We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel staff were not special.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Paix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Paix to your Saves list
Hotel de la Paix
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giuseppe Cattori 18, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Capodanno CHF 238
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel staff were not special.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Small swimming pool was refreshing and not many people. Parking was free of charge. It was good.
An old man who works at reception was very unfriendly. I don't feel like going back to this hotel and will not recommend to my friends. Breakfast was nothing special.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneDLP, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel de la Paix, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for reviewing Hotel De La Paix on Tripadvisor.
We already had a phone contact with you to personally check if you referred to a particular episode and talked about your comment.
We are very sorry about the perception you had and we hope we could have the chance to welcome you again, to show how is our standard service.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    82
    45
    18
    3
See reviews for
18
68
12
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

A friend of mine booked this hotel for us from booking.com and got flash deals for CHF150 per night including breakfast for 2. My friend got a better room with a balcony at the 5th floor. Our double room is spacious also but without balcony. The room is outdated not like we saw in the website (maybe they only renovated the suite rooms) but very clean and has a comfy bed, large flat TV. The bathroom has a bath-tub and nice bath amenities. The location is not very central though, around 10-15 minutes walk to the city center but there is a bus stop nearby for going to the train station or city center. And they have spacious parking area if you go there by car. Free wifi only in public area. The staffs are friendly yet helpful. When we checked out, I forgot to take some of our clothes in the wardrobe, then I emailed them and they responded quickly and mailed our stuffs the next morning to our home, without any charge! Credit to them. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Ask a room with balcony, has a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneDLP, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel de la Paix, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for reviewing the Hotel de La Paix Lugano on TripAdvisor.
We are very glade you found a very special offer and that you enjoyed your stay!
Our rooms are divided in categories and in 2 different styles, modern and classic, in order to meet all our client’s preferences.
We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope to welcome you and your friend again very soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Good business hotel that gets the basics right. Bed, breakfast are perfect. It's clean and the rooms are just above average in size. Decorations throughout the hotel are outdated. Although they serve a great espresso, the regular coffee is bad. But then again, what hotel gets it's coffee right? All in all I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night with a tour group. After bad experiences at previous hotels on the tour, this place was a godsend. Lovely modern room. Very small room / only enough space for 1 person to move around, however I assume this was a "single room", and it was perfectly OK for me. Good breakfast. Easy walk to the lake/promenade. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneDLP, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel de la Paix, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review.
We are glade you enjoyed the stay in our hotel and the services as well as the breakfast.
We hope to welcome you very soon again in our Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel on a business trip to Lugano. I can recommend it to anyone. Friendly and helpful staff, has a great restaurant on site for dinner and the service and food were both excellent. Breakfast was good and had a good choice. I had booked at another hotel in the city center they failed to get me booked for 2 nights, so I selected this hotel as an alternate. Glad I did, will definitely stay there in the future on business or pleasure.

I was surprised at how many corporate regulars they had that spoke English being from US, UK, Ireland, etc. Is a busy but friendly place with excellent service.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

It was an ok hotel, nothing all that special. I suppose the plus point was the location, which was pretty good. Nothing else really sticks to mind. Not only was internet access not free but you had to buy cards. Not only did I have to pay but they didn't have any short usage cards left so I had to buy a 24hr card when I only needed about an hour. You would have thought I would have received it at least at a discount but nope.

The hotel itself is in need of a bit of a revamp. In fact I think there was a bit of work going on. The rooms however are ok, certainly spacious and in a pretty decent location.

Room service was so so, the food wasn't anything special.

Would probably see if I could find something better next time.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneDLP, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel de la Paix, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review.
The opinion of our guests is always the best way to improve our services.
We have a free wi-fi service in the lobby and at the bar of the hotel and in the room we have a service given from a third part which is subject to charge. Normally we have 3 type of Value card we offer to our client, they start for a minimum of three hours (you can make log-in/ log-out and they last 7 days) until a maximum of 30 hours (as well for a period of 7 days). Surely we will check with our reception and make sure they always have enough of each type to offer our client.
Regarding the renovation, you are right, during winter we had works going on. In fact in the past 3 years we have made quite a lot of renovation work , especially regarding rooms.
We hope you will decide to stay again in our hotel and for anything you may need we stay fully at your disposal.
Thanks again and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut USA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

I came back to this hotel after two years and found that it has been renovated, updated and embellished. While the restaurant, receiption, bar and breakfast room remained the same, the rooms have all been refurnished and updated. Since on two sides of the hotel there are busy streets I found the soundproof windows combined with efficient A/C and heating a great feature. Also, the new furniture and TV system with over seventy channels are a welcome addition to this well located hotel. It is easy to reach from the Lugano train station and from the exit south of the freeway Zurich - Milan. The breakfast buffet, which is included in the price for the room, is extremely varied and generous - a real treat. The only negative factor is that WiFi has to be paid for. Kind of strange in a hotel heavily used by business people.

Room Tip: Try to get a room out to the east, away from the street and with view to the lake. Try the Pizzeria...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Paix

Address: Via Giuseppe Cattori 18, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de la Paix 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situato in prossimita del lago di Lugano e a pochi passi dal centro, con un ampio parcheggio privato, a cinque chilometri dall'aeroporto e un chilometro dalla stazione, l'Hotel de la Paix e lieto di accogliervi col calore e la cordialita del suo staff plurilingue. Le 131 camere e suite, dotate tutte di aria condizionata, TV satellitare, Minibar, Telefono, connessione Wireless, sono pronte a soddisfare i bisogni del turismo piu esigente e moderno sia per vacanza che per affari. La terrazza giardino, con piscina estiva riscaldata e portico, e il luogo ideale per un momento di relax e di svago ammirando la splendida conca di Lugano. Due sono i ristoranti, con cucina italiana ed internazionale. Il NEPTUNE, affacciato sul giardino, offre un ambiente tranquillo e raffinato. AL BARILOTTO, in tipico stile rustico e informale, e noto per le sue specialita alla griglia e le pizze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Paix Lugano
De La Paix Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Paix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.