotel property. This hotel sits opposite a Holiday Inn and is attached to the Novotel and a Budget Ibis, which is even less expensive, in a nice neighborhood. The room is brand new and is slightly smaller than the European average size. The beds were very comfortable and the room very clean. The free wi-fi worked well. The bathroom is small, but functional. It reminds one of a cruise ship bathroom. It looks as if it is premade in four sections and assembled in place with Grohe faucets. There is a smaller shower and a small amount of floor space. Yet everything functioned well. The staff were attentive, and appeared to know what they were doing, unlike those experienced by previous reviewers. There was soap and a hair dryer in the bath, which previous reviewers did not find. For Lugano, and for the very expensive Switzerland in general, this is a very reasonably priced hotel, that is an excellent value for the quality of the property. Breakfast is not included, and we found an excellent bakery a half a block away. Five bubbles given, as the price is very reasonable for the quality in a very high rent district. Unfortunately, we did not read the previous reviewer who found out how to take a bus. We spent $30 to take a taxi in the rain from the train station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

It's a quick bus ride down the hill from the train station. You simply have to walk out of the station and walk two steps to the right to find the bus stop for Paradiso. The day we arrived the ticket machines were being updated so we rode the bus for free- you take it to the end of the line, and stroll half a block to Hotel Ibis. It looks practically brand new and the staff were quite nice. The single elevator they have is indeed quite small and not adequate to handle the amount of people they have staying at the hotel, but it is what it is... We only stayed one night and it didn't bother us too much. The rooms are small but not uncomfortable, and the bathroom is.. well, like one you'd find on a boat. It's modular and capsule like, but it has cleanliness going for it. I'd say for the price (we paid $125 a room with two beds), it's absolutely fine. I'd skip the breakfast for 15 EUR though and get something on your own. I took a nice walk along the lake, down to the fanciest McDonald's you'd ever seen and had myself a delicious croissant (fresh out of the oven) and a latte for 1/4 of the price. BTW, the hotel is steps away from Monte Salvatore if you're interested in going up there. May not be the right place if you want to be in the center of town but for a bit of peace and quiet, and for a walker like me it worked out just fine.

Room Tip: Since there is just one elevator, I'd choose a lower floor... if you get frustrated having to wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We could only laugh when we left the hotel. The staff was perhaps friendly but they were very slow and seemed to have no education of working in a hotel. No Welcome, no hellos, no smiles..
The elevator was awfully slow. We could wait for it up to between 5-10 minutes at times. CRAZY. And it was also very very small which made it even worse and you had to wait looooonger because you could not squeeze in...Terrible.
Rooms were nice! Modern and fresh! Bathroom was fun, felt like you were on a ship. But very clean! Breakfast was good as well. The lady organizing down in the breakfasthall was the nicest person at the hotel... She at least said goodmorning :) !!!
One more thing: the hotel lies 10-15 minutes from Lugano-city. BUT for us that was a great thing! Because every day we were walking along the beautiful lake... Otherwise we might had missed that.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a brand new Ibis, with very slow service (check in)
Rooms are new, and toilets seem to be like ships bathrooms. Wifi provided cost free.
Poor breakfast.
Location a little bit far from the city center, but reacheable by a 10' walk along the lake.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Lugano Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Lugano Paradiso

Address: Via Geretta 10A | Lugano Paradiso, Lugano 6900 , Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Lugano Paradiso 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Lugano Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Lugano Paradiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.