We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with nice view over the lake...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Eden

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Eden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Eden
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riva Paradiso 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 41 hotels in Lugano
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hotel with nice view over the lake...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed there 2 nights for business in May. Everything was perfect , did not have any time to enjoy facilities though.
Excellent breakfast, free WiFi for multiple devices, and spacious room with balcony and lake view.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy the balcony and the lake view ask for a room in the building across the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    76
    19
    18
    7
See reviews for
27
54
8
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Me and my wife just checked out yesterday for a 3 night stay. What can I say what a wonderful hotel truly 5 stars
The room wow excellent we stayed in a deluxe lake view room.
The hotel and service is truly amazing reminds me of the Ritz chain classic well furnished room.

I would like to recommend it for honeymooners and couples retreat.
Very big thank you to Saul from concierge.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed here just after Christmas. We booked a room with a side view of the lake. Our room was located in the second building across the street from the lake. We had a spectacular view of the lake and snow capped mountains from our room and balcony. We were on the 6th floor. The rooms are pretty and comfortable. There is a spa and swimming pool which we did not use.
The bar is nice. Very good and attentive service. Breakfast, which was included in the hotel room rate, was a nicely presented buffet with something for everyone. The restaurant is just on the lake so you have a lovely view from here, too. The hotel is within walking distance to the city centre - about ten minutes. You can walk along the lake and thus can avoid walking just next to the dense traffic on the roads. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valais, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel, the breakfist was very good, the bedrooms nice with a good view. People were friendly. Nice swimming pool and welness place. The decoration inside the hotel was beautifull. Very good hotel !

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Although you are in Switzerland and pay in Swiss Francs, you may as well be in Italy and can get there, technically, on one of the boat cruises on the lake to some small villages. Our 2 days there, we had overcast the entire time so we couldn't see all of the beauty there. The hotel has a good view of the lake and directly across the street is their bar, restaurant, gym, and indoor pool. The staff is helpful and the room as well as lobby are nicely decorated.

Room Tip: When checking out and given the choice of paying in swiss francs or us dollars, choose the swiss fra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

this place feels like the inside of a mausoleum or a crypt. everything is terribly dark, furniture, carpets, walls. if you add a winter the view on the lake you feel like you're in an hospice of the soviet era. more than paradiso it should be an emotional purgatory

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I was lucky enough to stay here during a Tauck World Discovery tour. This hotel is distinguished in a old world charm kind of way. The location is perfect for long walks along the lake and the views outside our room facing the lake and small villages was beautiful. The mountains and lake views are something you can look at all day. I found the rooms to be comfortable and clean. Every single meal at the restaurant was great. The staff was well trained, helpful and pleasurable in every way. We enjoyed the dock side dinning and meals, especially at sunset.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Eden

Address: Riva Paradiso 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Eden 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Eden lies on the water front of Lugano Paradiso one of the sunniest spots in the area of Canton Ticino. Modern and charming, the spacious bedrooms provide all the comforts needed to make our guests' stay an unforgettable and relaxing experience.An ideal place for meetings and business trips alike, the Convention Centre is equipped with the latest communication and conference technology, including video conferencing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.