We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It helps to know some Italian here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Eden

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Eden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Eden
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riva Paradiso 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 42 hotels in Lugano
Fair Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“It helps to know some Italian here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Although you are in Switzerland and pay in Swiss Francs, you may as well be in Italy and can get there, technically, on one of the boat cruises on the lake to some small villages. Our 2 days there, we had overcast the entire time so we couldn't see all of the beauty there. The hotel has a good view of the lake and directly across the street is their bar, restaurant, gym, and indoor pool. The staff is helpful and the room as well as lobby are nicely decorated.

Room Tip: When checking out and given the choice of paying in swiss francs or us dollars, choose the swiss fra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    74
    18
    17
    7
See reviews for
24
52
8
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

this place feels like the inside of a mausoleum or a crypt. everything is terribly dark, furniture, carpets, walls. if you add a winter the view on the lake you feel like you're in an hospice of the soviet era. more than paradiso it should be an emotional purgatory

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I was lucky enough to stay here during a Tauck World Discovery tour. This hotel is distinguished in a old world charm kind of way. The location is perfect for long walks along the lake and the views outside our room facing the lake and small villages was beautiful. The mountains and lake views are something you can look at all day. I found the rooms to be comfortable and clean. Every single meal at the restaurant was great. The staff was well trained, helpful and pleasurable in every way. We enjoyed the dock side dinning and meals, especially at sunset.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel is located very well - close to the Paradiso train station, lake lugano ferry stop and just next to the #1 bus line that connects central Lugano to Paradiso. It's also right by the lake. We stayed in the building that's not right on the water (i.e. on the other side of the road) but the angular configuration of the rooms ensured a spectacular view of the lake, surrounding areas and the water jet. Staff was very helpful and assisted us a lot with figuring out the train to Milan next day. Free wifi worked pretty well. The breakfast area is simply magnificent offering wonderful vistas of the lake and the breakfast spread was quite good with some fishes! The rooms, at least in the building we stayed in, while quite decent overall, is probably due for some renovations/updates in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Probably this five star hotel in a real life draws for four stars. The hotel hasn't looked fresh and new one. Sometimes I felt like in some care home.
I had my late flyght so in the hotel have been around 23.00. I wanted to order some food from the restaurant, but reception told me that it's not possible, because kitchen closed. HM.... Interesting!!! If you are hungry just go to McDonalds!
The service in a hotel is the real Italian service- sometimes rude and so slow.
But one thing what I really liked and drove me crazy its view from the window.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

very nice hotel .. i like staying there and i will viset it again .. however the concerge are so corporated and welcoming for any question ...
the hotel is facing the beautiful fountain of Lugano
the hotel has many facilities like a fittness area
i recomended you to stay in the hotel if u are going 2 Lugano

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hill, Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Grand Hotel Eden is situated along the shore of a very beautiful lake but it is showing its age and has outgrown its lustre. Probably the time has come to renovate and give it a facelift. Our room was big and clean, has a beautiful view of the lake but it looks dreary and antiquated the bed was not as comfortable as I expected it to be. We found this to be disappointing. I feel the elevators should be updated, It is small and although it says it holds 4 or 5 people, 3 can be really tight.

The staff was very nice and helpful, they were attentive to our request and tried their best to please, which I consider that an asset to the hotel.

Buffet breakfast has limited selection but it is good.

As you step out of the door of the hotel, you can take a nice and leisurely walk along the lake and enjoy the beauty around it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th floor with the view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Eden

Address: Riva Paradiso 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Eden 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Eden lies on the water front of Lugano Paradiso one of the sunniest spots in the area of Canton Ticino. Modern and charming, the spacious bedrooms provide all the comforts needed to make our guests' stay an unforgettable and relaxing experience.An ideal place for meetings and business trips alike, the Convention Centre is equipped with the latest communication and conference technology, including video conferencing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.