We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location just below the train station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Federale

Save Saved
You added Hotel Federale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Federale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Paolo Regazzoni 8, Lugano 6900, Switzerland (Formerly Minotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Zurich
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Good location just below the train station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We had a room at the back of the hotel towards the train station. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. We had shower only bathroom.

The breakfast buffet was good with a wide selection of cheeses, meats etc. The coffee was cold.

The staff were friendly and helpful. It was short walk down hill to the Lake. Lugano is a pretty city with a lovely lakefront location, and choices of funiculars to view the city and its environs from above. Its well worth a visit.

The room was pricey which might have been because there was a grape festival on in town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    50
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
42
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We arrived in Lugano with no reservation and stayed one night at the Lugano Dante (see separate review) and they then found us this place for our remaining two nights. We also parked our car in their secure, underground garage for our entire stay.

Upon check-in, they offered us either a room or one of their new refurbished apartments just around the corner from the main hotel. They were excellent and even had their own laundry! The apartment was very new, extremely modern, finished to a high standard and excellently located. The final touches being added while we were there (shutters on the windows etc) will make this place top notch and even more comfortable as they will allow for a darker room a night (there was a streetlight outside our window that even the blinds couldn't keep the light out from).

The staff were excellent and nothing was too much bother. Breakfast was also included if we wanted each morning, back up the hill in the main hotel.

Thanks guys for your assistance while we were there - we'll be back and have already recommended you to fellow vintage car travelers we met at the top of the Stelvio pass the day after leaving the area.

Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: If you want an apartment and a bit more freedom from the main hotel, ask for this with these guys as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

hotel is great, facing the train station however going up and down the ramp with luggage may get challenging but not so bad. we got two connected rooms which was great. one of them had a balcony. there is no AC but a there's a fan. it's still got a little hot at night even with the window open but i come from a place where we only sleep with air con on and it's in every room. would recoomend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We spent two nights in the Hotel Federale in June 2011. Our room on the fifth floor was clean with a tub/shower combination that is a little larger than in many European hotels. The staff was excellent. They arranged for an early-monring taxi to take us to the airport and also were kind enough to let us have breakfast two hours earlier than they usually serve since we had an early flight out. Breakfasts were lovely, with a nice range of items. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant one night and enjoyed it a lot. Our waiter was very nice and really wanted to make sure that everything was perfect. The hotel is situated just a few minutes walk from the train station.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We stayed with our two kids. Room was alright and we didn't request additional bed for the youngest. This said, the price was too expensive for what it was offered. The hotel is well located yet you have to climb high from the lake. Nice panoramic view from our room.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

We love the Hotel Federale and return here often, looking forward to the warm hospitality and attentiveness of this long-time (85 years) family-run hotel. Convenience to train and bus station (to Milan airport) are of course a draw, but it is the peace and beauty of the location that we look forward to, whether from our balcony overlooking the lake or the garden where we eat our meals. Lugano itself is a lovely attraction, but it is always a bit of a relief to withdraw from the carnival atmosphere by the lake and walk up that delightful stepped street to the Federale.
We usually include breakfast and dinner in our rate (halbpension); the dinners are regularly enjoyable (and affordable), and the breakfasts are exceptional. Businessmen seem to find the Federale attractive, because of its location, and we have noticed that families with children are welcome, but the Federale's draw has always been for travelers like us who like to use Lugano as a base for hiking, boating and general relaxation. Many, like us, return year after year.
(By the way, in response to another review, the Federale's free internet access is in the lounge. High-speed Wi-Fi access is available in your room for a fee.)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

We stayed one night at this hotel and had a very positive experience all around. We booked based on reviews, location, price and the private parking on-site. We arrived around noon and our room was ready! We were unsure where to park the car, so the receptionist sent out an attendant to get our luggage, show us to our room and move the car for us. It was worth the tip.

Our room was very spacious (504) and had a nice balcony with table and chairs and a view of the Lugano city scape. The bathroom was very big with room to spread things out. The room also had a safe, which is always a plus. The windows have automatic shades that come down and darken the room. Downside, there is no A/C or ventilation except the windows, which if left open would be noisy I think. Luckily for us the temperature was not too hot. A fan would be a nice addition.

The location is great and only a 10-15 minute walk to the water-front and shops. We arrived by car, so the parking was an important feature. It was secured parking and seemed very safe.

Breakfast was fine and the service was very friendly. For this one night stay, I would give a positive review.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Federale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Federale

Address: via Paolo Regazzoni 8, Lugano 6900, Switzerland (Formerly Minotel)
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Federale 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run since 1923, near train station and bus terminal to Tirano, Milano, Bernina Express and Palm Express. Single, double, triple and four bedded rooms. Restaurant with terrace. Underground parking. Wlan. In old city center of Lugano, but on a hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Federale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Hotel Federale
Minotel Hotel Lugano
Minotel Lugano
Lugano Minotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Federale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.