We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable winter stay at sunny Lugano and homey hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Federale

Save Saved
You added Hotel Federale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Federale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Paolo Regazzoni 8, Lugano 6900, Switzerland (Formerly Minotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable winter stay at sunny Lugano and homey hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Hotel Federale is very close to the train station. Our room on the 5th floor has a circular balcony which offers the best view over the lake, mountains and glittering lights at night.

The hotel is managed by two brothers of same owner family since 1923.
Very clean, fine and thoughtfully furnished room, homey and comfy.

Lugano town and lake promenade is five-minute walk downhill.

Great location, very friendly host and staff. Highly recommend.

Round the corner the only pasta shop in Lugano offers great choice for lunch where pastas are freshly made everyday by Italian chef.

January to March is relatively quiet in Lugano but we had a perfect winter stay in warm, sunny Lugano and Hotel Federale.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Troy N,
Thank you very much for staying at our Hotel Federale in Lugano and thank you for taking time in wirting a review about your stay.
Thank you for your compliments and thank you for having also written about our new Pasta Shop Pasta e Pesto which we opened in January.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next trip to Lugano.
With kindests regards
Roland & Thomas Galliker and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    49
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
41
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We arrived at the station above and quickly realised the map to get to this hotsl involved stairs to start with. That's ok if you have light luggage but we were from Australia and had 25kg suitcases and back packs. If you have this you should exit the station and turn right where you will see a roundabout where you can cross the road safely to the ramp/footpath that leads to the hotel. This is the beginning of walking down hill and climbing back up again over and over for your stay in beautiful Lugano. We arrived at the hotel and were told of an upgrade to a superior room from our booked comfort room. Wow we were very grateful not yet realising how grateful. We got to our room and the view was amazing. It overlooked the water, the mountains, Monte Bre and the old city oh we couldn't believe it. After settiling in we went for a walk. The only way I can describe to get to the old town is treating the hotel as a clock that is positioned at 6o'clock and you have to go past 9 o'clock to get to 12 o'clock or the other way past 3 o'clock to get to 12 o'clock . Both ways take the same time and both ways are down a steep hill that is not a,problem to get down but getting back up is oh so tiring. You get to eat what you want then climb the hill to pay for it. Haha. One big suggestion fro eating here was as you walk straight down the hill (you can veer left down some other hill) keep straight and at the bottom the funicular is there and it is a square. You can either now ever left to the building in fron of you or right. If you veer right you will walk toward the best Italian eatery for rolls, pizza, hot food you name it. For evening meals once you get this stall, turn right and walk not very far (probably 10-20metres) and turn left and you will see the sign La Tinera. This restaurant offers great traditional Italian meals and has a menu out the front so you can decide if it's for you. Just one word of warning for the shoppers, this place is pretty much shut down for Sundays. That was a let down but we made that day the one to walk the lake and have a lovely meal at one of the few places open in the square (the only place to find somewhere to eat and drink). Back to the hotel. We did have an evening meal here just to give it a go and it didn't disappoint. Very nice food and the waiter was very attentive. This is where you have breakfast in this part of the hotel and breakfast was full of the traditional Italian/Swiss food. Heaps of fruit, breads, cereal, pastries, meats and cheese and coffee. Very very nice. Upon checking out of the hotel we received a lovely little Christmas sack with lollies. A nice touch. We would recommend this hotel without doubt,

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Crab67tkf,
Thank you very much for having stayed at our Hotel Federale in Lugano and for taking time to write a very long and detailed review, not only about our hotel, but also about Lugano.
We look forward to welcoming you back should your trip take you again in our region.
With kindests regards
Roland Galliker and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is located at a downhill. From station, you need to walk a distance even through it look near (downhill). It's still walkable but maybe a challenge if you have big baggages. Luckily for us, we seek the hotel assistance to send us to the station when we checkout. We don't have to push our baggages uphill to reach the station.

The location is near to shopping streets estimate walk 5-7mins base on my speed.

The rooms are good even through we are at level 1 just a floor above the reception and breakfast restaurant. The family room is accommodating for 5 persons. There is separate keys to lock the 2 internal rooms.

We appreciate all the help provided by the hotel staffs especially the front desk team. They really nice to us. No language issue (english)and its a popular hotel. The breakfast is pretty simple but still acceptable.

