We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy week end for a young couple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Paix

Save Saved
You added Hotel de la Paix to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de la Paix
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giuseppe Cattori 18, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Happy week end for a young couple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Positive:

- The hotel was very clean and classy, bathroom was big and comfy, nice decoration, lots of light in daytime. Once you've closed the curtains, no lights will disturb your sleep even if the sun is up, as they are big thick curtains which is very pleasant when you like snuggling in bed in the morning.
Big space! I like big spaces!

- I don't speak Italian at all, but luckily the staff could speak either French or English, as well as being very welcoming and friendly. The receptionist explained everything very clearly in French for my boyfriend and i, &could answer every question if we had any.

- The room had a relaxing smell, i don't know if it was anything special, but it was feeling very fresh every time i would pop in the room. Beds were always made nicely, with a little chocolate left on the pillows after the room service came over. Free wifi &minibar is included, so do not hesitate to pick an ice tea or a sparkly drink in the fridge!

- Very well located, 5 minutes walk from the lake, not far from the funicular railway that goes up to the "Monte San Salvatore" [You MUST go &check this view out] + there's a "Migros" &"Denner" [market / store] just in front of the hotel if you forgot anything at home and need to buy a product for a cheap price, this a good deal! [ I'd suggest Denner first (; ]

- Cannot say anything about the hotel's restaurant as i didn't go there at all, but i would still enjoy a cocktail or cappuccino in the evening at the bar after a dinner out (:
Although the breakfast was awesome! Big buffet from 7:30 to 10:30 am is served with fruit salad, bread / toasts, cereals, eggs / bacon, jams, yogurts, cheese, fruit juices / coffee / teas / milk etc! Enjoyed every breakfast sitting in the sun by the swimming pool [which is very warm!] (:


Negative:

- The walls are not soundproof... I don't know about the other rooms, but mine was literally the first one on the left out the elevator, which means i could hear every single person talking in front of the door when they were waiting for the lift to come up.. Wasn't too bad, only if the customers were speaking loud, but hopefully you will get a room who's a bit farther in the corridor, ahah
Although i've never heard anything / noise / conversations from the rooms near mine, it was mainly concerning the corridor, so i guess you still have your privacy in your room :P

- Do not take this as a negative note, i think this was just a dysfunction in my room that can be fixed, rather than a general problem concerning all the rooms in the hotel, but during the second night there was a shrill noise coming out of the air conditioning in the room, which woke us up very early and stopped after about 10 minutes. We had no idea what was the cause of this noise. It wasn't too strong or too loud, but still, we couldn't sleep and had to wait for it to stop. It happened on the last day as well, but this time it was 12 pm [Actually on the time we had to leave the room] so we informed the receptionist that the noise was there again and she sent someone to have a look right after we left. I guess it's been fixed now (:

Hope this was helpful &that you will enjoy your stay! xoxo

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    76
    42
    18
    3
See reviews for
17
66
12
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very good hotel, clean and very nice room. Comfortable bad. Very helpfull staff. Breakfast ok as for swiss standards. Recommended for sure for business trips. Free wi-fi what is not common in swiss hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I am not sure if it is all De La Paix hotels as they appear to be owned by different operators. Certainly the Lugano De La Paix lacks privacy where hotel staff enter rooms without knocking. We had a male staff member catch my wife naked. On complaining the hotel couls only offer excuses for the staff member. Forget about the victim's embarassment. A soft drink at the bar was all that was offered in compensation. Given the hotel manager is a female I expected a lot more. The manager could not even make the effort to communicate with us. It was left to the hotel staff. If you take the risk barricade you doors. I take the lack of concern by the manager as indicating this is the normal standard for the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away or double lock your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneDLP, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel de la Paix, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Mr. Norm,

thank you for your review.
The morning of your departure one of our porter knocked at your door. He did not receive an answer so, since there wasn’t the DO NOT DISTURB SIGN and after asking another time “permission” and again, no answer, he went into the room to start the regular cleaning.
You came to the reception asking for some sort of “compensation” and we kindly offered you a nice drink on our terrace , even though we do not have any responsibility for the incident, we wished that you and your wife could have a relaxed moment enjoying our bar.
Always, If there is a problem due to a lack in our service, we are the first to admit it and seek a solution / compensation for our customers. But at this point we feel that the episode was used as an excuse to obtain a money refund and this review is the result of a frustration for not receiving it.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The building of the hotel can easily be seen from distance because of the color (pink) . I love the decoration , the garden and flowers. I like the view of the lake from the room balcony . The breakfast was also good and I like the fruits which were well selected in good quality.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The staff make the difference. Good caring friendly service. We had a little problem on our arrival with our room, they dealt with the matter seriously and very efficiently. Bathrooms well appointed, shower pressure and temperature adjustment too. Breakfast is more than adequate - you can order expresso, cappuccino. The swimming pool is an additional bonus, towels are supplied, it is convenient, you can enjoy a drink there if you want too.
We asked for recommendations to go our and eat. They did their research and came up with options. This hotel has all the conveniences for a simple stay and more particularly excellent service.

Room Tip: The double rooms are comfortable. Rooms on the higher floors (5th and 6th) give a better view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Vernon, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Clean, great location. Walking distance to main street and restaurants. We took a boat ride at night and to meet the boat it was a few minute walk to the shore line.

We happen to have a corner room that appeared to be a bit more spacious than the regular rooms. We think it may have been a suite. The detail to the crown moldings, wall paper, carpeting and bedding was magnificent. Bathroom was spacious and had great amenities to use.

Breakfast was great. Sitting outside over looking the beautiful garden was an added plus. One of the nicer hotels we stayed at during our visit to Switzerland.

Room Tip: Tried to ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My favorite hotel during our Switzerland Globus tour. Great location as it was within walking distance of the lake, shopping and restaurants. We ended up with a mini suite on the corner of the hotel. Beautiful, clean, comfortable room with a large bathroom. Staff was extremely helpful. Very good breakfast in a beautiful dining room. The pool looked great, but we had rain that evening and didn't get a chance to use it. The bar area was nice with complimentary snacks.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Paix

Address: Via Giuseppe Cattori 18, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de la Paix 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situato in prossimita del lago di Lugano e a pochi passi dal centro, con un ampio parcheggio privato, a cinque chilometri dall'aeroporto e un chilometro dalla stazione, l'Hotel de la Paix e lieto di accogliervi col calore e la cordialita del suo staff plurilingue. Le 131 camere e suite, dotate tutte di aria condizionata, TV satellitare, Minibar, Telefono, connessione Wireless, sono pronte a soddisfare i bisogni del turismo piu esigente e moderno sia per vacanza che per affari. La terrazza giardino, con piscina estiva riscaldata e portico, e il luogo ideale per un momento di relax e di svago ammirando la splendida conca di Lugano. Due sono i ristoranti, con cucina italiana ed internazionale. Il NEPTUNE, affacciato sul giardino, offre un ambiente tranquillo e raffinato. AL BARILOTTO, in tipico stile rustico e informale, e noto per le sue specialita alla griglia e le pizze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Paix Lugano
De La Paix Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Paix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.