We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD HOTEL, GOOD LOCATION” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Federale

Save Saved
You added Hotel Federale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Federale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Paolo Regazzoni 8, Lugano 6900, Switzerland (Formerly Minotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“GOOD HOTEL, GOOD LOCATION”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Not far from the station in a quiet area, and 10 minutes downhill walk from the lake (take the funicular back to the station) this hotel provided great service from friendly, helpful staff. Good value in an expensive city.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the city are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear wcraft,
Thank you very much for your visit and we apreciate your time in writing a comment on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time in Lugano and at our family run hotel.
Should you one day come back to Switzerland and maybe also to Lugano, we would be pleased to welcoming you.
Hope you had a nice trip back to Australia, and remain,
With kindests regards
Families Roland & Thomas Galliker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    54
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
45
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

It took us a long time to choose a hotel in Lugano as most of them are very expensive. In the end we plumped for the Federale because of price and proximity to the station which cannot be bettered by any other hotel. Yes it is at the top of the hill but Lugano is a hilly town and if you base yourself at the lake you have a long climb to the station with luggage.

The manager could not have been more helpful when we checked in and the same can be said for his female colleagues. He gave us maps, directions and booked our airport bus for 2 days hence over the internet. A big load off our shoulders.

Our room was spotless, very comfortable and as far as the lack of AC was concerned we found the oscillating fan to be adequate at night as long as you kept the window shut.

Don't believe the adverse comments about breakfast. There was absolutely nothing to complain about. You could choose to eat in the large dining room or outside on the patio. You could sit out on the same patio in the evening with a drink if you wanted which was very pleasant. Evening meals were available although we preferred to eat near the lake.

A free computer was available in the lounge and we were able to print boarding passes for our flight home.

The one thing we did not appreciate was the porter just letting himself into our room unannounced on the last morning an hour before checkout time.

All in all, a pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We got this hotel when booking our Bernina Express trip. We received a nice, confortable room. For a 3-star hotel in Lugano it was actually good. Location to my eyes is good as it is very close to the train station and not far from the lake and city center. Breakfast was not the best ever, but it could be worse :)

Room Tip: Our room led to the entrance -1st floor, and it was a bit noisy early morning with people leaving an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I was in Lugano for one night on business. The Federale is just across from the train station and down the hill. It is an easy walk with no stairs down a ramp. The front desk staff is fluent in English and were able to help me with buses and othe public transportation.

I had a double room on the 1st floor (one flight up from the lobby). There is an elevator. My room had French doors out onto a large balcony, but was too low to have a view of the lake. The room had a desk and two chairs.

My only big complaint was the lack of air conditioning. It was quite warm (92F) the day I was there. The room had a big stand fan that I put in the doorway to the balcony. It was tolerable, but still warm at night.

A continental breakfast was included and all the gueasts sat on the patio for breakfast. There were lots of breads and rolls, yogurt, cereals, milk, coffee. Standard fair.

If you are looking for a hotel near the train station, the Federale is ideal. But it is a bit of a steep walk down the hill to the shopping area and to the lake. If you find that the hill is too much to climb to get back, take the funicular (inclined train) from the base back up to the train station and the take the short walk back down to the hotel.

The price is high, but right now, everything in Switzerland is expensive due to a bad exchange rate relative to the Dollar and Euro.

Room Tip: Get a high room with a view of the lake if that matters to you. All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALEXANDRIA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The hotel is located just below the train station,and on leaving the hotel ,we were given a free transfer to the train station.very clean hotel with a staff always smiling.Try to book the hotel, from its own site,if you book early you can get a very good deal.Try their 5 course dinner ,it is very reasonably priced. My room was air conditioned,the matress and the pillows were perfect. To go downtown it takes 5 minutes on foot,and on your way down you can have a wonderful view of lugano from the balcony of the cathedral . to go up ,take the funiculare .Cetainly i will stay there again if i go to lugano again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Jaz Hotels and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

How can a hotel that costs 250 PER NIGHT have no air conditioning? Also, the breakfast was poor. Bread and warm meat and cheese. Yummm. Mind you, this would be fine if I were paying under 200USD. IT WAS SO EXPENSIVE. It was hot as hell due to no airconditioning. The beds were comfortable at least. I would NOT stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed here recently with extended family. This is a small boutique hotel. The hotel has great ambiance. Our rooms included breakfast. The breakfast was amazing!

The rooms are small but cozy rather than cramped. Be aware there is no AC, so if it is very hot you might have difficulty. Luckily for us, there was a nice evening breeze and we were very comfortable.

Room Tip: Great for travelers on a budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Federale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Federale

Address: via Paolo Regazzoni 8, Lugano 6900, Switzerland (Formerly Minotel)
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Federale 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run since 1923, near train station and bus terminal to Tirano, Milano, Bernina Express and Palm Express. Single, double, triple and four bedded rooms. Restaurant with terrace. Underground parking. Wlan. In old city center of Lugano, but on a hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Federale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Hotel Federale
Minotel Hotel Lugano
Minotel Lugano
Lugano Minotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Federale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.