We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Eden

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Eden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Eden
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riva Paradiso 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Cumberland, RI
1 review
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I am presently staying here and absolutely love it. I do not know how anyone can complain about this hotel. Everything is superb. I am staying with a group from the United States and the staff here have gone out of their way to accommodate us. The food is absolutely fabulous as is the service. It is extremely clean and in a great location with a spectacular view. I highly recommend Grand Hotel Eden.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTLugano, Direttore at Grand Hotel Eden, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear “cwilli4518”,
I am very pleased to read your positive comments, especially the one concerning the positive attitude and friendliness our staff.

I thank you for your recommendation and I look forward to welcome you back again in one of your future stay here in Lugano.

Best regards,

Massimiliano Trombetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    77
    19
    18
    8
See reviews for
27
55
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

An truly fascinating location, definitely the best in Lugano. Outstanding reception staff, particularly Sonia. Very helpful waiters at Breakfast. The Buffet breakfast is very passe and could definitely do with some imagination. Charging 10 Euro for a freshly cooked egg, in a Buffet is surely not acceptable.

The view in the hotels right on the lake is awesome. The rooms and the bathrooms in the main building are larger and redone. The entire hotel is a little tired and could definitely do with some face-lift.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTLugano, Direttore at Grand Hotel Eden, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear “BSK111”,

Thank you for sharing your review about the Grand Hotel Eden with other travellers. I am glad you could experience the friendliness of our staff and enjoy the beautiful views from your room.

Myself and my team are looking forward to welcoming you back again in one of your future visits to Lugano.

Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Trombetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The hotel has a lovely location on the Lake. Rooms were comfortable, but decor a bit bizarre - lots of animal prints floating around. But nothing could surpass the lovely breakfast with views of the Lake.

It's a bit of a walk to town, but that is on the glorious promenade - so who minds?

Room Tip: Get a view of the Lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTLugano, Direttore at Grand Hotel Eden, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear mgold040,
I would like to thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel Eden for your recent stay and for taking the time to wright and share your review with the Tripadvisor community.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the lovely breakfast with lake view and also the comfort of our rooms. I look forward to welcoming you back again in one of your future visits to Lugano.

Yours sincerely,
Massimiliano Trombetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This hotel has no doubt the best location in Lugano in my opinion. Still close to the city centre, but just on a lake with stunning view. Although I LIKE to stay there and did already many times, got in general one problem with this place: this is NOT a 5* hotel from my perspective. The rooms are comfortable (I love absolutely most cozy slippers!) however not my style (kind of flashy black furniture decorated with silver ornaments). The elevators are very old. Overall the lobby and the rest of the hotel is a kind of a strange mix between poor old and “new luxury”. Service is usually nice and helpful. Breakfast… well fresh orange juice (although delicious) doesn’t make 5* breakfast itself… :( The menu didn’t change for years and it’s just poor. Scrambled eggs- uneatable. If at least the crossaints were fresh and crunchy I would survive with no complains, but they are NOT :(

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTLugano, Direttore at Grand Hotel Eden, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear KA_and_MA,
First of all thank you for being a loyal guest and for returning to the Grand Hotel Eden. This is our best reward!

As we take our guests’ comments at heart, we are very pleased to read your positive ones like room comfort and service helpfulness but also the negative ones like general décor and breakfast menu selection.

Be assured that we will make a good use of your recommendations which have made us already working on our breakfast presentation and menu selection.

Myself with my team are looking forward to welcoming you back again next time here at the Grand Hotel Eden.

Yours sincerely,
Massimiliano Trombetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Had a Lago Lugano view and what lovely sight to wake up to every morning. The hotel was busy with a melting pot of guests on both business and pleasure.

I enjoyed the on lake restaurant and bar and the service was very good and everyone was very eager to assist, even if English language was limited but it is always customary to try and learn a little of the language for tourists. Many guests from other hotels would come and enjoy the bar and restaurant as it is very unique.

The reception staff are very good and the décor of the hotel is old world however a modern hotel would not be in keeping with the rest of Lugano.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTLugano, Direttore at Grand Hotel Eden, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Eden and for your positive comments shared on Tripadvisor.

I am glad you could experience the friendliness of our staff and enjoy the beautiful views from your room and the unique position and personalized service of our restaurant and bar.

Together with my team, I hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back at the Grand Hotel Eden.

Yours sincerely,
Massimiliano Trombetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The hotel is placed in a ghost town. There are lots of buildings, but no people. As a family of five we did not enjoy our experience. To get to our room we had to take a pathway underneath the hotel, take two elevators to get to our rooms. The hotel is poorly decorated. The bathrooms were large but the shower was tiny and the water would come out from under the glass. I would not stay there again or recommend it. They only good thing was the view.

Room Tip: On the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTLugano, Direttore at Grand Hotel Eden, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Eden and for your personal review.

I read your observations and I am very sorry that your overall experience in our hotel didn’t meet your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

Perhaps Lugano-Paradiso (where the hotel is located) is not busy as you probably expected but I am sure that you have enjoyed the possibility to walk around the city or along the lake without worry about security or safety measures for yourself and your family.

With the hope to have another opportunity to welcome you the Grand Hotel Eden, I remain,

Your Sincerely
Massimiliano Trombetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Grand Hotel Eden for 4 nights with our 8 monrh old daughter and honestly expected to be shunned for bring a.baby to the hotel. On our arrival they had a shuttle bus for us (need to request it) and check-in was fast. All the staff were very happy to see our daughter, no aggression about her at all. They were actually happy to see her everyday. The service to the rooms was excellent, nothing nicer than brakfast on the balcony with a view ofthe lake at no extra cost. The restaurant had a wonderful service with delicious and perfectly cooked food. All in all, it was a great experience and we will be returning to the hotel next time we are in Lugano.

Thr only thing that was a problem was the baby bed they offered...it was a travel bed and had a support in the middle. This meant that our daughter kept rolling into the corners and would cry because she couldn't get out and would only sleep im the main bed which thankfully is big enough for all 3 with rolling space and elbow room for everyone.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTLugano, Direttore at Grand Hotel Eden, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear “kitty085”,
Thank you for your kind review about your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Eden.
I am delighted to read that you appreciated the warm welcome and kind attention given to your baby daughter. It is furthermore pleasant to read that you enjoyed the nice breakfast served in your room as well as the dining experience at our Restaurant Oasis. I personally thank you for the nice comments and review title!

On the other hand, I am very sorry to notice that the baby bed offered was not comfortable, but since I have read your comments, I have decided to replace any uncomfortable baby cot with new ones. Please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

I am likewise anxious to have another opportunity to show you that your useful advice have not been expressed for nothing and therefore I look forward to your next visit in Lugano.

Best regards,

Massimiliano Trombetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Eden

Address: Riva Paradiso 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Eden 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Eden lies on the water front of Lugano Paradiso one of the sunniest spots in the area of Canton Ticino. Modern and charming, the spacious bedrooms provide all the comforts needed to make our guests' stay an unforgettable and relaxing experience.An ideal place for meetings and business trips alike, the Convention Centre is equipped with the latest communication and conference technology, including video conferencing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Grand Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.