We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Admiral

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Admiral to your Saves list
Hotel Admiral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Geretta 15, Lugano 6902, Switzerland (Formerly Holiday Inn Lugano Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Modern hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The hotel is clean and very modern,it's still under repairs,in this case the street was so if you want to sleep during the day that's not the place,other than that the room is pleasant to the eyes everything worked well,the bed is my eternal complaint in Europe is very hard(regular european hotel) but overall is good.Another thing that bothered us was that the carpet in the corridors was in very bad shape,I will give the benefit of the doubt that because the hotel is not yet finished,that they will take care of that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    50
    62
    52
    39
See reviews for
49
84
11
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Hotel is clean good service at the front desk to fear from the downtown by walking distance overall for the amount that we pay good hotel.

Can recomended with out problems to others persons that wanted to travel to lugano


  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Juan B,

Thank you for your review. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge a positive experience. While we are pleased with your nice comments, if there is anything we can assist with please let us know. We hope to serve you again soon.

Sincerely,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Good location.Good service and good food in restorant. The room is dark with inadequate lighting. The bed head was against the windows so I couldn't sleep with the window open. The bed was rock hard and the bedside tables so small . There was a small wardrobe with 4 hangers which is okay for 1 night but not any longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear rdantonov,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. I appreciate the compliments about our hotel, good location, service and restaurant. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the inconvenience the bed may have caused you. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Arrived here in 40 degree temperature after a very long drive from France and it was oppressively hot in the rooms as the air con was not working. Had to leave straight away and go to Novotel across the road as we would have had heat stroke if we had tried to sleep there. They should really close at this time of year whilst refurbishing as you cannot have a hotel without air con at 40 degrees in August and expect people to stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Golden-oldie-london,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you had with our air conditioning system and deeply regret the inconvenience and discomfort this has caused you.

Your experience is definitely not reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves with. As such, your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future improvements where possible. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warlingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I have stayed here on and off for many years and the hotel is in a handy location for motorway access and has parking (paid) but was getting tired. The opening of a new Ibis opposite must have prompted the rapid overhaul and while some things are improved, overall the emphasis is on having a modern minimalist face without considering customer comfort.

My room had a strange and uncomfortable layout with the bed that used to be against the wall, now under the windows. There is an outside shutter, then the windows (that are fixed so can only be opened a few centimeters), then roller blinds, then large semi-opaque inner glass windows. The latter have to be opened to get at the rest while leaning over the bed, but they don't stay open and are quite dangerous. The room is quite dark as a result, not helped by the dark forest green feature wall and inadequate lighting.

The bed head was against the windows so I couldn't sleep with the window open as it would be over my head and they don't open enough anyway, while the air conditioning blows straight at you, which is not recommended. In winter the radiator at your head will be hot. The bed was rock hard and the bedside tables so small that I put the phone on the floor.

There was a small wardrobe with 4 hangers which is okay for 1 night but not any longer. There was nowhere to put my case other than the floor, which is uncivilised. There used to be good space for cases, but nothing any more, not even on the table, which has a 'tree' arrangement in the middle for cabling and a panel where a tv should be mounted, but they have put a free standing one on the table to take even more space, rendering the table almost useless.

The bathroom is the same tiling as my last visit so has been updated a little, but with a shower over a bath, why was there another full shower with glazing to the room? A shower curtain had been rapidly added to give privacy but the sounds still carried. It would have been better to have a bidet or keep more wardrobe and luggage space than have 2 showers!

The safe is on the floor of the wardrobe at the back under a shelf, so it was impossible to use unless I laid prone on the floor. The WiFi works but you have to ask reception about the code as they do not promote it.

The breakfast selection was not as good as it used to be and items were not replenished adequately. The chairs are filthy and overall the restaurant has deteriorated.

The real positive about my stay was the staff, who are clearly struggling with many complaints about the renovation, but do their best to satisfy queries in a calm and professional way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the bed that is not under the window. Ask for a luggage rack and take an adaptor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Biba854,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests and for that please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if our hotel rooms fell below your expectations in many aspects. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and show you just how much we care about delivering an above average experience.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiloo, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Food in restaurant is very good and worthing the money. Last year the restaurant was closed but this year somehow they have updated the kitchen and the service. Oitty they charge for the parking in front of the hotel, they didn't used to.


  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear George Z,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I am very happy that you liked the food that was served during your stay. However, please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

we booked this hotel only because we needed a stop on our way home, but where surprised about this nice town and about the hotel. although not cheap, when we compare it to other hotels the price is ok. the staff was very friendly. The street in front of the hotel was being refurbished, so it was a drag to come near the hotel with our car. they have a tiny pool on the rooftop with a nice view over the lake

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral

Address: Via Geretta 15, Lugano 6902, Switzerland (Formerly Holiday Inn Lugano Centre)
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Admiral 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lugano Centre welcomes you to Ticino!The hotel is located in the residential area of Lugano Paradiso, a few steps from the lake shore and the city centre. Its proximity to the highway exit Lugano South (only 200 m.), Agno Airport and the Exhibition ground is an unquestionable plus.Situated just behind the hotel, the funicular of San Salvatore climbs upward to the summit allowing wonderful views over the landscape. A typical train slogs up Monte Generoso which is an ideal starting point for excursions at altitude. Monte Lema is perfect for skiers and Monte Tamaro houses an Adventure Park for reckless sportsmen.The neighbourhoods offer plenty of chances for amusement, such as the three Casinos of Lugano, Campione d Italia and Mendrisio, attached to the shopping centre Fox Town housing several outlets with over 250 famed brands (Adidas, Armani, Dior, Gucci, Nike...). Shopping buffs can satisfy their cravings strolling around Via Nassa.The Holiday Inn Lugano Centre has 92 standard and superior rooms, provided with air conditioning, Pay TV and ADSL Internet access. Guests can make the most of a gym, an indoor and an outdoor swimming pool on the panoramic terrace, a sauna and a solarium, as well as the Nelson Restaurant and the Admiral Bar. A well-equipped meeting room can accommodate up to 50 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Admiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lugano Centre Hotel Lugano
Lugano Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Admiral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.