We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great location, very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We found the Dante on Trip Advisor and decided to stay as the reviews overall were very good. We were not dissappointed. We stayed two nights at the hotel September 2012 at the end of the summer season 2012.

The Front Desk staff were very friendly, very helpful. The rooms are modern, well appointed, clean and comfortable and quiet. The breakfast, included in the rate was excellent. We upgraded to a better room at modest cost that was offered on check-in - great move as we had a corner room located just above the adjacent buildings overlooking Lugano and the mountains.

We highly recommend this hotel located right at the foot of the funiculaire from the Lugano railway station. All on Central Lugano sightseeing, restaurants are located within easy walking distance or are a short local bus ride from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,037
    211
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
222
454
118
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fribourg, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

On business trip I stayed one night. All the staff from bell-bboy to restaurant and reception was extremely friendly and helpfull. The possibility to configure your room when you have made your online booking is simply great and beat lot of other hotels offer. Room clean and bathroom renewed and on modern standings. Breakfast with large choice of pastry, fruits, hams, chese....nothing was missing !
Excellent quality price ration !

Room Tip: Use the new room configurator after having done booking on their home page !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

A great stay over Easter. The genuinely friendly staff made a real difference to the weekend. The room had everything you need from free wi fi to free soft drinks. The breakfast bar has a wide choice with fresh food and drinks . We had a small mechanical breakdown on a piece of our equipment and a staff member went off found nuts and bolts and screwdriver and sorted the problem without asking. It is these small touches which make the difference.
The hotel location is excellent being near the main shops and restaurants . Easy walk to lakeside .

We will visit again

Room Tip: Go for a suite if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I decided to extend a business trip in Lugano, and spent three nights at the Lugano Dante over Easter. I cannot speak highly enough of the staff. Everyone was efficient, friendly and attentive at all times. Families with young children, in particular, can be guaranteed the warmest of welcomes, right down to the pile of toys neatly stacked on a staircase off the reception area.

I thought the free nibbles in the bar at 6pm every evening were a really nice idea. There was chocolate (also free) everywhere - not sure if this was just because it was Easter. The breakfast was amazing - an infinite range to choose from. I would say one of the most photographed breakfast buffets I have ever seen. The hotel is also conveniently close to the best deli in the world - Gabbana.

The hotel was spotlessly clean in all areas, right down to a brand new loo brush in my immaculate bathroom. My bedroom was so quiet that it might have been hermetically sealed, and the curtains completely blocked out the light, ensuring a really good night's sleep in the very comfortable bed.

On the slighly negative side, my room was quite small and, the hotel being right in the centre of town, did not have much natural light. And personally I would have liked a gym in the hotel, rather than having access to one a short walk away. I really love small children, but if you don't you may not find this hotel ideal.

Room Tip: If you're thinking of eating at Soave 10, across the square, go to Ristorante Commercianti inste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Room was very clean and nicely appointed. Rooms vary in size based on the class of room but even the smaller ones are comfortable. The staff is very attentive to your needs and the hotel does an online pre-check-in where they ask what type of pillow and blankets you want. Location is right on a wonderful square that is at the base of the funicular. Exceptionally convenient for anyone arriving by train. There is also a free shuttle from the airport upon request. Email ahead to reserve. The free breakfast is spectacular (there were 23 types of breads and pastries alone) and included everything from fresh squeezed orange juice to fresh squeezed carrot juice. Quality was as good as it gets. There is also wine and free antipasto served at the bar in the lobby in the evening and free fresh coffee/tea and croissants in the lobby all day long. They treat you right.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I had my reservation prior to arriving at the hotel based on the dated looking photographs I saw on the web, however upon arrival the check in staff made everything so easy and welcoming and in real life the hotel looks better than jpegs.

I stayed on the 1st floor with a balcony over looking the front of the hotel, the room is quite small but well equipped. The free mini bar was a nice touch and little freebies dotted around the room and the hotel, including rubber ducks in the bathroom! It shows the attention of details the hotel put in.

Wifi is free, to me its paramount in this day and age - hotels shouldnt charge guest for wifi access.
I was also very impressed with the wide selection of food and beverage at breakfast. Airport to Hotel is only around 15 - 20 mins away.

Overall the whole experience exceed my expectations and I would definitely recommend and stay at this hotel again should I come back to enchanting Lugano!

Room Tip: I had the 1st floor room with balcony, makes a difference able to step outside the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is right in the front of the funicular that leads to the central station. The room was very Nice, with everything you needed. And the best quality: the personal staff, from the front desk to the waitress in the restaurant were very kind and gentle as you could expectat from a 4 star swiss hotel. Very well located in downtown Lugano! Worth it!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Address: Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lugano Dante Center is located in the heart of Lugano within the city's financial and business district, in a fascinating pedestrian area rich in history, shops and urban lifestyle! Only 1 minute by funicular from main train station and 200 m from Lake Lugano. The hotel services include 83 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.