We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Lugano Centre

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Lugano Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lugano Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Geretta 15, Lugano 6902, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #35 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Worst Experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

A most ordinary hotel.

First, very few positives......
1. It's in the City Centre and almost next door to the convenient Bus Services.
2. Pleasant and courteous Front Office Staff

Negatives... so many.....

Ordinary Rooms, Very Ordinary Bathrooms. No vent in the bathrooms.
Lift seems to be of 1940s.
The Floor Passages look more of a hospital than a hotel.

Very Ordinary Breakfast and most uncourteus and unresponsive Restaurant staff. They behave as if they are doing a favour to the guests.

Room Service Staff are very rude and uncourteus. We are pure vegetarians from India and hence we were carrying some Indian Food with us on our 15 day vacation to Paris and Switzerland. So, we promptly called up the Room Service and requested them to send us 2 Empty Dinner Plates and Spoons. But the Gentleman who picked up the line was very rude and said that they don't do any charity and it will cost us 10 CHF if he has to come and give these to us and banged the phone.

There are better and courteous ways to say no to the guests but........
My advice to these staffs is that there Salaries are paid only from the Revenues which the hotel gets from it's guests and hence they should send these people for an HR Personality Development Training Programme.

Last but not the least, there is no Wi Fi in the rooms. Wi Fi is available only in the Lobby. So you have to come down every time you want to use the Internet which is very irritating....
Overall a very bad experience and I advise my friends to go there only if there is no other choice........

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    41
    49
    51
    36
See reviews for
41
72
11
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Had a horrible experience, and the staff did nothing to help the situation-even when the staff told me they knew the manager was wrong. Rooms were ok. Food was not. Stay here only if there is nothing else available in town.

Room Tip: Friends of ours stayed at the Novotel hotel across the street. Much better rooms, service and food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirgu Mures, Romania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I have stayed for only one night and my overall impression is that is an ok hotel.
The location is very good, close to the center. The receptionist was pleasant and quick in checking in. The room was spacious, looking good and clean. The bathroom gave away the older look of the place.
The only minus i could say was the poor sound isolation, I could hear very well the street noise and I is think is kind of overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lugano Centre, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Adina M,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I'm truly delighted you liked our great location. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I would like to offer a sincere apology for the inconvenience the noise had caused you. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

The hotel claims that it was newly renovated. While the room was "modern," the hotel itself is really out dated.

First, the positives. It is extremely well located, especially in regards to public transportation. It's a fast bus ride into the city center (even on Sundays!) and the main station. The room itself was clean, and pretty. The bed was soft, and there is not carpet on the floor (which is a plus in my book!). The staff was helpful, and even let us check in early.

The negatives: the outdoor pool wasn't open, even though the weather was extremely hot. The elevator is straight from the 60s, and doesn't work very well. The maids were a bit noisy in the hallway in the morning. And weirdly, the bathroom didn't have a vent. When showering, the damp kind of lingers.

Overall, the hotel was average. I can recommend it, but the hotel really needs to be renovated before I can say the price is worth the services offered.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lugano Centre, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear SamanthaNichole,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the common areas of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

soem times one see the hotel and one knows this is crap, well it was. nice people at the front desk, friendly staff at the restaurant, breakfast was very nice not a word about that, but Man the rooms, gong back to 1980 and before, old crapy, small,

WELL OVERPRICED

the price is over the moon for what one gets here as an Hotel

Room Tip: yes go to the nieghbours, find another place to sleep, sleep in your car, and enjoy that
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lugano Centre, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear bob s,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We found it quite pleasing to see your kind words for our staff and the perfect score for Service. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nha Trang
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

The location is nice, just next to the station of the cable car to the peak San Salvatore. The hotel is ok, room layout and design is interesting. Noise isolation is rather weak, as you can hear people in rooms next to you. In our case there was a little dog you could hear barking in the morning. You can hear door slam or people talk or walk around. Can be annoying if you love a quiet place.
Price/Value is ok, we can recommend for one night stay in Lugano.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lugano Centre, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Mister B,

Thank you so much for taking the time out to write a review of our hotel. It was great to read you like our convenient hotel location. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I regret that your stay was negatively affected by the noise you experienced. Management has been made aware of these issues and it will be addressed immediately.

