We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swiss hotels- The real thing!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 41 hotels in Lugano
Greece
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Swiss hotels- The real thing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

I was not suprised upon arriving at a Swiss Hotel to receive excactly what I paid for, however this hotel surpassed all my expectations!! Right in the center of Lugano, 2 minutes walk to the lake trully convenient for both leisure and buissnes travellers!!!
The hotel itself is not super luxurious or modern but I could not find anything wrong. The bathroom was pristine clean, the towels and bed linen changed daily or sometimes twice a day (If enviromentally consious one can request to have them changed every 2 days), the mini bar FREE !!!, sweets, pastries, coffee and tea are always available in the lobby (also free), the luggage delivered to our room before our entrance in the room, our car available whenever we asked (parking is extra in a private garage nearby), the staff extremely kind and always eager to please, breakfast amazing, so quiet and relaxing and to complete this wonderful experience when guests check out the staff offers a little bag with bottles of water and chocolate.
Wonderfull!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,042
    213
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
223
457
118
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
appenzell
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

We have stayed for several days at at time at this hotel about twice a year, and always enjoyed it. We do not have a car whilst in Switzerland, and travel by train. The funicular at Lugano station takes us right to the hotel door, so very convenient. The breakfast is always excellent. Very friendly staff. A nice bar in the evening. No smoking in the hotel is definitely a big plus point.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

They really do everything right. The staff are polite. Free WIFI that stays connected all the time. WIFI is also very fast. Free water, juice, soda in mini bar. Nice shower. Really really great breakfast. Make sure you don't have too big a dinner the night before. Right in the center of town. Free coffee and tea in lobby round the clock. I got a good night sleep. I wish I can afford it next time.

Just a thought: everything I listed above is supposed to be provided in all good hotels. But there are so many of them charge you for the room then make you pay $20 for WIFI, $5 for water, and ignore you.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilford, NH USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

The rooms are very dated and look like something out of the early 70's.
Restaurant only open for breakfast. Located downtown where you miss the most beautiful parts of Lugano were you to have a lake or mountain view. A major disappointment. Little duck floating in sink is a cute touch but after that it is all down hill.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloFontana-GM, General Manager at Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2011
Dear singlakm,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Lugano Dante.

We carefully read your comments about our hotel and we welcome all guests feeback, positive and negative: this is how we learn and hopefully improve upon the quality of our services.

On the other hand, we were instead a bit surprised and astonished to read that you consider us not to be a four star hotel. We know we cannot please everyone, especially with regard to the style and decor of the hotel, but we are indeed a four star hotel.

We are not a chain hotel where rooms are all the same. We wish you would have reported your dissatisfaction with your room to the Reception Staff and we would have certainly shown you some of our upper categories (we offer 5 room categories that vary in size, furniture, upholstery, and amenities) or helped you finding another hotel with a lake view, which seems to be the main reason of your dissatisfaction.

Our main goal is to make all our guests feel welcome and comfortable while they are with us. And, most of our customers comments appreciate the wonderful location – in a nice pedestrian zone, right in the city centre - and the friendliness and efforts of our staff. Another point of strength is considered to be our buffet breakfast (yes, we don't have a restaurant and the area can offer so many possibilities to choose from), which tries to satisfy the tastes of our international clientele.

We are certainly glad you liked the friendliness and "service minded" attitude of our Staff: this really means a lot to us.

Please come back and let us show you how important you are.

Thanks a lot for staying with us.

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

The service at this hotel is outstanding, the location perfectly central for everything in Lugano including the central station by way of the funiculaire, the breakfast was great, free internet worked without a problem, nice touch of free minibar service.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

We only had a brief stay a the Hotel Lugano Dante but from the moment we arrived we received exemplary service from very friendly staff our every need was catered for in a very friendly and considerate way. Every member of staff showed kindness, politeness and care throughout our stay. Using our personal page we were able to pre register our arrival, and we were greeted name from the o net we crossed the threshold. well down Lugano Dante!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Now... ok, one could say that it's only 1 hr drive from home, but hey! This ain't home! This is so close that you'd expect things would run as if you were home. The first thing is the email that you receive once you book your stay: you can pick your preferences amongst many choices: pillows, sheets, heating system, car parking, extra towels and stuff like that. This is UNIQUE. We have been all around the world, and there is no hotel that gives you a service like this one. Now this is just the beginning. As soon as you get there, they will call you for your exact name: Mr. Jones here and Mr. Jones there, like if you were the only guest of the Hotel (and definitely you are not the only one in this Hotel). This also makes a difference. The room is quite cool, the sodas are for free (oh: you can also choose your preferred sodas before you get there, and you will find those into the minibar in your room, for free), and you will find a rubber yellow duck in the bathroom's sink, with a sentence like "One day with no smile, is a lost day". Now it can sound a little naive, but we liked it.
Breakfast is awesome. There is so much choice. And there are thing that you can do yourself: you press your own oranges, so that you know that the orange juice you are sipping is REAL stuff and not what you usually get in hotels. Also you can centrifugate carrots and other vegetables to a fresh juice. Ain't this cool? I am personally not fond in breakfast, i never have it in ordinary days, but man when you get there... you definitely want to have it.

Last piece of information: when wave your hand goodbye, someone will escort you to your car into the parking facility and they will give you the travel set: a bottle of water and swiss chocolate bar. It's not a golden Rolex, I know, but how many hotels do this for you when you leave?

AMAZING.
'nuff said.

A great thank you to all the Hotel personnel.
Domenico e Laura BOSCO

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Address: Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lugano Dante Center is located in the heart of Lugano within the city's financial and business district, in a fascinating pedestrian area rich in history, shops and urban lifestyle! Only 1 minute by funicular from main train station and 200 m from Lake Lugano. The hotel services include 83 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;