We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super-friendly staff, very central location, modern decor, clean, quite, and more” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Admiral

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Admiral to your Saves list
Hotel Admiral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Geretta 15 | Paradiso, Lugano 6900, Switzerland (Formerly Holiday Inn Lugano Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Super-friendly staff, very central location, modern decor, clean, quite, and more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have stayed at this hotel for 3 nights at a weekend. We booked with expedia. Check-in was super-smooth and fast. All extras as previously quoted (10 euro/night the dog, 10 euro/night parking about 5 euro per person/night tourist tax).

The room was small but clean and modern. Since we had a dog, the hotel staff kindly gave us a room with a balcony. Bathroom was a little less modern but still clean and spacious.

We used the SPA area. Nice pool, separate saunas for men/women and a small gym. Unfortunately, it was very noisy as there were a couple of families with wild kids diving and shouting the whole time.

The hotel is in the Paradiso area of Lugano, less than 5-minute walk from Lugano centre. The walk from the hotel to the centre fo Lugano is very nice, by the lake. The hotel is also 20 yards from the "funicolare", which take you to the top of one of the hills around Lugano.

The best feature of this hotel is definitely the staff - super-friendly, genuinenly kind and helpful. 10 star for customer service.

I'll stay here again, and again, and again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    28
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
17
34
5
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winterthur, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were very pleased with our stay at Hotel Admiral in Lugano-Paradiso. We arrived by train and it was only a 3 minute walk from the train station. The rooms are comfortable and modern, staff was very nice and the price was right. The hotel does not have lake view but it is only a 5 minute walk to the lake and cruise ships or a 15 minute walk to downtown Lugano. We would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaCorrias, Direttore generale at Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Mr Dominique,

thank you for your nice comment and we are glad that you have been happy in our hotel during your stay. as you say the location is great, just off the highway lugano sud, a few minutes by foot from the rail station of paradiso or to the bus stop number 2 that comes from Lugano main station.
The hotel is in the second row but a very close walk to the lake, from where you can reach in 15 minutes the center of Lugano. our rooms have been renovated and we are proceeding to the replacement of all TV sets with new 40-inch smart TV coming soon. our staff and as you say 'very professional and attentive to the customer and actually the value for money is very good.
Let us know when you want to come back for your next stay, it will be a pleasure for us.

GM Andrea Corrias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed here on business, easy check in and check out...

Clean and bright rooms with good facilities..

Good breakfast options included in our price

Would definitely stay again, staff were great. I was able to borrow an adaptor as the standard European adaptor doesn't work here

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaCorrias, Direttore generale at Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Mr Lee

thank you very much for your nice review, where you have been witness of our daily commitment to keep everything as best as possible. the rooms are all new and soon to be equipped with new 40-inch smart TV. We are also starting to replace all the hotel beds to offer you a better sleep. breakfast is rich and abundant and everything home made production. All my staff is highly professional and attentive to the needs of you dear customers.
I am pleased to have had you as our guest and we look forward to meeting you again

best regards
GM Andrea Corrias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Bern, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel because the one that I previously booked did an overbooking.
Staff is very nice and helpful. They helped us and they were very nice to find us the best room even if it was really late.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewcor, Direttore generale at Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Super Nice Guest !

thanks a lot for your wonderful review and we are very happy to have solved your big problem of overbooked caused by another hotel. My staff is trained and professional and ready to handle any situation. I am very happy that they have brilliantly solved your problem and that you have very happy with both

GM Andrea Corrias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Parking very tight for big sedans. Location quite good. Room was very okay except light in the entrance of the room. It is motion activated so when ever you moved in the bed the light would turn on automatically. Quite annoying feature. Other than that quite ok.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewcor, General Manager at Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear customer,

Thank you for your positive comment. It has hit two of the things that we need to fix affectively, or make the car with the most wide because cars are now more and more bigger and block the sensor courtesy light inside the rooms. were two priority issues for us but now that I made them out they will be even more.

however overall the thanks and best regards. the still expect as our welcome guest

GM Andrea Corrias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really nice place, rooms absolutely comfy , staff excellent expecially the night auditor , if i remember well the name was Daniele.
He was really helpful and funny , he made our stay.
By the way the hotel is really nice and perfect.
I higly recommend this place to everyone is travellling in Lugano.

Room Tip: Rooms are modern and really comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewcor, General Manager at Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Mark,

thanks a lot, really, for your very nice comment ! this is why we decide to dedicate our live to work in hotel and restaurants. the location of our hotel is really good and our strong point, as all my collaborator who works fof the nice stay of our guest.

please, you are free to contact me directly when you want to came back in ticino. in this period there are a lot of place to be discovered.

all the best

GM Andrea Corrias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was not ideally located. At least a 20 min work. The hotel from the outside was old and nothing special to look at. The indoor swimming pool was like a school swimming pool and not a luxury 4 star hotels... The room was very plain, lacked decoration and personality. The bathroom was old and nothing special either. We stayed here one night and for the price I paid and concidering the 4 star Swiss rating we we're disappointed. For 160 chf you can get much more and a much better hotel. The staff were kind and the breakfast was standard.
I would not book here again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewcor, General Manager at Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Unknown Customer,

thank you for your comment not really positive. the first part of its remarks strike me particularly because the location of the hotel is recognized by all our customers as our strongest point. Also I do not clear understand the distance of 20 minutes from your place of work. how can we be responsible for that?
again we never advertised to be a luxury hotel, but a 4 * hotel full service, where the guest can find all the services needed to stay in Lugano.

I treasure his valuable comments to improve all aspects of the structure of here listed.

best regards

GM Andrea Corrias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral

Address: Via Geretta 15 | Paradiso, Lugano 6900, Switzerland (Formerly Holiday Inn Lugano Centre)
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Admiral 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Admiral Lugano welcomes you to Ticino!The hotel is located in the residential area of Lugano Paradiso, a few steps from the lake shore and the city centre. Its proximity to the highway exit Lugano South (only 200 m.), Agno Airport and the Exhibition ground is an unquestionable plus.Situated just behind the hotel, the funicular of San Salvatore climbs upward to the summit allowing wonderful views over the landscape. A typical train slogs up Monte Generoso which is an ideal starting point for excursions at altitude. Monte Lema is perfect for skiers and Monte Tamaro houses an Adventure Park for reckless sportsmen.The neighbourhoods offer plenty of chances for amusement, such as the three Casinos of Lugano, Campione d Italia and Mendrisio, attached to the shopping centre Fox Town housing several outlets with over 250 famed brands (Adidas, Armani, Dior, Gucci, Nike...). Shopping buffs can satisfy their cravings strolling around Via Nassa.Hotel Admiral has 96 standard and superior rooms, family rooms and handicap rooms provided with air conditioning, Pay TV and FREE WI-FI in all the building. Guests can make the most of a gym, an indoor and an outdoor swimming pool on the panoramic terrace, a sauna and a solarium, as well as the Nelson Restaurant and the Admiral Bar. A well-equipped meeting room can accommodate up to 20 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Admiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lugano Centre Hotel Lugano
Lugano Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Admiral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.