We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frustrating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Paix

Save Saved
You added Hotel de la Paix to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de la Paix
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giuseppe Cattori 18, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 38 hotels in Lugano
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Frustrating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

OK the rooms ok, location is 10 minutes walk to the lake and downtown.

The rooms are functional, if a little dark as there was renovation work at the front of the hotel when I stayed and scaffolding obscured the window.

My main problem here was the staff and the fact I struggled to get into my room as they have a continuing problem with the room key cards - it took me four trips to and from my room to resolve at 1am. Not happy. The staff seemed quite disorganized and at times they were rude,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    63
    39
    19
    2
See reviews for
14
54
11
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KUWAIT
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Location close to the city center and the lake, the Internet is fast, available in hotel car park free of charge, either the room space and a spacious bathroom and free mini-bar, I would recommend it for the accommodation of families, as well as the breakfast was varied.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross Plains, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in stunning Lugano at this lovely hotel. Our room was very nice with a balcony, free minibar and Internet. Swimming pool was lovely and had nice view. Quick was to funicular, Paradiso boat stop an restaurants, downtown Lugano. Grocery store one block away. Staff was gracious and breakfast was good. Close to lakeside walking and jogging path.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel is situated in the paradiso part of Lugano- a good 25 minutes walk from the old town where all the shopping and main attractions are. However it is just a few minutes from the boat stop of the same name and a bus stop straight into town, plus the San salvador funicular station.
Our room was pokey and dated and the air con did not work. We had one insufferable night before reporting it to the staff. The male receptionist we spoke to was extremely rude and lied about house keeping being finished for the day ( the place was still full of maids ) - finally when we stood our ground we were moved to an inifnately better room - with a balcony - which actually how they advertise their junior suites ( which we had booked ) anyway. The new door opening cards were literally slammed down on the
There is a pool which is nice after a hot day but it is not heated as advertised.
The restaurant is very expensive. Breakfast was ok. The road outside the hotel is very busy making the attractive gardens rather noisy.
Overall - we would NEVER recommend this hotel due to the inexplicable attitude of that receptionist. Oh and I forgot to say we arrived at 2.30pm and we had to wait until 3pm for the first broken air con machine room - which seems rather late.
One tip-if arriving by train get off at Lugano paradiso - we werent told this by our tour company- the latter is very close.

Room Tip: Although good sleep quality once in room with air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneDLP, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel de la Paix, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for your review on Tripadvisor.com
The comments of our guests are for us always the best way to know where and how we can improve.
We are trying to better understand with our staff what has happened with your room change because, obviously, the attitude you have reported is NOT PART of our hospitality’s concept. If there is a technical problem, we always find the best alternative solution to accommodate our clients and we are happy for every matter solved.
We confirm that our outdoor pool is heated, we have a system that constantly keeps the water at the temperature of 25°.
Regarding the check-in time, we reconfirm that is 15.00. We always do our best to get rooms ready before but, since check-out is 12.00, very often leisure guest stays until this time. In order to guarantee to all guests a perfect cleaning service, a certain period of time to make the rooms is needed.

Thank you again for the letting us know your opinion, we hope you will give us an other chance to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Hotel De La Paix , Lugano

We stayed 3 nights at a hotel where fresh air and an air of history were highlights. Comfortable and spacious and clean. Breakfast was good but not great. The bar service was awful, due to either inexperience or lack of training. The breakfast on second morning was chaos and over run. Staff seemed pretty casual about it all. Maintaining a standard was always expected in Swiss hotels and this one didn’t deliver by a wide margin. The room standards seemed to vary depending on who you talked to. It is a bit of a gamble as to what you can expect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel might not have the latest designer touch but is conveniently located, is clean, offers free wifi and even a free minibar. Breakfast by the pool is pleasant. The road below is busy but soundproofing is excellent. My room was not huge but had all the amenities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here as part of a bus tour and thought it was excellent. The outside is extremely pink but once inside the foyer looked very lush. Our room was great with a queen bed with sheets and blankets - a wonderful find for a couple who don't like duvets!! - and although the mattress was rather hard we slept like the proverbial logs. The door opened to a small balcony with a view out to the mountains and allowed us to enjoy some fresh air. The storage was good and there was a safe which is always a welcome addition. The bathroom was also excellent.
The buffet breakfast provided an adequate variety of food but could have had a bigger range.
Would we stay here again? Yes

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Paix

Also Known As:
De La Paix Lugano
De La Paix Hotel
Address: Via Giuseppe Cattori 18, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de la Paix 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situato in prossimita del lago di Lugano e a pochi passi dal centro, con un ampio parcheggio privato, a cinque chilometri dall'aeroporto e un chilometro dalla stazione, l'Hotel de la Paix e lieto di accogliervi col calore e la cordialita del suo staff plurilingue. Le 131 camere e suite, dotate tutte di aria condizionata, TV satellitare, Minibar, Telefono, connessione Wireless, sono pronte a soddisfare i bisogni del turismo piu esigente e moderno sia per vacanza che per affari. La terrazza giardino, con piscina estiva riscaldata e portico, e il luogo ideale per un momento di relax e di svago ammirando la splendida conca di Lugano. Due sono i ristoranti, con cucina italiana ed internazionale. Il NEPTUNE, affacciato sul giardino, offre un ambiente tranquillo e raffinato. AL BARILOTTO, in tipico stile rustico e informale, e noto per le sue specialita alla griglia e le pizze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Paix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.