I sincerely hope this incident will not deter you from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future. Thank you once again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Location:
The hotel is located in a residential areal called Paradiso. The area is15-20 minutes walk to Lugano center and 10-15 minutes by bus to the central train station. There is also a train station called Paradiso next to the hotel which you can take to go to the central station.

The hotel is a minute walk to the lake. You can walk by the lake to go to the center. The walk is really nice.

The Paradiso neighborhood is quite. There are very few restaurants around and the majority serve Italian food.


Room:
Our room had a double bed. The room size was average and had good space for luggages. The design was modern with wooden floor. In the center of the room there was a half round table. On that table there was a flat tv that looked like a PC screen. You have to pay to watch the tv.

The location and the design of the table is awkward. You cannot use the table for eating or writing. It was a waste of space.

The room did not have any coffee machine or iron board. There was a safe box in the closet.

The bathroom had two shower boxes. I don't why. It was the first time I see a hotel with two shower boxes. One of the shower boxes had a view on the room so you can see the room when you are showering. The bathroom was clean in general and was in a good condition.


Lobby:
The lobby was nice and big. It had few seating areas. They also had a complimentary internet access in the lobby.

Internet:
The hotel provides free internet in the lobby area only. You have to pay to use the internet in the room.

Staff:
Staff at reception were helpful but not very friendly. I saw an accident when I was sitting in the lobby. A customer had an argument with the waiter in the hotel's restaurant. He went to the reception to make a complain. He explained the issue to the receptionist. The latter didn't do any thing for him. Few minutes later the waiter came and had an argument with the customer in the lobby in front of everybody. He was very rude to the customer. Regardless of who was right or wrong, he shouldn't scream on a customer in public. The hotel manager didn't do anything. When the customer went to his room, the receptionist and the waiter were talking about the customer behind his back in public. This was really bad especially for the hotel reputation. I will never come back to this hotel again if they treat their customers this way. I could have been that customer.

Value for money:
Not really. I thought I was paying too much for the accommodation and the type of services I was getting.

Summary:
This hotel is in a good quite location. It is modern. However, they have one of the worst customer services I have seen in any hotel in Europe.


Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lugano Centre, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Ali S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Lugano Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lugano Centre

Address: Via Geretta 15, Lugano 6902, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Lugano Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lugano Centre welcomes you to Ticino!The hotel is located in the residential area of Lugano Paradiso, a few steps from the lake shore and the city centre. Its proximity to the highway exit Lugano South (only 200 m.), Agno Airport and the Exhibition ground is an unquestionable plus.Situated just behind the hotel, the funicular of San Salvatore climbs upward to the summit allowing wonderful views over the landscape. A typical train slogs up Monte Generoso which is an ideal starting point for excursions at altitude. Monte Lema is perfect for skiers and Monte Tamaro houses an Adventure Park for reckless sportsmen.The neighbourhoods offer plenty of chances for amusement, such as the three Casinos of Lugano, Campione d Italia and Mendrisio, attached to the shopping centre Fox Town housing several outlets with over 250 famed brands (Adidas, Armani, Dior, Gucci, Nike...). Shopping buffs can satisfy their cravings strolling around Via Nassa.The Holiday Inn Lugano Centre has 92 standard and superior rooms, provided with air conditioning, Pay TV and ADSL Internet access. Guests can make the most of a gym, an indoor and an outdoor swimming pool on the panoramic terrace, a sauna and a solarium, as well as the Nelson Restaurant and the Admiral Bar. A well-equipped meeting room can accommodate up to 50 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Lugano Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lugano Centre Hotel Lugano
Lugano Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Lugano Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.