We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic 2 week stay at the Dante!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel to your Saves list
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
“Fantastic 2 week stay at the Dante!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I am not one to write reviews, but I think that the Dante deserved it! I just completed a 2 week stay at the Dante for a business trip. I stayed in the newly renovated junior suite, which was amazing! Everything was new and clean and great views of the lake. It is near impossible to find a room in Europe with this size and quality. To be two weeks away from home, this room was comfortable and made the stay much easier. The location is right in the center of town. There is a shuttle that brings you right to the train station at the doorstep of the hotel, as well as several restaurants and shops. This hotel is very hospitable with 5 star service. Some of my coworkers had clothes ruined on the flight over, and the Dante had their clothes dry cleaned free of charge the same day as our arrival. I look forward to my next stay at the Dante and would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,081
    218
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
232
474
122
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Another fantastic stay at Lugano Dante Hotel . We spent half of the year in hotels, normally 5 stars. But an experience that you make at Lugano Dante you cannot see in any top hotel of London, Moscow, Singapore, Shanghai or Zurich . I think in the sense of hospitality , genuine warmth, willingness to feel the client good Lugano Dante hotel has no equal.
When you are at Dante , it feels like being surrounded by your friends and relatives that are sooo happy to see you .
The reception, this time Valentina and Pietro, were superb, the ladies at the restoration are like aunties who want to be sure you get all the food you want and need even the guy who helps you with the luggage , Pietro, is just perfect , sooooo friendly .

I think it is worth to mention that Lugano Dante is also very generous towards its customers : you have in the lobby variety of teas, nespresso, water , the same you have in the rooms- all free of charge .

So it has all: the best location in the best city of the world, the hospitality that had no equal, impeccable service and generosity

Thank you Lugano Dante

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Enjoyed one night at Hotel Dante in Lugano, welcome was friendly, room was a bit smallish but met all the needs I needed. Hotel is located right in the Centre of Lugano. Room was quiet, Bathroom all amenities provided and very clean. Breakfast was included in the Room and was great, while booking the room they recommend the breakfast and can fully support this, not the usual "Swiss" style continental breakfast, no this is a full breakfast.
will definitely use this Hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Having read so many glowing reviews and received so many welcoming emails from the hotel, we were eagerly looking forward to our stay at the Lugano Dante Centre Hotel. Unfortunately, not as much effort is put into getting the small things right as there is in promoting the hotel.

Our room on the first floor was beautifully decorated, but was the smallest room of any 4 star hotel I have ever stayed at and much smaller than rooms of the 3 star hotels we had stayed at prior to our arrival in Lugano. What is more is that those hotels all had balconies with magnificent views, whereas this hotel had no balcony and no view. On the bed was a card welcoming us to the hotel and this was accompanied by 1 small individually wrapped chocolate of the type that comes in a box of chocolates. Having booked a double room for 2 people I thought this was rather strange. It was also strange that there was 1 bathrobe for us to share. While these are only trivial issues it shows a lack of thought by the management.

The room did not have tea/coffee facilities but free tea and coffee were supposedly available in the reception area. Having just arrived after a long train trip we decided to go down for a cup of tea. My wife prefers English Breakfast tea but this was not among the tea bags which were available, so she asked at the reception desk if she could have an English Breakfast tea bag. She was told that certainly she could but at a cost of 5 francs per tea bag.

Breakfast was a mixed bag. The scrambled eggs were the best we had on our whole 25 day trip but the only hot food to accompany them were bits of cut-up sausage. The tables were so close together that we were literally bumping elbows with the people next to us and we had to squeeze between the backs of our chairs and the backs of the chairs of the people at the tables behind us
to get to and from the food.

The hotel is conveniently located next to the funicular station and the reception staff were very friendly but I would not stay at this hotel if we return to Lugano (despite their offer of a 10% reduction for subsequent visits). A better option would be to stay at a hotel with a view of beautiful Lake Lugano. I noticed a hotel with balconies overlooking the lake (I think it was called Hotel Nassa) and I will be looking at staying at that one if we return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloFontana-GM, General Manager at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Kilsherry,

We thank you for your feedback.

We are saddened to know that you were not fully satisfied with the quality of your stay.

We realize that when expectations run too high, because of other comments, it becomes more and more difficult to surprise and satisfy our beloved guests.

We are a small family owned hotel, rooms are all different and not standard like it may happen in chain hotels.

This means that you have five different room types to choose from – from Quality to Suite – which vary in size, interiors, amenities and for a small supplement you can book the room which better meets your needs and willingnes to pay. Our reservations department is always on hand to assist you making the right choice.

