We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel to your Saves list
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Lugano
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Enjoyed one night at Hotel Dante in Lugano, welcome was friendly, room was a bit smallish but met all the needs I needed. Hotel is located right in the Centre of Lugano. Room was quiet, Bathroom all amenities provided and very clean. Breakfast was included in the Room and was great, while booking the room they recommend the breakfast and can fully support this, not the usual "Swiss" style continental breakfast, no this is a full breakfast.
will definitely use this Hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Having read so many glowing reviews and received so many welcoming emails from the hotel, we were eagerly looking forward to our stay at the Lugano Dante Centre Hotel. Unfortunately, not as much effort is put into getting the small things right as there is in promoting the hotel.

Our room on the first floor was beautifully decorated, but was the smallest room of any 4 star hotel I have ever stayed at and much smaller than rooms of the 3 star hotels we had stayed at prior to our arrival in Lugano. What is more is that those hotels all had balconies with magnificent views, whereas this hotel had no balcony and no view. On the bed was a card welcoming us to the hotel and this was accompanied by 1 small individually wrapped chocolate of the type that comes in a box of chocolates. Having booked a double room for 2 people I thought this was rather strange. It was also strange that there was 1 bathrobe for us to share. While these are only trivial issues it shows a lack of thought by the management.

The room did not have tea/coffee facilities but free tea and coffee were supposedly available in the reception area. Having just arrived after a long train trip we decided to go down for a cup of tea. My wife prefers English Breakfast tea but this was not among the tea bags which were available, so she asked at the reception desk if she could have an English Breakfast tea bag. She was told that certainly she could but at a cost of 5 francs per tea bag.

Breakfast was a mixed bag. The scrambled eggs were the best we had on our whole 25 day trip but the only hot food to accompany them were bits of cut-up sausage. The tables were so close together that we were literally bumping elbows with the people next to us and we had to squeeze between the backs of our chairs and the backs of the chairs of the people at the tables behind us
to get to and from the food.

The hotel is conveniently located next to the funicular station and the reception staff were very friendly but I would not stay at this hotel if we return to Lugano (despite their offer of a 10% reduction for subsequent visits). A better option would be to stay at a hotel with a view of beautiful Lake Lugano. I noticed a hotel with balconies overlooking the lake (I think it was called Hotel Nassa) and I will be looking at staying at that one if we return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kilsherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloFontana-GM, General Manager at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Our stay at this hotel was perfect from the arrival. The breakfast was one of the best we had in Switzerland. We will return to this hotel when visiting Lugano again and we highly recommend it to everyone.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Elsa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed at the Lugano Dante for one night in August 2013. It was one of the nicer hotels we've ever stayed at. The staff at the reception was very friendly. She gave us suggestions for things to do in Lugano. She did not only give us a map, but also showed us exact locations of the different sights and the best ways to get there. The room was spacious and clean, there was a free mini-bar with various beverages and even a little yellow plastic duck for your bath. At breakfast, there was a great variety of cakes, cookies and candy in addition to the usual breakfast items. The hotel was located in the center of Lugano by the cable car station. This was very convenient as the cable car takes you up the steep hill to the railway station in minutes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CissiSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

A decent 2 / 3 star hotel, located right at the foot of the funicular from the station and in the town center. But I can't figure out what the exceptional reviews are about.

Don't get me wrong - this is not a bad hotel. Breakfast is very good, staff very friendly, and you have free wifi, the mini-bar is free, complimentary coffee/tea in the lobby all day, etc. But don't expect anything luxurious or special. Rooms are basic, the ambience of the hotel is decidedly 3 star or less. Room window faced a wall, so no view or light, even though I was supposedly in a 'comfort' room. Tiny shower cubicle.

I've stayed in hotels like this in other towns for €75/night or less. Lugano is an expensive town and good hotel options seem to be limited, but I can't imagine how this hotel charges the €200+ they seem to.

If you get a good deal and are looking for a simple hotel, go for it. Else look for something better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloFontana-GM, General Manager at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Sankar,

we welcome all guests feedbacks, positive or negative, especially when they can help us to improve the quality of our services.

We understand that our ambiance, with classic style interiors, design and decor were not to your liking; at the same time we are proud to be officially classified by the Swiss Hotels Association as a four star property and have to accept that we cannot please everybody.

From our files I noticed that you reserved a Quality room, the first out of the five available categories (Quality, Comfort, Superior, Junior Suite, Suite) and that upon arrival we have shown you also a Superior room for a very small supplement of CHF. 20.--, but you rather preferred to stay in the original reserved one.

With regard to the room rate, it’s fair to say that you could profit of a very special and limited package available in December, made in conjunction with Switzerland Tourism, named: “Stay two nights and pay the second night as you wish”.

Thanks to this extraordinary offer, the guest knows the official rate for the second night but is free to pay whatever he/she thinks is right. Following your evaluation for the second night, you could profit of a 33% discount on our regular rates. As I’m quite used to travel a lot in Europe for business reasons, I would appreciate if you could let me know where to find, at the mentioned rate of Euro 75.00 or less, hotels located in the very heart of the old cities and with similar facilities.

Thank you for also noting "positives" about us: great location, friendly staff, free WiFi, free tea and coffee corner, free buffet breakfast (except the room only product), etc.

Best regards,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3(three) nights at this property and initially was the headache to find the Hotel parking garage as when we drive, we could not find the spot at our Tomtom, later we found out that it is in a pedestrian area although they have modern parking garage within the property. They should inform this for anyone who has car traveling. However everything was paid off as all staff are extremely nice and helpfull and the room are really nice (they are renovating rooms to more modern style). The breakfast is sumptous with good food and especially their hot chocolate. Very nice hotel and ambience...

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 29hario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed 3 nights end of December 2013. Room located on 3rd floor was extremely cosy, nice and also very quite. The staff is wonderful, always smiling and willing to help. They succeeded in booking a table at the best restaurant in town on very short notice! Hotel is easily reachable from train station with cable car which is a few steps away, super convenient! Buffet breakfast has a choice for everyone and is one of the best I could experience during all these years of travelling.
Restaurants and shops are very close by, even casino is about 10 min. walking distance. Looking forward to stay at Dante Center again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagmanSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.7 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#3 of 44 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#14 of 44 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#6 of 44 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
3.5 mi away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#5 of 44 in Lugano
5.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Address: Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lugano Dante Center is located in the heart of Lugano within the city's financial and business district, in a fascinating pedestrian area rich in history, shops and urban lifestyle! Only 1 minute by funicular from main train station and 200 m from Lake Lugano. The hotel services include 83 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing