We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tripadvisor reviews are accurate, this hotel IS special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel to your Saves list
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
South West London/Surrey
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
280 helpful votes 280 helpful votes
“Tripadvisor reviews are accurate, this hotel IS special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Two of the most important things for me when staying at a hotel are cleanliness and customer service, and I'm pleased to say that the Lugano Dante Center gets both of these points exactly right.

Customer service here is exceptional, just as the previous reviewers have reported. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the little touches and extras really do make a difference. The free mini bar (soft drinks only), is highly appreciated, all guests travel to reach any hotel, and being able to immediately relax in your room with a drink is just what you need, without having to worry about the extorniate mini bar prices charged by most hotels.

They also offer you a free bottle of water and some chocolate to take with you AFTER you check out, what a nice gesture, they have your money already, so 99% of hotels would not bother, this truly is exceptional customer service.

The room was a nice size, spotlessly clean, and provided everything I could have needed. Wifi, as promised, was free, fast and reliable. Other little touches made me smile and just added to the overall nice experience, like the little rubber duck on the bathroom sink :-)

Finally, breakfast also keeps up the high standards, a nicely presented and fresh buffet, staff friendly and hard working.

As some other reviewers have said, if you are arriving by train to Lugano, just go to the Funicular railway, it will take you down the hill, right to the door of the hotel in a few minutes, and cost is only 1.10 CHF.

To summarise, it was a pleasure to stay here, I will be back for sure, and other hotel managers should come here to learn what exceptional customer service really means. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,171
    230
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
248
514
131
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

One of the most beautiful and well-thought hotels I have ever been to. Hotel staff starts to care about you before your arrival and customize your stay. Customer centricity is outstanding. And the interior is so welcome and comfortable! Recommend to all my friends.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Always like going back to the Dante Hotel in Lugano. Location is great just 100 meters from the lake (morning runs at the lake are recommended). Rooms are stylish, yet simple with fast wifi. You can preorder many items such as special pillows in advance. A nice funny touch is the rubber duck floating in the wash basin as you arrive. Take it home to your kids. Win win for everybody. The bar downstairs has a nice basic evening menu with great Italian food. Breakfast is fantastic with too much to choose from. Only minus is the rather dry croissants. Lobby is old fashioned but stylish with childrens toys loosely stack in one corner. Would be out-of-place in another hotel but not here. I recommend. Will go back many times, I hope

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Always a great hotel, with friendly staff, comfortable rooms and a free rubber duck! Free minibar too! Location is perfect, right in the middle of the town, perfect for business or pleasure Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

There were six of us traveling together and we didn't have prior reservations for this hotel. They were able to accommodate us, and it turned out to be a wonderful experience! Beautiful hotel with gracious multi-lingual staff. The rooms were automatically upgraded at no extra charge, and they were so comfortable, clean and quiet. Really, really quiet, which was wonderful. Lugano is a gorgeous city and area, and anyone visiting here should really check out this centrally located hotel. No view of the lake, but also no street noise which comes with those views.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farum, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Hotel Lugano Dante Center was our ”home” for six days during our holiday in Switzerland. Every member of the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, making us feel very welcome. We had a large newly renovated room (306), which we can highly recommend. Comfortable bed and good sleep quality. Impressive selection at the breakfast buffet.

Despite its central location in Lugano, going by car is not a problem. An automatic underground garage is available and it only takes a few minutes to get the car when it is needed.

Room Tip: Choose one of the newly renovated rooms, eg. room 306
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloFontana-GM, Direttore generale at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear FLK,

thank you very much for choosing Hotel Lugano Dante as your hotel in Lugano.
We are delighted to hear your nice words regarding the location, the comfort, the staff and the superb brakfast. I can reassure you that our team is putting all the best efforts in order to maintain this high standard and also trying to improve it.

We all hope to have the chance to welcome you again in Lugano

Our warmest regards.
Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Hotel arranges room to your wishes if you fill the form before arrival. They send an SMS when room is ready and you may then check-in (a good feeling to know)...
A very rich breakfast buffet I think starts at 6:30... (there are even different kind of olives)
When arriving town - with train - just take the funicular and it will take you down to the hotel door...this is also helpful on return.
The town has perhaps 3 lovely small squares hotel is just at one if them...
Lovely smiling receptionists offering chocolates and bottled water at check-out...

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Address: Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lugano Dante Center is located in the heart of Lugano within the city's financial and business district, in a fascinating pedestrian area rich in history, shops and urban lifestyle! Only 1 minute by funicular from main train station and 200 m from Lake Lugano. The hotel services include 83 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.