We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, superb staff, nice balcony facing the Lugano lake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Eden

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Eden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Eden
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riva Paradiso 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location, superb staff, nice balcony facing the Lugano lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location is excellent very near Paradiso train station but beware of its steep road if you have a heavy baggage. Room average but the view from balcony is amazing. Staff is very helpfull. One to mention is Saul.D ...he is really do more than he has too, answering every question and even give more tips about the place that we want to visit.
Bfast average but what to complain if u have an amazing view of beautiful lakeside infront of you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    74
    18
    17
    7
See reviews for
24
52
8
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel we booked late as when we got to Lugano as we wanted to stay for longer when we got there!! It’s at the end of the town and it’s a good 20 minute walk to get to the main shops and restaurants but the walk is all along the promenade so is not much of a chore at all!!

Room was large and well-appointed and we had a small balcony overlooking the lake which was plenty big enough to sit out on and enjoy the view. The Spa and lake-side bar were great and breakfast was very good.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This was my second visit to this excellent hotel.
This hotel occupies two buildings - separated by the busy lakeside road. Reception is in the landside building. The restaurants and bars are in the lakeside building. Linking the two buildings is a spacious corridor, underneath the road. A very Swiss solution.
If having a room with an amazing view of the lake, Monte Bre and Lugano are important to you, then it is well worth paying the extra to secure a lakeside room.
The staff looked after me very well. On arrival, they parked the car for me. Even though I arrived at the over-lake lounge bar at the end of the day, whilst they were packing-up for the night, they still made me welcome and prepared a special complementary welcome drink.
The breakfast buffet has such a lot to offer that it is one of my all time favourites.
Eating breakfast on the outside terrace above the water, with spectacular views is one of my highlights. The sparrows are so tame that they will eat from your plate if you give them half a chance.
I look forwards to my next stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms with lake views and balconies are the best: special views and quiet too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Quite a decent hotel with spacy rooms and friendly service, however i would say "4 and a half stars" rather than 5. The biggest mishap was a very lousy house keeping service in terms of room cleaning - just not proper and not up to quality level (maids also left the doors open after cleaning, two days on a row).
Other than that - all's decent, the views make up for it all. Terrasse bar right on the lake (where you can sunbathe) is stunning and comfortable. However i found it a bit discomforting that out of the 3 days of our stay, 2 days they would close it at 4-5 pm for private events. As a hotel guest - it's rather uncomfortable not to be able to use this one of the hotel's best facilities.
Lacks an on-water pool and a hotel car service which would be expected from a 5-star hotel.
Good location too - a bit off center, but it makes it less crowdy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, OH
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

What a fabulous view from the balcony of our room! It was an extremely comfortable bed and the free breakfast buffet was outstanding with a lovely array of meats, sausages, eggs, fruit and muesli. The only negative was a rather weak air conditioner on a very hot day!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

All good things about this hotel were mentioned already.
I couldn't find any fault actually I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel room and and all facilities in the hotel.
The buildings may look a bit ordinary from outside but inside it looks brilliant. I know the decoraction is a matter of taste.
Everything was spotless, all staff very professional and friendly.
I was feeling very relaxed during my 2 days stay.
With my experience with other hotels across Europe, this one is on top of my list.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Eden--a family of four. It was a last minute booking so we took whatever rooms were available. The Eden is comprised of two buildings--one on the lake that also houses the restaurants, bar and spa. Another building is across the street with reception and additional rooms (the two are connected by an underground passageway). We were on the first floor in the building with reception. Even though this building is behind the other building, it is angled in a way that still affords a lake view. The Eden has a wonderful location on the lake, next to a lakeside park and promenade.

The pluses:
The service is exceptional. Reception, housekeeping, restaurant staff were great. Our last morning the breakfast service was off, but otherwise it was true 5-star service.
The facility and rooms are very clean.
The location is good. It is around the lake from the main part of town, a 3-5 minute drive, probably 15 minute walk, but right on the lake with fabulous views.
Nice indoor pool, sauna and steam room.

The minuses:
The decor looks very Versace during the heavy cocaine years. This place really needs to be redecorated.
It has a spa, but it doesn't seem to be staffed. I tried to get a massage and was told they were fully booked by one staff member, and told by another that the lady (one lady!) who does massages was out due to a surgery.
Instead of fluffy comforters on the beds they had limp blankets and sheets. Also, the sheets seemed cheap, definitely not the crisp cotton you might expect in a Swiss hotel.

I really debated between a 3 or 4 rating. The service and location are the strong points of this hotel. The decor is past its prime, but the rooms were very clean. I would recommed the Eden, but with those caveats.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Eden

Address: Riva Paradiso 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Eden 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Eden lies on the water front of Lugano Paradiso one of the sunniest spots in the area of Canton Ticino. Modern and charming, the spacious bedrooms provide all the comforts needed to make our guests' stay an unforgettable and relaxing experience.An ideal place for meetings and business trips alike, the Convention Centre is equipped with the latest communication and conference technology, including video conferencing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.