We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Paix

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Paix to your Saves list
Hotel de la Paix
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giuseppe Cattori 18, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Melbourne
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A very comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night as part of a package tour in August 2012. The room (#113) we had was on the first floor, on the corner of the building with a view down the street to the lake but framed by buildings either side of the street. Being on the corner it had windows on either side and was light, spacious and comfortable. There was a generous balcony on both sides of the room. On a fairly busy street but set back sufficiently from the road that, combined with the double glazed windows, ensured a quiet room.
The room included a double couch and arm chair as well as a large dressing table/writing bench. Like most rooms we have experienced on this trip through Switzerland, the king bed is actually 2 single bed mattresses side by side. Bedding did not include a large, hot feather doona which was to my liking. For once, the air conditioning worked well!
The bathroom was generous but only included a shower in bath with a flimsy shower curtain, something I have come to detest when traveling because of their propensity to stick to your legs, not provide a water tight seal with soggy floors not uncommon and you have to wonder how often they are properly cleaned.
The outdoor pool was both inviting and refreshing.
Apart from the shower curtain, the only other small negative was the bufet breakfast which didn't have a huge choice but no negative points for this.

Room Tip: A corner room over looking the pool is what you will be looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    91
    46
    18
    3
See reviews for
19
68
12
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We have been familiar with Lugano as our daughter attended college there for four years. On the occasion of her graduation, we splurged and stayed at the Hotel de la Paix, which conveniently was also the venue for the ceremony and reception after. The room was spacious and clean. They have a very nice bar area with a friendly staff. The location is convenient to all Lugano has to offer....shopping, sightseeing, strolling around beautiful Lake Lugano and people watching! We did travel more than a year ago but have heard from others that it's still a top notch place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest available floorwith a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Visited for one night in August. Front desk staff was nice. Room was older but well kept and the air con worked well. There is an outdoor pool. Location is in Paradiso, about a 15-20 min walk along the lakefront from the main square, but I would stay again for the right price. Breakfast was standard.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Small swimming pool was refreshing and not many people. Parking was free of charge. It was good.
An old man who works at reception was very unfriendly. I don't feel like going back to this hotel and will not recommend to my friends. Breakfast was nothing special.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneDLP, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel de la Paix, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for reviewing Hotel De La Paix on Tripadvisor.
We already had a phone contact with you to personally check if you referred to a particular episode and talked about your comment.
We are very sorry about the perception you had and we hope we could have the chance to welcome you again, to show how is our standard service.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

A friend of mine booked this hotel for us from booking.com and got flash deals for CHF150 per night including breakfast for 2. My friend got a better room with a balcony at the 5th floor. Our double room is spacious also but without balcony. The room is outdated not like we saw in the website (maybe they only renovated the suite rooms) but very clean and has a comfy bed, large flat TV. The bathroom has a bath-tub and nice bath amenities. The location is not very central though, around 10-15 minutes walk to the city center but there is a bus stop nearby for going to the train station or city center. And they have spacious parking area if you go there by car. Free wifi only in public area. The staffs are friendly yet helpful. When we checked out, I forgot to take some of our clothes in the wardrobe, then I emailed them and they responded quickly and mailed our stuffs the next morning to our home, without any charge! Credit to them. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Ask a room with balcony, has a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneDLP, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel de la Paix, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for reviewing the Hotel de La Paix Lugano on TripAdvisor.
We are very glade you found a very special offer and that you enjoyed your stay!
Our rooms are divided in categories and in 2 different styles, modern and classic, in order to meet all our client’s preferences.
We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope to welcome you and your friend again very soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Good business hotel that gets the basics right. Bed, breakfast are perfect. It's clean and the rooms are just above average in size. Decorations throughout the hotel are outdated. Although they serve a great espresso, the regular coffee is bad. But then again, what hotel gets it's coffee right? All in all I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night with a tour group. After bad experiences at previous hotels on the tour, this place was a godsend. Lovely modern room. Very small room / only enough space for 1 person to move around, however I assume this was a "single room", and it was perfectly OK for me. Good breakfast. Easy walk to the lake/promenade. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneDLP, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel de la Paix, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review.
We are glade you enjoyed the stay in our hotel and the services as well as the breakfast.
We hope to welcome you very soon again in our Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Paix

Address: Via Giuseppe Cattori 18, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de la Paix 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situato in prossimita del lago di Lugano e a pochi passi dal centro, con un ampio parcheggio privato, a cinque chilometri dall'aeroporto e un chilometro dalla stazione, l'Hotel de la Paix e lieto di accogliervi col calore e la cordialita del suo staff plurilingue. Le 131 camere e suite, dotate tutte di aria condizionata, TV satellitare, Minibar, Telefono, connessione Wireless, sono pronte a soddisfare i bisogni del turismo piu esigente e moderno sia per vacanza che per affari. La terrazza giardino, con piscina estiva riscaldata e portico, e il luogo ideale per un momento di relax e di svago ammirando la splendida conca di Lugano. Due sono i ristoranti, con cucina italiana ed internazionale. Il NEPTUNE, affacciato sul giardino, offre un ambiente tranquillo e raffinato. AL BARILOTTO, in tipico stile rustico e informale, e noto per le sue specialita alla griglia e le pizze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Paix Lugano
De La Paix Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Paix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.