We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and pleasant place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Federale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Federale to your Saves list
Hotel Federale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Paolo Regazzoni 8, Lugano 6900, Switzerland (Formerly Minotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Pfaffikon, Switzerland
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Nice and pleasant place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Family run hotel in the old city centre above the lake. A short walk from Lugano train station, it enjoys a tranquil setting of a surrounding park and has a small cosy garden terrace, welcome place to unwind after a busy day exploring the city.

Pleasant décor, spacious rooms, gorgeous mountain views, excellent breakfast, great local wines, nice and friendly staff. Just about everything you need for an enjoyable stay. We really liked the place, and would certainly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Helen U.
Thank you very much for having stayed at our Hotel while in Lugano and thank you for the time you took to write a revies on Tripadvisor.
Thank you for the positive feed back and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our place if you decide to come back to Lugano.
With kindests regards
Roland Galliker and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    60
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
31
50
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel is nice, but for the money we paid - just avarage. Rooms were not big but comfortable, and it is good to have a balcony. Good location - close to the center, not so far from the lake, and close to the station.
Staff was ok, so was our breakfast.
We ordered an extra bed for a kid - it was old, broken and not so safe for a kid...

Room Tip: Rooms with the view of Lugano seem to be nicer :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear rekawe11,
Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review of our hotel and thank you for having stayed with us on your trip to Lugano. You are absolutely right about the children bed and I apologize. I have ordered two new ones, still in the wooden style like you had and not the folding ones as they are more comfortable, and by the end of the month they will be exchanged (not just painted).
We have taken note that you were not satisfied enough with our service and we will take your comments in our staff meetings and will discuss how we can improve our services.
Again, thank you for staying with us, and we look forward, if you like, to welcoming you back at our Hotel Federale, family owned since 1923. With kindests regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We travelled by train so accommodation near the station was important. Couldn't get much closer, as we left the station,crossed the road and we seen the sign. Rather a step walk down to the hotel and were greeted with very friendly staff. We were on the top floor over looking the city with the lake in the distance. Room was lovely, roomy, clean and lovely decor. I thought it could have rated higher than 3 star. Breakfast was good and the friendliness nature of the staff was comforting. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear GrumpyD3,
Thank you very much for having stayed with us and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Your description reflects what we are trying to do everyday and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Lugano.
Thank you again and please do not hesitate to contact us for any information you would need regarding Lugano, or Ticino or our hotel.
With kindests regards
Families Roland & Thomas Galliker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Not far from the station in a quiet area, and 10 minutes downhill walk from the lake (take the funicular back to the station) this hotel provided great service from friendly, helpful staff. Good value in an expensive city.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the city are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear wcraft,
Thank you very much for your visit and we apreciate your time in writing a comment on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time in Lugano and at our family run hotel.
Should you one day come back to Switzerland and maybe also to Lugano, we would be pleased to welcoming you.
Hope you had a nice trip back to Australia, and remain,
With kindests regards
Families Roland & Thomas Galliker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

It took us a long time to choose a hotel in Lugano as most of them are very expensive. In the end we plumped for the Federale because of price and proximity to the station which cannot be bettered by any other hotel. Yes it is at the top of the hill but Lugano is a hilly town and if you base yourself at the lake you have a long climb to the station with luggage.

The manager could not have been more helpful when we checked in and the same can be said for his female colleagues. He gave us maps, directions and booked our airport bus for 2 days hence over the internet. A big load off our shoulders.

Our room was spotless, very comfortable and as far as the lack of AC was concerned we found the oscillating fan to be adequate at night as long as you kept the window shut.

Don't believe the adverse comments about breakfast. There was absolutely nothing to complain about. You could choose to eat in the large dining room or outside on the patio. You could sit out on the same patio in the evening with a drink if you wanted which was very pleasant. Evening meals were available although we preferred to eat near the lake.

A free computer was available in the lounge and we were able to print boarding passes for our flight home.

The one thing we did not appreciate was the porter just letting himself into our room unannounced on the last morning an hour before checkout time.

All in all, a pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We got this hotel when booking our Bernina Express trip. We received a nice, confortable room. For a 3-star hotel in Lugano it was actually good. Location to my eyes is good as it is very close to the train station and not far from the lake and city center. Breakfast was not the best ever, but it could be worse :)

Room Tip: Our room led to the entrance -1st floor, and it was a bit noisy early morning with people leaving an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I was in Lugano for one night on business. The Federale is just across from the train station and down the hill. It is an easy walk with no stairs down a ramp. The front desk staff is fluent in English and were able to help me with buses and othe public transportation.

I had a double room on the 1st floor (one flight up from the lobby). There is an elevator. My room had French doors out onto a large balcony, but was too low to have a view of the lake. The room had a desk and two chairs.

My only big complaint was the lack of air conditioning. It was quite warm (92F) the day I was there. The room had a big stand fan that I put in the doorway to the balcony. It was tolerable, but still warm at night.

A continental breakfast was included and all the gueasts sat on the patio for breakfast. There were lots of breads and rolls, yogurt, cereals, milk, coffee. Standard fair.

If you are looking for a hotel near the train station, the Federale is ideal. But it is a bit of a steep walk down the hill to the shopping area and to the lake. If you find that the hill is too much to climb to get back, take the funicular (inclined train) from the base back up to the train station and the take the short walk back down to the hotel.

The price is high, but right now, everything in Switzerland is expensive due to a bad exchange rate relative to the Dollar and Euro.

Room Tip: Get a high room with a view of the lake if that matters to you. All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Federale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Federale

Address: via Paolo Regazzoni 8, Lugano 6900, Switzerland (Formerly Minotel)
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Federale 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run since 1923, near train station and bus terminal to Tirano, Milano, Bernina Express and Palm Express. Single, double, triple and four bedded rooms. Restaurant with terrace. Underground parking. Wlan. In old city center of Lugano, but on a hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Federale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Hotel Federale
Minotel Hotel Lugano
Minotel Lugano
Lugano Minotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Federale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.