We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my favourite” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Paix

Save Saved
You added Hotel de la Paix to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de la Paix
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giuseppe Cattori 18, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 42 hotels in Lugano
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not my favourite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

My expectations of Swiss hotels was high and I can only compare the four my husband and I stayed in on our recent trip. In that sense this was the most disappointing.
There is a slightly faded grandeur to the place - it must have been quite splendid at one time but the room was rather disappointing as it was rather dark. The hotel, however, was clean and comfortable but somehow lacked atmosphere - (perhaps it was because we were there in October), the pool was closed and the hotel was very quiet.
Breakfast was totally what might be expected, nothing memorable, but the big disappointment was the staff on reception who didn't really seem interested in answering our questions regarding the the town and in fact even gave us a map marking the location of the hotel incorrectly.
The location is a short walk to the lake but a 10 - 15 minute walk to the more lively centre of the town. Very convenient for a trip on the funicular up to San Salvatore, and a lovely town to explore.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    72
    40
    18
    3
See reviews for
16
62
12
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

When one talks about high Swiss Hotel standards in terms of service and accommodation this does certainly not apply for the Hotel de La Paix in Lugano. That starts with the reception area. I arrived there with my 3 heavy luggage. Now don't think that anyone cares about it ! The bell-man in polishing the old world copper door handle and has no time to help. Well, I took a hotel trolley and pushed it myself to my room. But I got nice smile form the front desk lady.
Rooms well, max 3* . The bed is ok but just ok. Same goes for the bathroom. Rooms are small.
Hotel staff is mainly absent. Don't ask too much. They will honor it with this "what-do-you-want-again" attitude but finally do it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Recent four day visit to Lugano brought us to this recommend hotel. I would recommend to anyone looking for a nice hotel in the area. Full service with breakfast lunch and dinner options but to me the Staff was outstanding. From the front desk to the breakfast buffet to our Lake Como "friend" behind the bar, all were beyond helpful. Looks like the hotel is in an upgrade mode of the rooms. Nothing bothersome and we were lucky enough to get one. Hope you like hard beds because they are extra firm!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The De La Paix is an excellent hotel about a 15/20 minute stroll from the centre of Lugano and only minutes from the lakeside at Paradiso. Although much of the building is very old it has been sympathetically restored and decorated and has a quiet elegance. Our room was very big, with a separate seating area and a very large balcony with a side view of the lake. The road outside although very busy at certain times of the day didn't really cause us any problems as the hotel seems to be well soundproofed. Staff were friendly yet efficient and helpful.

Breakfast was very good, with all the usual items - fruit, cereals, meats, cheese, croissants, bread etc.

We did try the adjacent restaurant one evening and it was just about okay, take the time to walk along to Lugano, or even just into Paradiso, and you will get a better eating experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Hotel is in a good location, very nice lobby, restaurant and swimming pool, the food in the restaurant is good, the only downside I found was the room itself, decoration a bit old fashion and tired plus you can hear the noise from the street a little bit, I was on the 5th floor and could hear the traffic. Rooms not facing the street might be ok.The service in reception very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sombra
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was the third hotel that my husband and I stayed at while touring with Globus. It is in Lugano Switzerland and it was quite nice. The room was lovely with a very large bathroom. The room was tastefully decorated and we found the bed very comfortable. It is in a good location - close to shops and restaurants. This hotel has a lovely pool (although we did not use it) and patio area. We both enjoyed a drink on the patio and the bartender was very personable. I was a bit disappointed with the receptionist when I called her to relay a message to our friends. She said she was very busy and was unable to help me. I have never had that happen before. I spoke to her later at the front desk and she was apologetic. At the time of my call she was the only person on the desk and was quite busy. Not sure why only one person was working at the front desk? Either way, we enjoyed our stay and thought it was a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room on the third floor or higher might have a better view from the balcony. We were on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Arrived at this hotel early afternoon for a one night stay en route between Venice and Strasbourg. Room was ready which is always a bonus. Had the opportunity to take a walk along the beautiful lake through the magnificent park. A well received welcome from the reception staff who attended to our needs as necessary. We were able to park our car in their garage facility which is always a comfort. Room was clean and had all the necessary trimmings and included a balcony which had a view of the lake and hills albeit the view was through some high rise buildings. This city is a little bit on the noisy side at night but considering the hotel location this has to be expected. Ideal corporate hotel for business purposes but also good for an overnight stay en route if you want some creature comforts. Nice outdoor pool available when weather permits. Would we stay again - yes probably!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Paix

Address: Via Giuseppe Cattori 18, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de la Paix 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situato in prossimita del lago di Lugano e a pochi passi dal centro, con un ampio parcheggio privato, a cinque chilometri dall'aeroporto e un chilometro dalla stazione, l'Hotel de la Paix e lieto di accogliervi col calore e la cordialita del suo staff plurilingue. Le 131 camere e suite, dotate tutte di aria condizionata, TV satellitare, Minibar, Telefono, connessione Wireless, sono pronte a soddisfare i bisogni del turismo piu esigente e moderno sia per vacanza che per affari. La terrazza giardino, con piscina estiva riscaldata e portico, e il luogo ideale per un momento di relax e di svago ammirando la splendida conca di Lugano. Due sono i ristoranti, con cucina italiana ed internazionale. Il NEPTUNE, affacciato sul giardino, offre un ambiente tranquillo e raffinato. AL BARILOTTO, in tipico stile rustico e informale, e noto per le sue specialita alla griglia e le pizze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Paix Lugano
De La Paix Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Paix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.