We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel with a great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A great hotel with a great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Conveniently located in Lugano downtown. I was impressed by the details: if you are there by car, the valet will offer bottles of water for the trip. The minibar is free. The Internet connection is perfect. And I found a small rubber duck waiting for me in the basin of the bathroom (and you can take it away). They even have a pillow menu: in case you are not happy with the three pillows in the room, you can ask them for different pillows. The breakfast is much better than a average coffee shop. Of course the rooms are clean and very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,040
    212
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
222
456
118
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Whenever I travel to Lugano,I stay at the Dante, just because it feels like coming home. All the staff is very kind and will always help you out, whatever problem there is. The hotel is situated in the center of Lugano, so it is easy to get around by foot. And you should never ever miss breakfast at the Dante - ever.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The staff are so helpful, welcoming and prepared to go the extra mile. It is the little touches that make the stay at this hotel memorable and worthwhile, from the friendliness of the staff to the extra snacks when you order wine, to the advice and guidance in planning your day. Everything about the hotel is a reflection of their attention to detail. Great central location and an enjoyable trip as a result.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heeswijk, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Staying in many 4star hotels throughout Europe, I am not easily impressed. Lugano Dante managed to do just that!

They really make you feel welcome and have such an eye for detail, that you wonder why they have not 5 stars! Who else has a chocolate factory at the breakfast buffet and a daily changing carpet in the elevators? Not to mention the quality of the beds, the complimentary attentions and the red carpet at the valet parking...

I truly recommend to stay in this place, even if you have to drive a few hours extra to get there.
I will definitely go there again, and this time bring the family with me.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchâtel
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I already wrote a review about this hotel, but really it has been 9 years that we are going there at least once a year, and every single time we have a great experience.
The staff is friendly, helpful, and very professionnal .
Great buffet for the breakfast !!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

From the friendly and helpful staff, the very clean and very nice rooms, the wonderful breakfast buffet and the central location - I doubt it can get much better than this in Lugano. Every time I turned around, there was someone from the staff with a smile and a genuine interest helping their guests.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We selected this hotel based on location and all the rave reviews. Well it does live up to all the hype. Extremely friendly and helpful reception with excellent English and German, a charming hotel on a small square literally right next to the funicular that takes you to and from the rail station. Absolutely brilliant for anyone arriving by train. You are there in a few minutes. Loved the added touch of candy jars and goodies by the reception that became unfortunately for my waist line quite addictive. The lobby is cheerful and we did have a small snack, served quickly and delicious. The room was cosy, and having prepared by reading many of the reviews here I did ask and was rewarded with a room on a higher floor. We had a splendid view of the old town square and beautiful surrounding buidlings. So much fun to just walk out the door and there you are in Lugano's beautiful and charming old town, just minutes from the gorgeous lakeside promenade. Lugano is beautiful and makes for a wonderful weekend getaway especially when the weather in Switzerland north of the Alps is rainly and depressing. You feel like you are in Italy but everything acutally runs on time :) Dante is definitely a go-again destination and we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Address: Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lugano Dante Center is located in the heart of Lugano within the city's financial and business district, in a fascinating pedestrian area rich in history, shops and urban lifestyle! Only 1 minute by funicular from main train station and 200 m from Lake Lugano. The hotel services include 83 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;