But the service at the restaurant should improve since we observe different treatment between Asians and Westerns.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear MouseAK
Thank your very very much for your review and comments regarding your stay at our Hotel Federale in Lugano.
We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay in our family rooms and that you got some help with our hotel car to go back up to the train station. The beauty of Lugano is that it is built on hills and from each one of them you have a different view. "Unfortunately", it also means some climbing, but also some quiet, away from the noise of the activities on the piazzas, which are still within walking distance.
We hope you will consider again our Hotel Federale on your next trip to Lugano, and remain,
With kindests regards
Roland & Thomas Galliker & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel is a short steep walk down from the railway station (don't take the funicular down like we did as you have to walk right back up again). Our room was spacious and comfortable with a good bathroom. The dining room offers lunch and dinner. The breakfast buffet offered a good selection. The staff were friendly and efficient. The old town and lake is a 5 minute walk below the hotel. This hotel is really not suitable for those not able to handle the steep paths up to the station and down to the old town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear NZGrant,
Thank you very much for having stayed with us at the Hotel Federale in Lugano and also for taking the time in writing a review and rate us here on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in Lugano and also the description of the location of our hotel is very accurate.
We would be very happy if you would consider our hotel again on your next trip to Southern Switzerland in Lugano.
With kindests regards
Roland & Thomas Galliker and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Close to bus & train transportation, and downtown, although a fair amount of hill-climbing required. Helpful, professional staff. Nice quiet bar area. Nice variety of cold breakfast items & breads in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Bruce E.
Thank you very much for having stayed at our Hotel Federale in Lugano and thank you also for having taken the time to post a review and rate us. Thank you for the compliments on our staff and our cold breakfast selection.
We would be very happy to welcoming you again on your next visit to Lugano.
With kindests regards
Roland & Thomas Galliker & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Found this hotel in the center for one night, friendly end gentile staff. We had a very large room end bathroom because of the two children. Everything very clean. A traditional breakfast for a good start. I raccomand this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Freseat,
thank you very much for having stayed with us and for taking the time in writing a comment here on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again to our Hotel Federale on your next visit to Lugano.
With kindests regards
Roland Galliker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

One of the few remaining family run hotels in Lugano and it has a very warm feel as all staff from reception, to the maids, and waiters were very friendly.

The room was of a good size, very clean, with very comfortable bed and high quality bed lined. Some of the furniture was borderline old/vintage but on the whole good and charming; although the armchair should be re-upholstered. The bathroom was brand new as it had recently been refurbished and very nice. The room had a nice large balcony with partial view of lake Lugano. No aircon in the room which mean the room was rather hot at night for sleeping as it was about 30C during the day. But I understand they are progressively installing it in the rooms.

The free wifi worked very well.

The gym/spa was a let down as the gym portion was very small and also used to store furniture which I believe is rather a health & safety hazard. Also there was no aircon which means it was very hot in the basement to use the treadmill or bike. The spa area with sauna was basically turned off so I assumed one had to prebook to use it, which is rather cumbersome. Might just be better to do away with the whole thing and not advertise it rather than disappointing customers who want to use it. Also there was no wifi connecting in the gym.

I stayed nearly a week and had halfboard, which meant I ate dinner every night at the hotel. The menu was varied and always delicious and the service excellent. I recommend it. And the old owners of the hotel came round every evening to greet the customers which I thought was a very nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Mitch B,
thank you very much for having stayed with us and for your comments, which are very helpul.
Gym and sauna in summer: yes, it is messy, but in summertime it is hardly used and we use it, but as you point out we better should not, as a sort of storage room.
Starting March 2014 we will have a gentleman overlooking the area and offering massages, so the area will be more alive and well kept.
Thank you for the compliments regarding the restaurant and the friendliness of our staff, which are two point very important to us.
Thank you again for staying with us and having taken the time to write us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Lugano.
Roland Galliker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Federale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Federale

Address: via Paolo Regazzoni 8, Lugano 6900, Switzerland (Formerly Minotel)
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Federale 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run since 1923, near train station and bus terminal to Tirano, Milano, Bernina Express and Palm Express. Single, double, triple and four bedded rooms. Restaurant with terrace. Underground parking. Wlan. In old city center of Lugano, but on a hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Federale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Hotel Federale
Minotel Hotel Lugano
Minotel Lugano
Lugano Minotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Federale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.