We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location and view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Eden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Eden to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Eden
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riva Paradiso 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
Switzerland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed here just after Christmas. We booked a room with a side view of the lake. Our room was located in the second building across the street from the lake. We had a spectacular view of the lake and snow capped mountains from our room and balcony. We were on the 6th floor. The rooms are pretty and comfortable. There is a spa and swimming pool which we did not use.
The bar is nice. Very good and attentive service. Breakfast, which was included in the hotel room rate, was a nicely presented buffet with something for everyone. The restaurant is just on the lake so you have a lovely view from here, too. The hotel is within walking distance to the city centre - about ten minutes. You can walk along the lake and thus can avoid walking just next to the dense traffic on the roads. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    91
    26
    21
    8
See reviews for
33
67
12
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Valais, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Very good hotel, the breakfist was very good, the bedrooms nice with a good view. People were friendly. Nice swimming pool and welness place. The decoration inside the hotel was beautifull. Very good hotel !

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Although you are in Switzerland and pay in Swiss Francs, you may as well be in Italy and can get there, technically, on one of the boat cruises on the lake to some small villages. Our 2 days there, we had overcast the entire time so we couldn't see all of the beauty there. The hotel has a good view of the lake and directly across the street is their bar, restaurant, gym, and indoor pool. The staff is helpful and the room as well as lobby are nicely decorated.

Room Tip: When checking out and given the choice of paying in swiss francs or us dollars, choose the swiss fra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

this place feels like the inside of a mausoleum or a crypt. everything is terribly dark, furniture, carpets, walls. if you add a winter the view on the lake you feel like you're in an hospice of the soviet era. more than paradiso it should be an emotional purgatory

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I was lucky enough to stay here during a Tauck World Discovery tour. This hotel is distinguished in a old world charm kind of way. The location is perfect for long walks along the lake and the views outside our room facing the lake and small villages was beautiful. The mountains and lake views are something you can look at all day. I found the rooms to be comfortable and clean. Every single meal at the restaurant was great. The staff was well trained, helpful and pleasurable in every way. We enjoyed the dock side dinning and meals, especially at sunset.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel is located very well - close to the Paradiso train station, lake lugano ferry stop and just next to the #1 bus line that connects central Lugano to Paradiso. It's also right by the lake. We stayed in the building that's not right on the water (i.e. on the other side of the road) but the angular configuration of the rooms ensured a spectacular view of the lake, surrounding areas and the water jet. Staff was very helpful and assisted us a lot with figuring out the train to Milan next day. Free wifi worked pretty well. The breakfast area is simply magnificent offering wonderful vistas of the lake and the breakfast spread was quite good with some fishes! The rooms, at least in the building we stayed in, while quite decent overall, is probably due for some renovations/updates in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Probably this five star hotel in a real life draws for four stars. The hotel hasn't looked fresh and new one. Sometimes I felt like in some care home.
I had my late flyght so in the hotel have been around 23.00. I wanted to order some food from the restaurant, but reception told me that it's not possible, because kitchen closed. HM.... Interesting!!! If you are hungry just go to McDonalds!
The service in a hotel is the real Italian service- sometimes rude and so slow.
But one thing what I really liked and drove me crazy its view from the window.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#3 of 43 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.4 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#11 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bellevue Au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Eden

Address: Riva Paradiso 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Eden 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Eden lies on the water front of Lugano Paradiso one of the sunniest spots in the area of Canton Ticino. Modern and charming, the spacious bedrooms provide all the comforts needed to make our guests' stay an unforgettable and relaxing experience.An ideal place for meetings and business trips alike, the Convention Centre is equipped with the latest communication and conference technology, including video conferencing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.