We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place for a decent price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colorado

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Colorado to your Saves list
Hotel Colorado
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Via Clemente Maraini 19 | Via Adamini 20, Lugano CH-6907, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 25 Lugano B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Decent place for a decent price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The price of this hotel didn't inspire much hope in it's standard, but arriving there we were pleasantly surprised. The hallways are very narrow and get a Little bit claustrophobic but the room itself was alot better than my expectations. Even the breakfast was alot better than we had hoped. There is somewhat limited parking available but if you get a spot, it's in a very good Place right behind the Hotel.
The location is fine, somewhat Close to the beach and city center. Not extremely Close but it's definately within Walking distance. I would consider Colorado if going to Lugano again some time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
7
12
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

The great location, easy to walk to&from the train station, the friendly staff and the availability to use one of their "house" bikes to cycle around Lugano made the Hotel Colorado my "Lugano" hotel. The rooms very efficient, quiet, everything you would want and need. The free WiFi allowed me to pick up my e-mails and catch up the news. Recommend very highly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I booked the hotel through email and got a very warm reply that "we like to take care of nice people as our profession".

We stayed for 3 nights.

Upon checking-in and every morning, we are warmly greeted by staff members.

Hotel Manager told us that all rooms have been renovated in 2013 with air conditioning, new windows with double glazing, fire resistant doors, furniture, and floors.

The hotel's TAVERNETTA GRILL Restaurant serves a light cuisine, pizza and good wine from Ticino Region.

Room 408 is spacious and clean with balcony view to quiet residential neighborhood and enchanting mountains. Lugano's car free shopping mall “Via Nassa” which leads to “Piazza della Riforma” and lake promenade is 5 minute walk downhill from the hotel (take elevator down to car park level for a shorter walk) -- neat !

Railway station is 7 minute walk or take City Bus No.2 first stop Tassino.

Breakfast is great in quality and variety.

A very friendly, homey hotel. Good ambiance and great price for a winter holiday in sunny Lugano.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemasse, France
Top Contributor
380 reviews 380 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Yes, room 403 was a bit small for two although I was alone; there was a nice balcony with view. Room 310 was bigger, I noted. Staff very sweet and helpful. Free parking. Wifi worked fine. Not a far walk to town, though downhill. Bus 2 passes right by.
Nice breakfast.

If people want big rooms like in the US you are going to have to pay a huge amt in Switzerland (NYC, too!)

Room Tip: ask for the biggest one possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I'd not say the hotel is bad. In fact, staff at front desk is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is good and offers a variety of jam, cold cuts and cheese, cereal, fruit, eggs and juices. The rooms are basic and very clean. In fact, there is hardly anything in there that could become dusty. Except for the mattress, which had been in there too long for a person allergic to dust mites. In spite of a particular request when bookinng the room. Fortunately, it was still warm enough to sleep with an open window, and adding two antihistamines every night helped me out.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We got this hotel com our bernina express package. After the nice experience we had at Eden hotel in St.Moritz, we were a bit shocked when we entered our room in hotel Colorado the room is small , the bathroom is very tiny and I could hear all the sound from other rooms in the evening. Won't stay there anymore !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Colorado this spring and it was great! The management was extremely helpful and friendly, and the continental breakfast was healthy and delicious. Our room was a little small but very clean, and the owners were cheerful every time we saw them, giving us lots of information about getting around and things to do. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado

Address: Via Clemente Maraini 19 | Via Adamini 20, Lugano CH-6907, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colorado 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.