We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, great staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Admiral

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Admiral to your Saves list
Hotel Admiral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Geretta 15 | Paradiso, Lugano 6900, Switzerland (Formerly Holiday Inn Lugano Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Ingersoll, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
“Convenient location, great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is right on bus line from train station (but be sure to check out which bus etc you should take BEFORE you head to Lugano!). The funicular to Mount San Salvatore is right around the corner from the hotel and the boat dock for lake tours is only 3-4 blocks away - very convenient walks from the hotel. The staff here were exceptional - ensuring that our stay was perfect for us - extra pillows, converters available, recommendations for walks, restaurants etc. Beautiful town and lovely people.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaCorrias, Direttore generale at Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Sheri,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review, we are happy that we have found very good at our facility. as you say it 's true that our location is great, close to all the attractions like the funicular and the pier for excursions in the lake. pleasantly furnished with a 15-minute walk along the lake you arrive in the town center.
My staff and I are very proud that you believes they are "great" and that you have been happy with the service that we have made.
for us it was a pleasure to have had a special guest like you! We will wait to see you soon.

All the best

GM Andrea Corrias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    33
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
18
36
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stumbled upon it by chance while driving around Switzerland by myself.
Ideally located just minutes away from the boat terminal and mount San Salvatore cable railway, it was perfect for a few days relax exploring the great natural sorroundings.
The hotel is spotless, rooms are large and bright and there's a parking lot where I left my car all during my stay and for an honest price.
Special mention for the front office staff, which was top! They really made the difference in my stay with all the useful tips and easy cheerfulness, which is sometimes so important for a solo traveller. Definetly a place I'd come back, felt like home.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaCorrias, Direttore generale at Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sara,

thanks a lot for your very nice comment. it's incredible how did you feel even if it was the first time in ticino and in our property. you have touch with your hand our family hotel staff and how relaxing is to stay same time with us. the place is very quite, out of the noice of the city center, and we have all the services to make your stay relaxing.

we are waiting to see you again as soon as possible, don't forget us!

GM Andrea Corrias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had really great time in Hotel Admiral. Room was very nice and comfortable, Samanta and other women took care about cleanness and thanks for that. Head chef made me delicious dishes in which I enjoyed while sparrow, the hotel's regular guest, kept me company :) You have lovely staff and don't change them.
I felt like at home.
Thanks for everything.
Lea from Serbia :)

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaCorrias, Direttore generale at Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Lea

Thank you for your beautiful comment and we are all delighted that you have spent some beautiful days in Lugano and at our hotel. my job and the staff is just as you wrote, make you feel at home, and I think we succeeded in do it.
We are waiting you for a next stay in Lugano, again thank you very much.

GM Andrea Corrias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel for 3 nights at a weekend. We booked with expedia. Check-in was super-smooth and fast. All extras as previously quoted (10 euro/night the dog, 10 euro/night parking about 5 euro per person/night tourist tax).

The room was small but clean and modern. Since we had a dog, the hotel staff kindly gave us a room with a balcony. Bathroom was a little less modern but still clean and spacious.

We used the SPA area. Nice pool, separate saunas for men/women and a small gym. Unfortunately, it was very noisy as there were a couple of families with wild kids diving and shouting the whole time.

The hotel is in the Paradiso area of Lugano, less than 5-minute walk from Lugano centre. The walk from the hotel to the centre fo Lugano is very nice, by the lake. The hotel is also 20 yards from the "funicolare", which take you to the top of one of the hills around Lugano.

The best feature of this hotel is definitely the staff - super-friendly, genuinenly kind and helpful. 10 star for customer service.

I'll stay here again, and again, and again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaCorrias, Direttore generale at Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Mr Zibbu,

thank you so much for your comment, beautiful and precise. we are happy that we have been well in our hotel and that we meet your expectations. our rooms have different size and its actually was a standard room, which we thought was the best solution because the dog could stay in the terrace. we still have other type of rooms sizes even more.

the hotel is best located and we try to do our best to satisfy our valuable customers give them 100%

we will wait for your next stay, contact us we will be glad of your stay with us.

