We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantistic service, right in the centre of Lugano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel to your Saves list
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tripadvisor 10% OFF
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fantistic service, right in the centre of Lugano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, during the Swiss national holiday. The hotel rooms were not very big but were overlooking the piazza underneath. The staff were very accommodating and help us at every question or request. We absolutely had a great time here!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,103
    220
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
237
479
124
379
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The hotel is located at the very town centre in Lugano, easy walking distance and just next to the funicular to reach the train station.
Breakfast is great and staff very attentive. Rooms are good sized. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stuff are so friendly!!!
Room clean!! 5 pillows to choose from!! Exalent bad!!
Beakfast is gourmet breakfast!!
It is better then 5 stars famous hotels breakfast. Location is in the center of the center. U get many small surprices when you first enter the room that you smile a lot!!!
Loby is nice with unlimited drinks and other small good things!!!
And the women who works there!! So friendly!! So nice!!!
What a hotel!!!!no 1!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in July. The location was excellent, right in the heart of the downtown area, and walking distance to everything.
The breakfast was superb with the best hot chocolate I have ever experienced, made on the spot with real chocolate, your choice of white or brown. And in the lobby, in three different areas there were always tantalizing snacks for everyone throughout the day, including coffee of any kind.
We were so impressed by the room. We stayed in a junior suite, newly renovated and architecturally ahead of most hotels we have ever seen. Every detail was so well planned and thought out. A separate gorgeous shower stall, in its own room, two huge TVs in both the sitting area and the bedroom, electrical sockets placed appropriately, elegant and cozy decor and comfort beyond our expectations.
But the most amazing thing about this hotel is the service. The staff were incredible, always friendly and always offering great advice. And to top it off, after we checked out and were already in Milan, we received an email from the hotel telling us that we had forgotten two pairs of shoes in the room! The hotel manager was able to drop them off for us, at a hotel in Milan, and in the box there were our two pair of shoes, a bag of cookies and a stuffed animal - with a note that said, "we didn't want the shoes to be lonely"!!! Unbelievable.
We will never forget that very special touch of class and the service that went far "beyond the distance".
The hotel experience is something we will never forget.
Thank you to the Lugano Dante staff for making this such a memorable vacation for us. No wonder you were rated so highly. We look forward to our next stay with you.
Robin and Ed

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West London/Surrey
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Two of the most important things for me when staying at a hotel are cleanliness and customer service, and I'm pleased to say that the Lugano Dante Center gets both of these points exactly right.

Customer service here is exceptional, just as the previous reviewers have reported. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the little touches and extras really do make a difference. The free mini bar (soft drinks only), is highly appreciated, all guests travel to reach any hotel, and being able to immediately relax in your room with a drink is just what you need, without having to worry about the extorniate mini bar prices charged by most hotels.

They also offer you a free bottle of water and some chocolate to take with you AFTER you check out, what a nice gesture, they have your money already, so 99% of hotels would not bother, this truly is exceptional customer service.

The room was a nice size, spotlessly clean, and provided everything I could have needed. Wifi, as promised, was free, fast and reliable. Other little touches made me smile and just added to the overall nice experience, like the little rubber duck on the bathroom sink :-)

Finally, breakfast also keeps up the high standards, a nicely presented and fresh buffet, staff friendly and hard working.

As some other reviewers have said, if you are arriving by train to Lugano, just go to the Funicular railway, it will take you down the hill, right to the door of the hotel in a few minutes, and cost is only 1.10 CHF.

To summarise, it was a pleasure to stay here, I will be back for sure, and other hotel managers should come here to learn what exceptional customer service really means. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

One of the most beautiful and well-thought hotels I have ever been to. Hotel staff starts to care about you before your arrival and customize your stay. Customer centricity is outstanding. And the interior is so welcome and comfortable! Recommend to all my friends.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Always like going back to the Dante Hotel in Lugano. Location is great just 100 meters from the lake (morning runs at the lake are recommended). Rooms are stylish, yet simple with fast wifi. You can preorder many items such as special pillows in advance. A nice funny touch is the rubber duck floating in the wash basin as you arrive. Take it home to your kids. Win win for everybody. The bar downstairs has a nice basic evening menu with great Italian food. Breakfast is fantastic with too much to choose from. Only minus is the rather dry croissants. Lobby is old fashioned but stylish with childrens toys loosely stack in one corner. Would be out-of-place in another hotel but not here. I recommend. Will go back many times, I hope

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Address: Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lugano Dante Center is located in the heart of Lugano within the city's financial and business district, in a fascinating pedestrian area rich in history, shops and urban lifestyle! Only 1 minute by funicular from main train station and 200 m from Lake Lugano. The hotel services include 83 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.