We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Customer Service Leader” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel to your Saves list
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Manchester, NJ
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A Customer Service Leader”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a two night trip to Lugano. The personal attention far surpasses any hotel I have ever stayed in America or Europe. Small details like remembering your name, free mini bar drinks,free wifi, tea sandwiches in the lobby, hot coffee and tea in the main lobby (24hrs.) etc... add up to a great experience.

The location of the hotel, (just at the base of the Funiculare) makes this hotel easy to access for those with disabilities and it places you right in the center of all the action of center city Lugano.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,101
    219
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
234
479
124
378
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waimanalo, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

Located in the center of everything, with the most helpful and friendly staff you might imagine. Exceptional attention to your preferences and meeting your needs compensates for the slightly smaller rooms than one would like. Not the place to go for a pampered vacation experience, but if you want a nicely appointed, comfortable, and well located hotel with the best service possible consider this for any business trip to Lugano. (free wifi, and lobby computer with printer - no compete "business center")

Room Tip: Get an
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

I was not suprised upon arriving at a Swiss Hotel to receive excactly what I paid for, however this hotel surpassed all my expectations!! Right in the center of Lugano, 2 minutes walk to the lake trully convenient for both leisure and buissnes travellers!!!
The hotel itself is not super luxurious or modern but I could not find anything wrong. The bathroom was pristine clean, the towels and bed linen changed daily or sometimes twice a day (If enviromentally consious one can request to have them changed every 2 days), the mini bar FREE !!!, sweets, pastries, coffee and tea are always available in the lobby (also free), the luggage delivered to our room before our entrance in the room, our car available whenever we asked (parking is extra in a private garage nearby), the staff extremely kind and always eager to please, breakfast amazing, so quiet and relaxing and to complete this wonderful experience when guests check out the staff offers a little bag with bottles of water and chocolate.
Wonderfull!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appenzell
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

We have stayed for several days at at time at this hotel about twice a year, and always enjoyed it. We do not have a car whilst in Switzerland, and travel by train. The funicular at Lugano station takes us right to the hotel door, so very convenient. The breakfast is always excellent. Very friendly staff. A nice bar in the evening. No smoking in the hotel is definitely a big plus point.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

They really do everything right. The staff are polite. Free WIFI that stays connected all the time. WIFI is also very fast. Free water, juice, soda in mini bar. Nice shower. Really really great breakfast. Make sure you don't have too big a dinner the night before. Right in the center of town. Free coffee and tea in lobby round the clock. I got a good night sleep. I wish I can afford it next time.

Just a thought: everything I listed above is supposed to be provided in all good hotels. But there are so many of them charge you for the room then make you pay $20 for WIFI, $5 for water, and ignore you.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilford, NH USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

The rooms are very dated and look like something out of the early 70's.
Restaurant only open for breakfast. Located downtown where you miss the most beautiful parts of Lugano were you to have a lake or mountain view. A major disappointment. Little duck floating in sink is a cute touch but after that it is all down hill.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloFontana-GM, General Manager at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2011
Dear singlakm,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Lugano Dante.

We carefully read your comments about our hotel and we welcome all guests feeback, positive and negative: this is how we learn and hopefully improve upon the quality of our services.

On the other hand, we were instead a bit surprised and astonished to read that you consider us not to be a four star hotel. We know we cannot please everyone, especially with regard to the style and decor of the hotel, but we are indeed a four star hotel.

We are not a chain hotel where rooms are all the same. We wish you would have reported your dissatisfaction with your room to the Reception Staff and we would have certainly shown you some of our upper categories (we offer 5 room categories that vary in size, furniture, upholstery, and amenities) or helped you finding another hotel with a lake view, which seems to be the main reason of your dissatisfaction.

Our main goal is to make all our guests feel welcome and comfortable while they are with us. And, most of our customers comments appreciate the wonderful location – in a nice pedestrian zone, right in the city centre - and the friendliness and efforts of our staff. Another point of strength is considered to be our buffet breakfast (yes, we don't have a restaurant and the area can offer so many possibilities to choose from), which tries to satisfy the tastes of our international clientele.

We are certainly glad you liked the friendliness and "service minded" attitude of our Staff: this really means a lot to us.

Please come back and let us show you how important you are.

Thanks a lot for staying with us.

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

The service at this hotel is outstanding, the location perfectly central for everything in Lugano including the central station by way of the funiculaire, the breakfast was great, free internet worked without a problem, nice touch of free minibar service.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Address: Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lugano Dante Center is located in the heart of Lugano within the city's financial and business district, in a fascinating pedestrian area rich in history, shops and urban lifestyle! Only 1 minute by funicular from main train station and 200 m from Lake Lugano. The hotel services include 83 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.