GM Andrea Corrias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were very pleased with our stay at Hotel Admiral in Lugano-Paradiso. We arrived by train and it was only a 3 minute walk from the train station. The rooms are comfortable and modern, staff was very nice and the price was right. The hotel does not have lake view but it is only a 5 minute walk to the lake and cruise ships or a 15 minute walk to downtown Lugano. We would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaCorrias, Direttore generale at Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Mr Dominique,

thank you for your nice comment and we are glad that you have been happy in our hotel during your stay. as you say the location is great, just off the highway lugano sud, a few minutes by foot from the rail station of paradiso or to the bus stop number 2 that comes from Lugano main station.
The hotel is in the second row but a very close walk to the lake, from where you can reach in 15 minutes the center of Lugano. our rooms have been renovated and we are proceeding to the replacement of all TV sets with new 40-inch smart TV coming soon. our staff and as you say 'very professional and attentive to the customer and actually the value for money is very good.
Let us know when you want to come back for your next stay, it will be a pleasure for us.

GM Andrea Corrias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here on business, easy check in and check out...

Clean and bright rooms with good facilities..

Good breakfast options included in our price

Would definitely stay again, staff were great. I was able to borrow an adaptor as the standard European adaptor doesn't work here

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaCorrias, Direttore generale at Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Mr Lee

thank you very much for your nice review, where you have been witness of our daily commitment to keep everything as best as possible. the rooms are all new and soon to be equipped with new 40-inch smart TV. We are also starting to replace all the hotel beds to offer you a better sleep. breakfast is rich and abundant and everything home made production. All my staff is highly professional and attentive to the needs of you dear customers.
I am pleased to have had you as our guest and we look forward to meeting you again

best regards
GM Andrea Corrias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Bern, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

I stayed at this hotel because the one that I previously booked did an overbooking.
Staff is very nice and helpful. They helped us and they were very nice to find us the best room even if it was really late.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewcor, Direttore generale at Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, April 22, 2015
Super Nice Guest !

thanks a lot for your wonderful review and we are very happy to have solved your big problem of overbooked caused by another hotel. My staff is trained and professional and ready to handle any situation. I am very happy that they have brilliantly solved your problem and that you have very happy with both

GM Andrea Corrias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral

Address: Via Geretta 15 | Paradiso, Lugano 6900, Switzerland (Formerly Holiday Inn Lugano Centre)
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Admiral 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Admiral Lugano welcomes you to Ticino!The hotel is located in the residential area of Lugano Paradiso, a few steps from the lake shore and the city centre. Its proximity to the highway exit Lugano South (only 200 m.), Agno Airport and the Exhibition ground is an unquestionable plus.Situated just behind the hotel, the funicular of San Salvatore climbs upward to the summit allowing wonderful views over the landscape. A typical train slogs up Monte Generoso which is an ideal starting point for excursions at altitude. Monte Lema is perfect for skiers and Monte Tamaro houses an Adventure Park for reckless sportsmen.The neighbourhoods offer plenty of chances for amusement, such as the three Casinos of Lugano, Campione d Italia and Mendrisio, attached to the shopping centre Fox Town housing several outlets with over 250 famed brands (Adidas, Armani, Dior, Gucci, Nike...). Shopping buffs can satisfy their cravings strolling around Via Nassa.Hotel Admiral has 96 standard and superior rooms, family rooms and handicap rooms provided with air conditioning, Pay TV and FREE WI-FI in all the building. Guests can make the most of a gym, an indoor and an outdoor swimming pool on the panoramic terrace, a sauna and a solarium, as well as the Nelson Restaurant and the Admiral Bar. A well-equipped meeting room can accommodate up to 20 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Admiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lugano Centre Hotel Lugano
Lugano Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Admiral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.