We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in a beautiful city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Paix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Paix to your Saves list
Hotel de la Paix
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giuseppe Cattori 18, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in a beautiful city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The De La Paix is an excellent hotel about a 15/20 minute stroll from the centre of Lugano and only minutes from the lakeside at Paradiso. Although much of the building is very old it has been sympathetically restored and decorated and has a quiet elegance. Our room was very big, with a separate seating area and a very large balcony with a side view of the lake. The road outside although very busy at certain times of the day didn't really cause us any problems as the hotel seems to be well soundproofed. Staff were friendly yet efficient and helpful.

Breakfast was very good, with all the usual items - fruit, cereals, meats, cheese, croissants, bread etc.

We did try the adjacent restaurant one evening and it was just about okay, take the time to walk along to Lugano, or even just into Paradiso, and you will get a better eating experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    91
    46
    18
    3
See reviews for
19
68
12
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Hotel is in a good location, very nice lobby, restaurant and swimming pool, the food in the restaurant is good, the only downside I found was the room itself, decoration a bit old fashion and tired plus you can hear the noise from the street a little bit, I was on the 5th floor and could hear the traffic. Rooms not facing the street might be ok.The service in reception very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sombra
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was the third hotel that my husband and I stayed at while touring with Globus. It is in Lugano Switzerland and it was quite nice. The room was lovely with a very large bathroom. The room was tastefully decorated and we found the bed very comfortable. It is in a good location - close to shops and restaurants. This hotel has a lovely pool (although we did not use it) and patio area. We both enjoyed a drink on the patio and the bartender was very personable. I was a bit disappointed with the receptionist when I called her to relay a message to our friends. She said she was very busy and was unable to help me. I have never had that happen before. I spoke to her later at the front desk and she was apologetic. At the time of my call she was the only person on the desk and was quite busy. Not sure why only one person was working at the front desk? Either way, we enjoyed our stay and thought it was a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room on the third floor or higher might have a better view from the balcony. We were on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Arrived at this hotel early afternoon for a one night stay en route between Venice and Strasbourg. Room was ready which is always a bonus. Had the opportunity to take a walk along the beautiful lake through the magnificent park. A well received welcome from the reception staff who attended to our needs as necessary. We were able to park our car in their garage facility which is always a comfort. Room was clean and had all the necessary trimmings and included a balcony which had a view of the lake and hills albeit the view was through some high rise buildings. This city is a little bit on the noisy side at night but considering the hotel location this has to be expected. Ideal corporate hotel for business purposes but also good for an overnight stay en route if you want some creature comforts. Nice outdoor pool available when weather permits. Would we stay again - yes probably!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a tough one, not so easy to rate. Don't get me wrong, the Hotel and service is fine, with newly renovated and styled rooms, some of them with a balcony and probably a view of the lake and the mountains. (mine didn't have either one) The Lobby has a bit of a basic look and doesn't shows a 4 Star look, but the Bar and Lounge are very inviting and cosy furnished. The nice green Garden with high trees, a Pool and the outdoor terrace of the Restaurant are very relaxing - and still, i missed a WOW moment at the Hotel de la Paix.

Location:
The Hotel stands at a rather busy street corner with good access to the freeway and the public transport, but don't worry to much, about the street noise, since the windows are quite soundproof if closed. Free outdoor or paid garage parking avbl.
The location of the Hotel is at the Lugano/Paradiso community boarder and just about 200m / 2 min. walk from the lake promenade and the Paradiso boat slip and 5-10 min. from the Mt. San Salvadore & Paradiso train station away. Good public bus connection with Bus No.2 to and from the main train station and Bus No.1 along the lake to the center. Each just a 5 min. ride.

Rooms:
The rooms are all newly renovated, with soundproof windows and equipped with all the amenities like HD flat screen, free wifi, free soft drink minibar, safe, bathrobe and adequate amount of hanging and shelf space in the wardrobe. Most rooms facing the lake and mountain side, have a balcony and from the upper floors also a view of the lake and mountains.
There are 2 things i can't hide here; why is the bathroom mirror frame painted in baby blue, it's not matching the overall nice and styled room colors, but then to top it all, who in the world decided to paint the wall in the hallways on the guest floors in this awful Barbie pink!

The breakfast buffet has a standard selection of mostly cold items, like bread, cheese, cold cuts, fruits, cereals, juice and also scrambled eggs with sausage and bacon.
The breakfast room is a bit outdated, but if weather permits, try to get a table on the covered outside veranda.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back (west) have no balcony and not much view. Rooms to the east & south have mostl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

OK the rooms ok, location is 10 minutes walk to the lake and downtown.

The rooms are functional, if a little dark as there was renovation work at the front of the hotel when I stayed and scaffolding obscured the window.

My main problem here was the staff and the fact I struggled to get into my room as they have a continuing problem with the room key cards - it took me four trips to and from my room to resolve at 1am. Not happy. The staff seemed quite disorganized and at times they were rude,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KUWAIT
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Location close to the city center and the lake, the Internet is fast, available in hotel car park free of charge, either the room space and a spacious bathroom and free mini-bar, I would recommend it for the accommodation of families, as well as the breakfast was varied.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Paix

Address: Via Giuseppe Cattori 18, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de la Paix 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situato in prossimita del lago di Lugano e a pochi passi dal centro, con un ampio parcheggio privato, a cinque chilometri dall'aeroporto e un chilometro dalla stazione, l'Hotel de la Paix e lieto di accogliervi col calore e la cordialita del suo staff plurilingue. Le 131 camere e suite, dotate tutte di aria condizionata, TV satellitare, Minibar, Telefono, connessione Wireless, sono pronte a soddisfare i bisogni del turismo piu esigente e moderno sia per vacanza che per affari. La terrazza giardino, con piscina estiva riscaldata e portico, e il luogo ideale per un momento di relax e di svago ammirando la splendida conca di Lugano. Due sono i ristoranti, con cucina italiana ed internazionale. Il NEPTUNE, affacciato sul giardino, offre un ambiente tranquillo e raffinato. AL BARILOTTO, in tipico stile rustico e informale, e noto per le sue specialita alla griglia e le pizze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Paix Lugano
De La Paix Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Paix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.