We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad customer service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Lugano Centre

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Lugano Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lugano Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Geretta 15, Lugano 6902, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #35 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Manama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Bad customer service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Location:
The hotel is located in a residential areal called Paradiso. The area is15-20 minutes walk to Lugano center and 10-15 minutes by bus to the central train station. There is also a train station called Paradiso next to the hotel which you can take to go to the central station.

The hotel is a minute walk to the lake. You can walk by the lake to go to the center. The walk is really nice.

The Paradiso neighborhood is quite. There are very few restaurants around and the majority serve Italian food.


Room:
Our room had a double bed. The room size was average and had good space for luggages. The design was modern with wooden floor. In the center of the room there was a half round table. On that table there was a flat tv that looked like a PC screen. You have to pay to watch the tv.

The location and the design of the table is awkward. You cannot use the table for eating or writing. It was a waste of space.

The room did not have any coffee machine or iron board. There was a safe box in the closet.

The bathroom had two shower boxes. I don't why. It was the first time I see a hotel with two shower boxes. One of the shower boxes had a view on the room so you can see the room when you are showering. The bathroom was clean in general and was in a good condition.


Lobby:
The lobby was nice and big. It had few seating areas. They also had a complimentary internet access in the lobby.

Internet:
The hotel provides free internet in the lobby area only. You have to pay to use the internet in the room.

Staff:
Staff at reception were helpful but not very friendly. I saw an accident when I was sitting in the lobby. A customer had an argument with the waiter in the hotel's restaurant. He went to the reception to make a complain. He explained the issue to the receptionist. The latter didn't do any thing for him. Few minutes later the waiter came and had an argument with the customer in the lobby in front of everybody. He was very rude to the customer. Regardless of who was right or wrong, he shouldn't scream on a customer in public. The hotel manager didn't do anything. When the customer went to his room, the receptionist and the waiter were talking about the customer behind his back in public. This was really bad especially for the hotel reputation. I will never come back to this hotel again if they treat their customers this way. I could have been that customer.

Value for money:
Not really. I thought I was paying too much for the accommodation and the type of services I was getting.

Summary:
This hotel is in a good quite location. It is modern. However, they have one of the worst customer services I have seen in any hotel in Europe.


Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lugano Centre, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Ali S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    41
    49
    51
    36
See reviews for
41
72
11
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We had the last leg of a Switzerland/Germany/Austria self-driving tour and extended our leg too far, arriving in Lugano late and without a reservation. At one time in our travel planning, we at least had a plan to stay in Lugano at a nice hotel, but those plans were lost in the shuffle. Consequently, we were stuck driving through tunnel after tunnel toward Lugano. Considered staying in Liechtenstein (sp?) for the night, but after driving up literally 30-40 hairpin corners, and reaching what appeared to be the top, we opted to head back down. This place is crazy ... built on a huge, steep hillside. Completely puts San Francisco's Lombard Street in it's place. Anyway, we passed on lodging here, and continued hoping to find a place between there and Lugano. Short note, we didn't. Between Liechtenstein and Lugano are exit stops with lodging that you can only imagine in your Psycho dreams ... ie: no cars in the lot, no lights on, and the proprietor leans out the window to tell you their rooms run 200 euros/night. Again, we kept driving. Finally got near Lugano, and drove off on the lakefront road. Bad choice for securing a hotel at the last minute. Got directions, tried to follow them, and drove back off through the tunnels that brought us into Lugano, with no exits for turnarounds. As close as it comes to screaming for a guy, but made it somehow. Anyhow, we stopped, programmed our GPS to find "hotels near us" and spotted a Holiday Inn. By the way, we weren't speaking at that point. Couldn't have been a better solution. Sterred us to the Holiday Inn, we checked in, the hotel had a great bar and upgraded us to a penthouse room with top-floor balcony. Very contemporary in all respects, but totally satisfied all of our hopes and expectations for the night. God bless sometimes that there are still Holiday Inns.

Room Tip: I honestly think you will do well in any room in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The hotel is clean and very modern,it's still under repairs,in this case the street was so if you want to sleep during the day that's not the place,other than that the room is pleasant to the eyes everything worked well,the bed is my eternal complaint in Europe is very hard(regular european hotel) but overall is good.Another thing that bothered us was that the carpet in the corridors was in very bad shape,I will give the benefit of the doubt that because the hotel is not yet finished,that they will take care of that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Hotel is clean good service at the front desk to fear from the downtown by walking distance overall for the amount that we pay good hotel.

Can recomended with out problems to others persons that wanted to travel to lugano


  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lugano Centre, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Juan B,

Thank you for your review. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge a positive experience. While we are pleased with your nice comments, if there is anything we can assist with please let us know. We hope to serve you again soon.

