We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Eden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Eden to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Eden
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riva Paradiso 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014


Eden Hotel Lugano - hotel looks dated from the outside but is well appointed inside.  Rooms are well furnished,  however unfortunately a double bed is actually two beds pushed together.  Rooms contain all the necessary items, with the exception of coffee and tea making facilities, which is disappointing for a hotel of this class.  Also,  bathroom had a slight sewerage smell to it,  which may be due to old pipes. We booked a corner room with lake views,  which we got, however,  we were in the rear building,  not directly over the water,  which the hotel leads you to believe.  This was also slightly disappointing.  The breakfast is in the building facing the water,  which may look easy to find,  however most doors were locked and therefore hard to access.  Id still recommend this hotel for a short stay in Lugano. 

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    91
    27
    22
    9
See reviews for
34
69
12
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This Hotel is in perfect location in Lugano, the short walk from the Hotel to the city center is one the most scenic views in the Switzerland. The rooms are clean (a bit dated), if your budget allows you should most definitely stay in lake front rooms, the views are unbelievable. We enjoyed the Breakfast was included in our rate. Lugano seems to be popular destination for visitors from Middle East after their fasting Holiday and Grand Eden is no exception. This gives the town a very international feel. There are many wonderful restaurants and cafes near the hotel.

Room Tip: the lake front rooms away from the elevators are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Grand Hotel Eden in Lugano,Switzerland. It is supposedly a 5 star hotel but I think that rating needs to be reconsidered. While the lobby is much better than you'd expect after seeing the exterior of the hotel, the rest of the hotel is in need of some major renovations. The walls are padded and covered in dark fabric. We had paid extra for a room with a full lake view and that was worthwhile as the spectacular view of Lake Lugano is the only thing this hotel has going for it. The hotel itself is dirty and the service is extremely slow. Nobody at this hotel seems to really care about guest comfort. Nobody was ever rude or unkind but neither were they helpful. Housekeeping is pretty bad. When we checked in, there was a square of toilet paper on the bathroom floor that remained there for the duration of our stay, proving they did nothing but pick up the towels. It has been a 2 weeks and I'm still waiting to hear about my socks that were misplaced by housekeeping. Breakfast was included but not wonderful - not a lot that was made in house. There was air-conditioning in the rooms and, although it was loud, it worked very well. Overall, this hotel's location is fantastic. It's right on the lake with an amazing view and not too far from the city center with restaurants and shopping. With staff retraining and a major renovation, it could be a spectacular place.

Room Tip: Get a full lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

The view was great .. However the rooms felt really old and dated, and some of the reception staff were really cold and the concierge wasn't available on the last day I stayed there, and when I asked where he was they said he was off for two days!

Not sure that's the 5 star service I expect ...

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

اقامه ممتازه ، بمواجهه بحيره لوقانو - فندق مزود بمكيفات (اخيرا). الافطار لاباس ولكن لابد من جاهزيتك للاختلاف في السوكتتات الكهربائيه .


We stayed at the new bldg facing the lake, good furniture , finally a hotel with Air Con! Good breakfast - one issue thu, you should be prepared with your electricity adapter & iron device since they wont be able to provide you.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Location is excellent very near Paradiso train station but beware of its steep road if you have a heavy baggage. Room average but the view from balcony is amazing. Staff is very helpfull. One to mention is Saul.D ...he is really do more than he has too, answering every question and even give more tips about the place that we want to visit.
Bfast average but what to complain if u have an amazing view of beautiful lakeside infront of you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
147 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel we booked late as when we got to Lugano as we wanted to stay for longer when we got there!! It’s at the end of the town and it’s a good 20 minute walk to get to the main shops and restaurants but the walk is all along the promenade so is not much of a chore at all!!

Room was large and well-appointed and we had a small balcony overlooking the lake which was plenty big enough to sit out on and enjoy the view. The Spa and lake-side bar were great and breakfast was very good.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#3 of 43 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.6 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#13 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bellevue Au Lac
0.9 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Eden

Address: Riva Paradiso 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Eden 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Eden lies on the water front of Lugano Paradiso one of the sunniest spots in the area of Canton Ticino. Modern and charming, the spacious bedrooms provide all the comforts needed to make our guests' stay an unforgettable and relaxing experience.An ideal place for meetings and business trips alike, the Convention Centre is equipped with the latest communication and conference technology, including video conferencing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.