We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value hotel at town centre.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel to your Saves list
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tripadvisor 10% OFF
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A good value hotel at town centre.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed for 3(three) nights at this property and initially was the headache to find the Hotel parking garage as when we drive, we could not find the spot at our Tomtom, later we found out that it is in a pedestrian area although they have modern parking garage within the property. They should inform this for anyone who has car traveling. However everything was paid off as all staff are extremely nice and helpfull and the room are really nice (they are renovating rooms to more modern style). The breakfast is sumptous with good food and especially their hot chocolate. Very nice hotel and ambience...

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,103
    220
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
237
479
124
379
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed 3 nights end of December 2013. Room located on 3rd floor was extremely cosy, nice and also very quite. The staff is wonderful, always smiling and willing to help. They succeeded in booking a table at the best restaurant in town on very short notice! Hotel is easily reachable from train station with cable car which is a few steps away, super convenient! Buffet breakfast has a choice for everyone and is one of the best I could experience during all these years of travelling.
Restaurants and shops are very close by, even casino is about 10 min. walking distance. Looking forward to stay at Dante Center again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Lugano is the most beautiful city in the world and hotel Dante is the most beautiful place to stay in this city . Service is impeccable , it is also very warm and homy . They make you feel at home. Seems that people are happy to work there which is very important for the general atmosphere . The lady who is managing the breakfast treated us like a grandmother. The Location cud not be better.
We stayed in many places in Lugano including 5 star hotels , but this one I wud put as number one place to stay ! Thank you Dante Hotel and see you soon ! Teresa Mkhitaryan

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

New suites have just become available which are excellent. They offer comfort and state of art electronics .Suites are large ,bed very comfortable and large bathroom and separate shower en suite.

Staff are very friendly . Buffet breakfast is ok.

Location is great although no lake views.Good choice of local restaurants in easy walking distance. Parking is good with high tec parking system .

Room Tip: Go for the newly refurbished suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

On a cold rainy day we walked in the Hotel Dante Lugano. It was warm and pleasantly scented (cinnamon scent in the evening and orange scent in the morning) . The staff was extremely nice and professional. Rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. In the morning we had a delicious breakfast and lot to choose from. It is ideally situated in the pedestrian part of the town right next to the funicular that takes you up to the train station. Ideal for Christmas shopping and shopping in general and of course sightseeing the beautiful town of Lugano. Pleasant stay and would recommend for business as well as family trips.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We were planning a family trip to Lugano and looked up for family-friendly hotels in the area on Trip Advisor. After staying there for 3 nights, we weren't surprised that it was voted as the number one Family Hotel in the area.

Upon making reservations, we were able to secure a discounted rate through Trip Advisor and the reservation lady was very helpful in assisting us when we encountered a discrepancy in pricing with the reservation. It was just a matter of a booking code- the rates we saw were through Trip Advisor and it had a special URL to take you to the reservation page.

Everything was done accordingly and on the reservation confirmation page/link, there was a page where you could request for a baby's bath tub, temperature setting upon arrival, pillow types etc.

We booked the Junior Suite room and this proved to be useful when travelling with a toddler and the kind of luggage it requires. The room was clean and neat. Love the fact that it was a non-smoking hotel! There was no view other than the wall so unfortunately it lacked outside light during the day but luckily we were there to check out the city of Lugano, rather than cozying up indoors. We were also blessed by the fact that it was the first day of the Autumn Festival upon arrival.

Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast Buffet was the highlight of our stay. We were very well taken-care of each morning. Not only that, the selection of breakfast foods was diverse and awesome in general. Ticino salami will break anyone's diet for sure.

My parents stayed in the Executive Suite and they were also happy with their room. The Executive Suite also gave us free parking throughout the duration of our stay (we'd driven from Zurich). The decor of the hotel rooms may be a bit old-fashioned to some, but I think that's a part of the charm.

Location is smack bang in the city centre so we were able to walk around the city without getting the car out, other than when we wanted to do a bit of sightseeing on the last day of our stay.

We learned a new Italian word, "telecommando" for remote control. Random knowledge but we still say it to this day.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: For families, I'd recommend one of the Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed (once again) at the Dante in early November. The staff are very professional and very willing to help, the rooms are comfortable, location ideal, and breakfast delicious. Thank you and please open elsewhere in CH eg in Zurich! I will happily stay at the hotel again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Address: Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lugano Dante Center is located in the heart of Lugano within the city's financial and business district, in a fascinating pedestrian area rich in history, shops and urban lifestyle! Only 1 minute by funicular from main train station and 200 m from Lake Lugano. The hotel services include 83 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.