We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Eden

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Eden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Eden
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riva Paradiso 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Toledo, OH
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

What a fabulous view from the balcony of our room! It was an extremely comfortable bed and the free breakfast buffet was outstanding with a lovely array of meats, sausages, eggs, fruit and muesli. The only negative was a rather weak air conditioner on a very hot day!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    75
    19
    18
    7
See reviews for
27
53
8
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

All good things about this hotel were mentioned already.
I couldn't find any fault actually I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel room and and all facilities in the hotel.
The buildings may look a bit ordinary from outside but inside it looks brilliant. I know the decoraction is a matter of taste.
Everything was spotless, all staff very professional and friendly.
I was feeling very relaxed during my 2 days stay.
With my experience with other hotels across Europe, this one is on top of my list.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Eden--a family of four. It was a last minute booking so we took whatever rooms were available. The Eden is comprised of two buildings--one on the lake that also houses the restaurants, bar and spa. Another building is across the street with reception and additional rooms (the two are connected by an underground passageway). We were on the first floor in the building with reception. Even though this building is behind the other building, it is angled in a way that still affords a lake view. The Eden has a wonderful location on the lake, next to a lakeside park and promenade.

The pluses:
The service is exceptional. Reception, housekeeping, restaurant staff were great. Our last morning the breakfast service was off, but otherwise it was true 5-star service.
The facility and rooms are very clean.
The location is good. It is around the lake from the main part of town, a 3-5 minute drive, probably 15 minute walk, but right on the lake with fabulous views.
Nice indoor pool, sauna and steam room.

The minuses:
The decor looks very Versace during the heavy cocaine years. This place really needs to be redecorated.
It has a spa, but it doesn't seem to be staffed. I tried to get a massage and was told they were fully booked by one staff member, and told by another that the lady (one lady!) who does massages was out due to a surgery.
Instead of fluffy comforters on the beds they had limp blankets and sheets. Also, the sheets seemed cheap, definitely not the crisp cotton you might expect in a Swiss hotel.

I really debated between a 3 or 4 rating. The service and location are the strong points of this hotel. The decor is past its prime, but the rooms were very clean. I would recommed the Eden, but with those caveats.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed there 2 nights for business in May. Everything was perfect , did not have any time to enjoy facilities though.
Excellent breakfast, free WiFi for multiple devices, and spacious room with balcony and lake view.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy the balcony and the lake view ask for a room in the building across the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Me and my wife just checked out yesterday for a 3 night stay. What can I say what a wonderful hotel truly 5 stars
The room wow excellent we stayed in a deluxe lake view room.
The hotel and service is truly amazing reminds me of the Ritz chain classic well furnished room.

I would like to recommend it for honeymooners and couples retreat.
Very big thank you to Saul from concierge.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed here just after Christmas. We booked a room with a side view of the lake. Our room was located in the second building across the street from the lake. We had a spectacular view of the lake and snow capped mountains from our room and balcony. We were on the 6th floor. The rooms are pretty and comfortable. There is a spa and swimming pool which we did not use.
The bar is nice. Very good and attentive service. Breakfast, which was included in the hotel room rate, was a nicely presented buffet with something for everyone. The restaurant is just on the lake so you have a lovely view from here, too. The hotel is within walking distance to the city centre - about ten minutes. You can walk along the lake and thus can avoid walking just next to the dense traffic on the roads. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valais, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel, the breakfist was very good, the bedrooms nice with a good view. People were friendly. Nice swimming pool and welness place. The decoration inside the hotel was beautifull. Very good hotel !

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Eden

Address: Riva Paradiso 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Eden 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Eden lies on the water front of Lugano Paradiso one of the sunniest spots in the area of Canton Ticino. Modern and charming, the spacious bedrooms provide all the comforts needed to make our guests' stay an unforgettable and relaxing experience.An ideal place for meetings and business trips alike, the Convention Centre is equipped with the latest communication and conference technology, including video conferencing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.