We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for outstanding staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel to your Saves list
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent hotel for outstanding staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I decided to try the Dante rather than the usual hotel I use in Lugano... And I was so glad that I did. The hotel was superb with clean and well-furnished rooms. The service was the best I have ever experienced. The staff was friendly, informative and genuinely helpful. It was also in a great location -next to downtown Lugano and only a 10-minute walk from the main rail station.

The hotel was a bit more expensive that my usual hotel in Lugano. But all the extras include in the normal tariff (free non-alcoholic mini-bar, free breafast, free coffee service, free extremely fast Wi-Fi) easily makes the higher price a real bargain.

I wholeheartedly recommend the Dante and plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,101
    219
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
234
479
124
378
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

great service
amazing breakfast
perfect location
one of the best hotel ever!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

The hotel has the perfect location in the city center, either for business or pleasure. Shops, reaturants and businesses are close by. The rooms are comfortable in size and interior. Wlan is free within the entire hotel which is a great plus compared to other business hotels in Lugano. Breakfat buffet is large and well supplied, staff is very friendly and attentive. Overall the staff are friendly, very eager and anticipate the needs of their guests. You feel welcome at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

The hotel is very conveniently located at the bottom of the funicular from the train station with the entrance on to an open square. It is close to the lake and is in the main plarfely pedestrianised shopping area of the town. There are plenty of good places to eat nearby.
Our first impressions on arriving at the hotel were very good. The staff were friendly and helpful and there were numerous jars of sweets, etc on the desk to help yourself to!!
Our room was a bit small but this is a hotel in the middle of a large town. Our window overlooked the square outside. The only problem with this was the funicular starts very early and is a bit irritating if you have the windows open as we did. The bed was very comfortable and the choice of pillows was superb - a real plus for me as I hate the soft pillows so many hotels seem to supply. There were even mini toblerone chocolates on the bed for us! The downside for us (and the reason for a rating of very good rather than excellant) was the bathroom. It contained everything you needed, including the best set of toiletries we had come across, but it was all far too squessed in. The shower cubicle was almost touching the toilet which was nearly under the sink. There was also a bidet which took up space that could have been better used by moving the toilet to where it was. There was also a plastic duck which had a 'please take me home' sign!
As others have said the breakfast provided in this hotel is absolutely second to none. There was everything you could think of available and it was delicious. There were even cakes and similar items that had been made by named members of staff. I have never seen so many different varieties of croissant!
All in all this is a great place to stay in a great location within the town. I would certainly stay there again - I will be dreaming of those breakfasts until then!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I have stayed twice in this hotel. First stay, I chose it for the perfect location with a reasonable rate. Second time, not only for the first reasons, but also a great service. It is located at the heart of Lugano.If you come by train, you need to take a "funiculare" to get down to town. And the hotel is just by the funiculare stop. If you come by car, they have a very interesting indoors parking place. Service is great, staff is very friendly, rooms are moderate but very comfortable (and the mini bar is included in the price) and the breakfast is great. Generally in Swiss hotels of this range, the breakfast is quite poor. But in Dante it is rich and satisfying. Also the room rates are quite reasonable compared to Swiss hotels in general, considering the fact that it is in the center of a very popular destination that is Lugano. I visit Lugano at least once a year and will never look for another place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

The hotel is located in the centre of Lugano. If you arrive by train there is a funicular from the train station to the entrance of the hotel.(Cost Sfr 1.10)
The staff were all friendly and helpful. The room (402) had a shower, no bath. The buffet breakfast was one of the best I have ever had.The selection of food was endless.They also have complimentary coffee and pastries in the lobby.
I shall definitely stay here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

This was our second visit to this charming hotel.
Our initial room was not to our satisfaction but we were immediately resettled without a fuss.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and the location is great especially if you are arriving by train.
Breakfast is excellent and room quiet and clean.
We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: higher floor quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Address: Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lugano Dante Center is located in the heart of Lugano within the city's financial and business district, in a fascinating pedestrian area rich in history, shops and urban lifestyle! Only 1 minute by funicular from main train station and 200 m from Lake Lugano. The hotel services include 83 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.