We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charmingly Pink!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Paix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Paix to your Saves list
Hotel de la Paix
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giuseppe Cattori 18, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania, USA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Charmingly Pink!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

The décor is very Pink! Initially it struck me as a bit too much; however, it seemed to grow on me. Definitely not modern! However, clean and well maintained. The comfortable mattress was welcome pleasure. All staff we had contact with were extremely friendly, polite, and accommodating. There was an issue w/our room safe - it was quickly fixed & the gentleman noticed a bit of noise from our air conditioner (it was quite low & having just arrived I had not even noticed). He advised he would fix – left room & returned moments later w/a step ladder and quickly eliminated the rumble. The Hotel is a great location – not too far to walk to shops & restaurants. We would have liked to stay longer; however, we were on a Tour and had little time between our late arrival & departure early next day to truly enjoy. I would return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    96
    47
    18
    3
See reviews for
20
68
12
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

This is a great hotel. It was very clean and beds were very comfortable. It has a nice outdoor pool which is wonderful for an afternoon swim and nap. The staff was fantastic and really wanted to please us from the moment we walked in the door of the hotel. The breakfast buffet was wonderful and I would highly recommend it to anyone. It is close to the main walkway along the lake which is really nice and free parking if you are driving which is really nice. The wifi is great.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake... it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Positive:

- The hotel was very clean and classy, bathroom was big and comfy, nice decoration, lots of light in daytime. Once you've closed the curtains, no lights will disturb your sleep even if the sun is up, as they are big thick curtains which is very pleasant when you like snuggling in bed in the morning.
Big space! I like big spaces!

- I don't speak Italian at all, but luckily the staff could speak either French or English, as well as being very welcoming and friendly. The receptionist explained everything very clearly in French for my boyfriend and i, &could answer every question if we had any.

- The room had a relaxing smell, i don't know if it was anything special, but it was feeling very fresh every time i would pop in the room. Beds were always made nicely, with a little chocolate left on the pillows after the room service came over. Free wifi &minibar is included, so do not hesitate to pick an ice tea or a sparkly drink in the fridge!

- Very well located, 5 minutes walk from the lake, not far from the funicular railway that goes up to the "Monte San Salvatore" [You MUST go &check this view out] + there's a "Migros" &"Denner" [market / store] just in front of the hotel if you forgot anything at home and need to buy a product for a cheap price, this a good deal! [ I'd suggest Denner first (; ]

- Cannot say anything about the hotel's restaurant as i didn't go there at all, but i would still enjoy a cocktail or cappuccino in the evening at the bar after a dinner out (:
Although the breakfast was awesome! Big buffet from 7:30 to 10:30 am is served with fruit salad, bread / toasts, cereals, eggs / bacon, jams, yogurts, cheese, fruit juices / coffee / teas / milk etc! Enjoyed every breakfast sitting in the sun by the swimming pool [which is very warm!] (:


Negative:

- The walls are not soundproof... I don't know about the other rooms, but mine was literally the first one on the left out the elevator, which means i could hear every single person talking in front of the door when they were waiting for the lift to come up.. Wasn't too bad, only if the customers were speaking loud, but hopefully you will get a room who's a bit farther in the corridor, ahah
Although i've never heard anything / noise / conversations from the rooms near mine, it was mainly concerning the corridor, so i guess you still have your privacy in your room :P

- Do not take this as a negative note, i think this was just a dysfunction in my room that can be fixed, rather than a general problem concerning all the rooms in the hotel, but during the second night there was a shrill noise coming out of the air conditioning in the room, which woke us up very early and stopped after about 10 minutes. We had no idea what was the cause of this noise. It wasn't too strong or too loud, but still, we couldn't sleep and had to wait for it to stop. It happened on the last day as well, but this time it was 12 pm [Actually on the time we had to leave the room] so we informed the receptionist that the noise was there again and she sent someone to have a look right after we left. I guess it's been fixed now (:

Hope this was helpful &that you will enjoy your stay! xoxo

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very good hotel, clean and very nice room. Comfortable bad. Very helpfull staff. Breakfast ok as for swiss standards. Recommended for sure for business trips. Free wi-fi what is not common in swiss hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I am not sure if it is all De La Paix hotels as they appear to be owned by different operators. Certainly the Lugano De La Paix lacks privacy where hotel staff enter rooms without knocking. We had a male staff member catch my wife naked. On complaining the hotel couls only offer excuses for the staff member. Forget about the victim's embarassment. A soft drink at the bar was all that was offered in compensation. Given the hotel manager is a female I expected a lot more. The manager could not even make the effort to communicate with us. It was left to the hotel staff. If you take the risk barricade you doors. I take the lack of concern by the manager as indicating this is the normal standard for the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away or double lock your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneDLP, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel de la Paix, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Mr. Norm,

thank you for your review.
The morning of your departure one of our porter knocked at your door. He did not receive an answer so, since there wasn’t the DO NOT DISTURB SIGN and after asking another time “permission” and again, no answer, he went into the room to start the regular cleaning.
You came to the reception asking for some sort of “compensation” and we kindly offered you a nice drink on our terrace , even though we do not have any responsibility for the incident, we wished that you and your wife could have a relaxed moment enjoying our bar.
Always, If there is a problem due to a lack in our service, we are the first to admit it and seek a solution / compensation for our customers. But at this point we feel that the episode was used as an excuse to obtain a money refund and this review is the result of a frustration for not receiving it.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The building of the hotel can easily be seen from distance because of the color (pink) . I love the decoration , the garden and flowers. I like the view of the lake from the room balcony . The breakfast was also good and I like the fruits which were well selected in good quality.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux, Switzerland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The staff make the difference. Good caring friendly service. We had a little problem on our arrival with our room, they dealt with the matter seriously and very efficiently. Bathrooms well appointed, shower pressure and temperature adjustment too. Breakfast is more than adequate - you can order expresso, cappuccino. The swimming pool is an additional bonus, towels are supplied, it is convenient, you can enjoy a drink there if you want too.
We asked for recommendations to go our and eat. They did their research and came up with options. This hotel has all the conveniences for a simple stay and more particularly excellent service.

Room Tip: The double rooms are comfortable. Rooms on the higher floors (5th and 6th) give a better view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Paix

Address: Via Giuseppe Cattori 18, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de la Paix 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situato in prossimita del lago di Lugano e a pochi passi dal centro, con un ampio parcheggio privato, a cinque chilometri dall'aeroporto e un chilometro dalla stazione, l'Hotel de la Paix e lieto di accogliervi col calore e la cordialita del suo staff plurilingue. Le 131 camere e suite, dotate tutte di aria condizionata, TV satellitare, Minibar, Telefono, connessione Wireless, sono pronte a soddisfare i bisogni del turismo piu esigente e moderno sia per vacanza che per affari. La terrazza giardino, con piscina estiva riscaldata e portico, e il luogo ideale per un momento di relax e di svago ammirando la splendida conca di Lugano. Due sono i ristoranti, con cucina italiana ed internazionale. Il NEPTUNE, affacciato sul giardino, offre un ambiente tranquillo e raffinato. AL BARILOTTO, in tipico stile rustico e informale, e noto per le sue specialita alla griglia e le pizze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Paix Lugano
De La Paix Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Paix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.