We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“for me not a second time” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Admiral

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Admiral to your Saves list
Hotel Admiral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Geretta 15, Lugano 6902, Switzerland (Formerly Holiday Inn Lugano Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“for me not a second time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

soem times one see the hotel and one knows this is crap, well it was. nice people at the front desk, friendly staff at the restaurant, breakfast was very nice not a word about that, but Man the rooms, gong back to 1980 and before, old crapy, small,

WELL OVERPRICED

the price is over the moon for what one gets here as an Hotel

Room Tip: yes go to the nieghbours, find another place to sleep, sleep in your car, and enjoy that
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear bob s,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We found it quite pleasing to see your kind words for our staff and the perfect score for Service. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    48
    60
    52
    38
See reviews for
46
80
11
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nha Trang
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

The location is nice, just next to the station of the cable car to the peak San Salvatore. The hotel is ok, room layout and design is interesting. Noise isolation is rather weak, as you can hear people in rooms next to you. In our case there was a little dog you could hear barking in the morning. You can hear door slam or people talk or walk around. Can be annoying if you love a quiet place.
Price/Value is ok, we can recommend for one night stay in Lugano.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Mister B,

Thank you so much for taking the time out to write a review of our hotel. It was great to read you like our convenient hotel location. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I regret that your stay was negatively affected by the noise you experienced. Management has been made aware of these issues and it will be addressed immediately.

I sincerely hope this incident will not deter you from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future. Thank you once again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Location:
The hotel is located in a residential areal called Paradiso. The area is15-20 minutes walk to Lugano center and 10-15 minutes by bus to the central train station. There is also a train station called Paradiso next to the hotel which you can take to go to the central station.

The hotel is a minute walk to the lake. You can walk by the lake to go to the center. The walk is really nice.

The Paradiso neighborhood is quite. There are very few restaurants around and the majority serve Italian food.


Room:
Our room had a double bed. The room size was average and had good space for luggages. The design was modern with wooden floor. In the center of the room there was a half round table. On that table there was a flat tv that looked like a PC screen. You have to pay to watch the tv.

The location and the design of the table is awkward. You cannot use the table for eating or writing. It was a waste of space.

The room did not have any coffee machine or iron board. There was a safe box in the closet.

The bathroom had two shower boxes. I don't why. It was the first time I see a hotel with two shower boxes. One of the shower boxes had a view on the room so you can see the room when you are showering. The bathroom was clean in general and was in a good condition.


Lobby:
The lobby was nice and big. It had few seating areas. They also had a complimentary internet access in the lobby.

Internet:
The hotel provides free internet in the lobby area only. You have to pay to use the internet in the room.

Staff:
Staff at reception were helpful but not very friendly. I saw an accident when I was sitting in the lobby. A customer had an argument with the waiter in the hotel's restaurant. He went to the reception to make a complain. He explained the issue to the receptionist. The latter didn't do any thing for him. Few minutes later the waiter came and had an argument with the customer in the lobby in front of everybody. He was very rude to the customer. Regardless of who was right or wrong, he shouldn't scream on a customer in public. The hotel manager didn't do anything. When the customer went to his room, the receptionist and the waiter were talking about the customer behind his back in public. This was really bad especially for the hotel reputation. I will never come back to this hotel again if they treat their customers this way. I could have been that customer.

Value for money:
Not really. I thought I was paying too much for the accommodation and the type of services I was getting.

Summary:
This hotel is in a good quite location. It is modern. However, they have one of the worst customer services I have seen in any hotel in Europe.


Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Ali S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We had the last leg of a Switzerland/Germany/Austria self-driving tour and extended our leg too far, arriving in Lugano late and without a reservation. At one time in our travel planning, we at least had a plan to stay in Lugano at a nice hotel, but those plans were lost in the shuffle. Consequently, we were stuck driving through tunnel after tunnel toward Lugano. Considered staying in Liechtenstein (sp?) for the night, but after driving up literally 30-40 hairpin corners, and reaching what appeared to be the top, we opted to head back down. This place is crazy ... built on a huge, steep hillside. Completely puts San Francisco's Lombard Street in it's place. Anyway, we passed on lodging here, and continued hoping to find a place between there and Lugano. Short note, we didn't. Between Liechtenstein and Lugano are exit stops with lodging that you can only imagine in your Psycho dreams ... ie: no cars in the lot, no lights on, and the proprietor leans out the window to tell you their rooms run 200 euros/night. Again, we kept driving. Finally got near Lugano, and drove off on the lakefront road. Bad choice for securing a hotel at the last minute. Got directions, tried to follow them, and drove back off through the tunnels that brought us into Lugano, with no exits for turnarounds. As close as it comes to screaming for a guy, but made it somehow. Anyhow, we stopped, programmed our GPS to find "hotels near us" and spotted a Holiday Inn. By the way, we weren't speaking at that point. Couldn't have been a better solution. Sterred us to the Holiday Inn, we checked in, the hotel had a great bar and upgraded us to a penthouse room with top-floor balcony. Very contemporary in all respects, but totally satisfied all of our hopes and expectations for the night. God bless sometimes that there are still Holiday Inns.

Room Tip: I honestly think you will do well in any room in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The hotel is clean and very modern,it's still under repairs,in this case the street was so if you want to sleep during the day that's not the place,other than that the room is pleasant to the eyes everything worked well,the bed is my eternal complaint in Europe is very hard(regular european hotel) but overall is good.Another thing that bothered us was that the carpet in the corridors was in very bad shape,I will give the benefit of the doubt that because the hotel is not yet finished,that they will take care of that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Hotel is clean good service at the front desk to fear from the downtown by walking distance overall for the amount that we pay good hotel.

Can recomended with out problems to others persons that wanted to travel to lugano


  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Juan B,

Thank you for your review. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge a positive experience. While we are pleased with your nice comments, if there is anything we can assist with please let us know. We hope to serve you again soon.

Sincerely,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Good location.Good service and good food in restorant. The room is dark with inadequate lighting. The bed head was against the windows so I couldn't sleep with the window open. The bed was rock hard and the bedside tables so small . There was a small wardrobe with 4 hangers which is okay for 1 night but not any longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear rdantonov,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. I appreciate the compliments about our hotel, good location, service and restaurant. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the inconvenience the bed may have caused you. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral

Address: Via Geretta 15, Lugano 6902, Switzerland (Formerly Holiday Inn Lugano Centre)
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Admiral 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lugano Centre welcomes you to Ticino!The hotel is located in the residential area of Lugano Paradiso, a few steps from the lake shore and the city centre. Its proximity to the highway exit Lugano South (only 200 m.), Agno Airport and the Exhibition ground is an unquestionable plus.Situated just behind the hotel, the funicular of San Salvatore climbs upward to the summit allowing wonderful views over the landscape. A typical train slogs up Monte Generoso which is an ideal starting point for excursions at altitude. Monte Lema is perfect for skiers and Monte Tamaro houses an Adventure Park for reckless sportsmen.The neighbourhoods offer plenty of chances for amusement, such as the three Casinos of Lugano, Campione d Italia and Mendrisio, attached to the shopping centre Fox Town housing several outlets with over 250 famed brands (Adidas, Armani, Dior, Gucci, Nike...). Shopping buffs can satisfy their cravings strolling around Via Nassa.The Holiday Inn Lugano Centre has 92 standard and superior rooms, provided with air conditioning, Pay TV and ADSL Internet access. Guests can make the most of a gym, an indoor and an outdoor swimming pool on the panoramic terrace, a sauna and a solarium, as well as the Nelson Restaurant and the Admiral Bar. A well-equipped meeting room can accommodate up to 50 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Admiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lugano Centre Hotel Lugano
Lugano Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Admiral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.