We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, magnificant Breakfast...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel to your Saves list
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
Leinster
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, magnificant Breakfast...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

We travelled by train from Lake Como to Lake Lugano, then got the funicular down to the hotel from the train station. The hotel is a few metres from where it stops, so there was no problem lugging our baggage around. Check in was prompt and trouble free. The size of our room was fine with two large windows and all the usual amenities you would expect from a four star.
We had spent a busy two weeks in Italy so it was great to just wander about the towns pedestrian zone. There are plenty of restaurants and bars within strolling distance of the hotel. The weather was very pleasant and it was lovely to walk to the nearby park and just sit overlooking the lake and watch the world go by... The shopping is great (for those with a gold card!!), we spent many an hour window shopping between meals. I'm sure there is plenty to do in the town and on the lake, but it is also a perfect place to do nothing... For the brave you can take on one of the locals in chess on one of those big chess boards that are dotted around the town!!
The breakfast is a sight to behold. The best I have ever experienced in Europe. I recommend to give it at least an hour of your morning to fully appreciate it all!! (Ohh melted white chocolate for breakfast....)
The staff in general were friendly. They told us how best to get back to Milan Melpansa (private bus is the most direct - taking about 1.5 hours) and booked it for us with the bus company. There is also a few computers in the lobby that guests have access to.
We did enjoy the complimentary evening snacks also.
It was all very enjoyable and relaxing.
To nit pick: No view of the lake, no swimming pool on site (although you can use a pool close by).
It should be illegal to just leave sweets on the counter like they do, just begging to be eaten each time you pass!
Overall a very pleasant and relaxing experience. Thank You.

  • Liked — Location, Breakfast
  • Disliked — View
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,204
    236
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
255
523
132
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gozo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2007

I always wanted to travel again to Lugano as I had enjoyed my day trip about 14 years ago with my parents. My stay at Hotel Lugano Dante met my expectations of being central, very clean and of high standard. The breakfast was amazing as there were even pancakes! After a day out sightseeing and shopping you will find a large variety of food at the lobby. The receptionists are very helpful.
Will definately stay again and recommend the hotel to whoever I know. Whilst there in Lugano if you are a shopaholic visit Fox Town factory outlet which is in Mendrisio which is reached by train and bus.

  • Liked — being so central
  • Disliked — nothing to complain about
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2007

After a few nights in Swiss budget hotels this hotel was a dream. Being heavily loaded with luggage and travelling by train the short funical ride from the train station made this ideal. The front end staff were extremely friendly and helpful. With three computers ( one dedicated to kids) we sometimes waited for a few minutes to get access but it was fast and free. The rooms were quiet and the bed was one of the best I slept in Switzerland. The breakfast was also one of the most comprehensive that I enjoyed in Switzerland and represented all regions.

Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Quality of room
  • Disliked — waiting for computer acces but it was free
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2007

Great location, just in the city center, you can take the funicular from the station or just park inside the hotel.
Great service, very personal, good management. I love that they have free tea in the lobby and sweets for the kids.
Roms are small though but for European standards are fine.
Excellent conference center and very very professional staff!

  • Liked — Conference facilities and staff professionalism
  • Disliked — Food quality
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2007

I was passing through Lugano for a brief stay on business. What a little gem. This hotel is right in the middle of the pedestrian zone, and also at the lower station for the funicular train which runs from the train station which is an added bonus. I paid €130 B&B for a single room here. I will admit that the room was a single bed and very small, but somehow very cosy and all the decor, fittings and furnishings were all brand new. Everywhere was also spotlessly clean. My favourite was breakfast - white and milk chocolate fountains with the most dazzling array of pastries, fruits, meats, cheeses, yoghurts, juices etc.
Really enjoyed my brief stay at a very friendly, quite understated hotel in Lugano.

  • Liked — Great hotel in a wonderful town
  • Disliked — Room small, but still very cosy.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2007

We have just spent 2 wonderful days at this hotel in Lugano, which is superbly located at the base of the funicular, right in the centre of the historical town. The rooms were comfy and the bathroom is lovely. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were just outstanding.. everything you could wish for and more... enough to keep you going for the day..
Tea and coffee facilities and pastries and confectionary in the lobby just added that extra touch. We felt that at this hotel they really took the trouble to make your stay more enjoyable.. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Lugano Dante.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — no english newspapers
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2007

Excellent hotel, right in the city center, very nice rooms and very clean. Breakfast is superb and everybody in the hotel is very friendly and knowledgeable. I can highly recommend this hotel for business as well as leisure travellers.
Will definitely stay at this hotel when in beautiful Lugano.

  • Liked — Breakfast and rooms
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.9 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#12 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#6 of 43 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.7 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#3 of 43 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Address: Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lugano Dante Center is located in the heart of Lugano within the city's financial and business district, in a fascinating pedestrian area rich in history, shops and urban lifestyle! Only 1 minute by funicular from main train station and 200 m from Lake Lugano. The hotel services include 83 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.