I noticed you booked a Quality room - the first category out of five available - and it’s useful to precise that tea/coffee facilities, as also clearly explained on our website, are only included in the upper categories.

Common to all room types instead are our “complimentary extras” such as: in room nonalcoholic minibar, free WiFi, free 24 hour Tea & Coffee corner in main lobby, "Good Morning News" sheets in 8 different languages and a nice antipasto “Happy hour buffet”, free with purchase of drink.

With regard to the free Tea & Coffee corner, it’s fair to say that we offer three differents types of tea bags and that the rate you mentioned of CHF. 5.-- is the cost for a complete tea served at our Bar and not for a tea bag.

We are honestly also very suprised to read that you were expecting rooms with „balconies and magnificent views“, as we are located in the very heart of the old pedestrian city and never advertised those features.

We apologise you were not totally satisfied with our buffer breakfast, which is included in all our room categories (except the room only product) and is considered by the vast majority of our guests to be one of our most appreciated services. We offer an array of food and beverage to our guests that come to us from all over the world and try all our best to cover all tastes.

We are glad you have appreciated our location and your Quality room to be beautifully decorated, comfortable and clean. And we are also grateful for your comments about our Staff being very helpful and friendly, who are always on hand to assist our guests in any way possible.

Hope you will give us a second chance to show you how important you are.

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Our stay at this hotel was perfect from the arrival. The breakfast was one of the best we had in Switzerland. We will return to this hotel when visiting Lugano again and we highly recommend it to everyone.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed at the Lugano Dante for one night in August 2013. It was one of the nicer hotels we've ever stayed at. The staff at the reception was very friendly. She gave us suggestions for things to do in Lugano. She did not only give us a map, but also showed us exact locations of the different sights and the best ways to get there. The room was spacious and clean, there was a free mini-bar with various beverages and even a little yellow plastic duck for your bath. At breakfast, there was a great variety of cakes, cookies and candy in addition to the usual breakfast items. The hotel was located in the center of Lugano by the cable car station. This was very convenient as the cable car takes you up the steep hill to the railway station in minutes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

A decent 2 / 3 star hotel, located right at the foot of the funicular from the station and in the town center. But I can't figure out what the exceptional reviews are about.

Don't get me wrong - this is not a bad hotel. Breakfast is very good, staff very friendly, and you have free wifi, the mini-bar is free, complimentary coffee/tea in the lobby all day, etc. But don't expect anything luxurious or special. Rooms are basic, the ambience of the hotel is decidedly 3 star or less. Room window faced a wall, so no view or light, even though I was supposedly in a 'comfort' room. Tiny shower cubicle.

I've stayed in hotels like this in other towns for €75/night or less. Lugano is an expensive town and good hotel options seem to be limited, but I can't imagine how this hotel charges the €200+ they seem to.

If you get a good deal and are looking for a simple hotel, go for it. Else look for something better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloFontana-GM, General Manager at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Sankar,

we welcome all guests feedbacks, positive or negative, especially when they can help us to improve the quality of our services.

We understand that our ambiance, with classic style interiors, design and decor were not to your liking; at the same time we are proud to be officially classified by the Swiss Hotels Association as a four star property and have to accept that we cannot please everybody.

From our files I noticed that you reserved a Quality room, the first out of the five available categories (Quality, Comfort, Superior, Junior Suite, Suite) and that upon arrival we have shown you also a Superior room for a very small supplement of CHF. 20.--, but you rather preferred to stay in the original reserved one.

With regard to the room rate, it’s fair to say that you could profit of a very special and limited package available in December, made in conjunction with Switzerland Tourism, named: “Stay two nights and pay the second night as you wish”.

Thanks to this extraordinary offer, the guest knows the official rate for the second night but is free to pay whatever he/she thinks is right. Following your evaluation for the second night, you could profit of a 33% discount on our regular rates. As I’m quite used to travel a lot in Europe for business reasons, I would appreciate if you could let me know where to find, at the mentioned rate of Euro 75.00 or less, hotels located in the very heart of the old cities and with similar facilities.

Thank you for also noting "positives" about us: great location, friendly staff, free WiFi, free tea and coffee corner, free buffet breakfast (except the room only product), etc.

Best regards,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Address: Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lugano Dante Center is located in the heart of Lugano within the city's financial and business district, in a fascinating pedestrian area rich in history, shops and urban lifestyle! Only 1 minute by funicular from main train station and 200 m from Lake Lugano. The hotel services include 83 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.