Sincerely,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Good location.Good service and good food in restorant. The room is dark with inadequate lighting. The bed head was against the windows so I couldn't sleep with the window open. The bed was rock hard and the bedside tables so small . There was a small wardrobe with 4 hangers which is okay for 1 night but not any longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lugano Centre, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear rdantonov,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. I appreciate the compliments about our hotel, good location, service and restaurant. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the inconvenience the bed may have caused you. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Arrived here in 40 degree temperature after a very long drive from France and it was oppressively hot in the rooms as the air con was not working. Had to leave straight away and go to Novotel across the road as we would have had heat stroke if we had tried to sleep there. They should really close at this time of year whilst refurbishing as you cannot have a hotel without air con at 40 degrees in August and expect people to stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lugano Centre, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Golden-oldie-london,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you had with our air conditioning system and deeply regret the inconvenience and discomfort this has caused you.

Your experience is definitely not reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves with. As such, your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future improvements where possible. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I have stayed here on and off for many years and the hotel is in a handy location for motorway access and has parking (paid) but was getting tired. The opening of a new Ibis opposite must have prompted the rapid overhaul and while some things are improved, overall the emphasis is on having a modern minimalist face without considering customer comfort.

My room had a strange and uncomfortable layout with the bed that used to be against the wall, now under the windows. There is an outside shutter, then the windows (that are fixed so can only be opened a few centimeters), then roller blinds, then large semi-opaque inner glass windows. The latter have to be opened to get at the rest while leaning over the bed, but they don't stay open and are quite dangerous. The room is quite dark as a result, not helped by the dark forest green feature wall and inadequate lighting.

The bed head was against the windows so I couldn't sleep with the window open as it would be over my head and they don't open enough anyway, while the air conditioning blows straight at you, which is not recommended. In winter the radiator at your head will be hot. The bed was rock hard and the bedside tables so small that I put the phone on the floor.

There was a small wardrobe with 4 hangers which is okay for 1 night but not any longer. There was nowhere to put my case other than the floor, which is uncivilised. There used to be good space for cases, but nothing any more, not even on the table, which has a 'tree' arrangement in the middle for cabling and a panel where a tv should be mounted, but they have put a free standing one on the table to take even more space, rendering the table almost useless.

The bathroom is the same tiling as my last visit so has been updated a little, but with a shower over a bath, why was there another full shower with glazing to the room? A shower curtain had been rapidly added to give privacy but the sounds still carried. It would have been better to have a bidet or keep more wardrobe and luggage space than have 2 showers!

The safe is on the floor of the wardrobe at the back under a shelf, so it was impossible to use unless I laid prone on the floor. The WiFi works but you have to ask reception about the code as they do not promote it.

The breakfast selection was not as good as it used to be and items were not replenished adequately. The chairs are filthy and overall the restaurant has deteriorated.

The real positive about my stay was the staff, who are clearly struggling with many complaints about the renovation, but do their best to satisfy queries in a calm and professional way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the bed that is not under the window. Ask for a luggage rack and take an adaptor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lugano Centre, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Biba854,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests and for that please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if our hotel rooms fell below your expectations in many aspects. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and show you just how much we care about delivering an above average experience.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Lugano Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lugano Centre

Address: Via Geretta 15, Lugano 6902, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Lugano Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lugano Centre welcomes you to Ticino!The hotel is located in the residential area of Lugano Paradiso, a few steps from the lake shore and the city centre. Its proximity to the highway exit Lugano South (only 200 m.), Agno Airport and the Exhibition ground is an unquestionable plus.Situated just behind the hotel, the funicular of San Salvatore climbs upward to the summit allowing wonderful views over the landscape. A typical train slogs up Monte Generoso which is an ideal starting point for excursions at altitude. Monte Lema is perfect for skiers and Monte Tamaro houses an Adventure Park for reckless sportsmen.The neighbourhoods offer plenty of chances for amusement, such as the three Casinos of Lugano, Campione d Italia and Mendrisio, attached to the shopping centre Fox Town housing several outlets with over 250 famed brands (Adidas, Armani, Dior, Gucci, Nike...). Shopping buffs can satisfy their cravings strolling around Via Nassa.The Holiday Inn Lugano Centre has 92 standard and superior rooms, provided with air conditioning, Pay TV and ADSL Internet access. Guests can make the most of a gym, an indoor and an outdoor swimming pool on the panoramic terrace, a sauna and a solarium, as well as the Nelson Restaurant and the Admiral Bar. A well-equipped meeting room can accommodate up to 50 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Lugano Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lugano Centre Hotel Lugano
Lugano Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Lugano Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.