We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eden in Lugano - Great Hotel Beautiful City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Eden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Eden to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Eden
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riva Paradiso 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Antioch, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Eden in Lugano - Great Hotel Beautiful City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I recently stayed at the Eden in Lugano, Switzerland (just north of the Italian border). Overall the hotel was excellent and the surrounding area is incredibly beautiful.
The Eden staff was incredible during my 2+ week stay - they are very helpful, friendly and accommodating and knew me on a personal level. The hotel offers an incredible lake view and ability to see the sunrise and/or lake from most any room. The restaurant is incredible from breakfast to dinner with a great selection and gourmet food. While a bit pricey, the food is THE best hotel food I have ever had with hundreds of different hotels from over 15 countries as a sample size. The gym is not great, but adequate with a nice running path around the lake. The walk is a bit longer than a few hotels but still fairly short to the downtown area. Housekeeping is very prompt, room fridge and other amenities were very nice. Great place to stay for business or personal travel – I highly recommend the Eden.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTLugano, Manager at Grand Hotel Eden, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Eden.
I was delighted to read about your experience at our hotel and especially the positive comments regarding our great selection of gourmet food in our restaurant Oasis.
I am glad you could experience the friendliness of our staff and enjoy the beautiful views from your room which offers, as you mentioned, “an incredible lake view”.
Together with my team, I look forward to your return to stay with us in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Trombetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    80
    21
    19
    8
See reviews for
29
59
10
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Though Lugano has almost more hotels than inhabitants, the Grand Hotel Eden is probably still the best one - as long one is in the wing directly on the lake (as the other wing faces the noisy street). It is rumoured though it will be converted to Apartments (like so many hotels these days). So it needs careful checking beforehand.

Room Tip: Demand a room facing the lake straigght on (note sideways)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOWLugano, Manager at Grand Hotel Eden, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear SydneyPierrot,
Thank you for your positive comments!
I noticed that is not the first time that you stayed in our property and I am very pleased to read that you describe the Grand Hotel Eden as “probably still the best Hotel in Lugano”!
I look forward to your return to stay with us in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Trombetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We had a room with a great view of the lake. The room itself was very comfortable and clean, but were dissappointed there is no free WiFi provided! Breakfast in this hotel is served in a great room with floor to ceiling glass windows facing the lake, absolutely beautiful!. Breakfast was also great, large selection of fresh produce.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOWLugano, Manager at Grand Hotel Eden, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear 3Slaters,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your room, it’s comfort and cleanness and also our breakfast buffet.

I look forward to your return to stay with us in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Trombetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This hotel is ideal for business meetings. Unfortunately there is no free WiFi. The wired in The room is of very bad quality.
Food and view are splendid though

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOWLugano, General Manager at Grand Hotel Eden, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear Mr. Rodolfo,

Thank you very much for your comments through Trip Advisor. Kindly note that we do not offer free wi-fi but complimentary wired access in the rooms. We are sorry to hear that you had difficulties to access, as we did not notice any failure in the connection system and we are sorry to have heard that you had problems only after you left the hotel. We hoped that you would have informed us while you were staying at the hotel so that we could have helped you.

Apart the inconvenience with internet we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed the food and our view on the lake.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to our property.

Sincerely Yours,

Nicolaas Wiemeijer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, California
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is Switzerland? We were on a tour of Italy and Switzerland and were delighted to discover Lugano, Switzerland because it was so Italian! :-) The hotel is in 2 parts but flowed well. Our room was nice/average. Nothing special but no complaints. They are designed cleverly so most rooms have a view out of the little triangle shaped balcony.
The bartender was rather stuffy but everyone else was terrific. The deck that serves as a restaurant/bar and sun patio is large and convenient (THE place to go on a warm evening!). We took some time off from touring to enjoy the deck one afternoon. The food is so-so there, but the breakfast buffet and dining room was EXCELLENT. We also rode up the funicular for dinner (cheaper to take it then) on top of the mountain to get away from the heat - lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We had to change room because I booked over the company travel tool where it was not possible to book double room - receptionist did changes and showed us the room. Despite my request to get a king size bed he booked us a twin bed. After complaining he changed to king bed. The lugage boy brought us the new keys in an envelop, on the envelop we saw the new rate... +50%!!! The rooms are very old and not like the rooms shown on the booking portal I used. After discussions with a more competent receptionist we could change to a ok furnished room and got a reasonable rate. Bar chairs were worn out but breakfast was good.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOWLugano, General Manager at Grand Hotel Eden, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

We read your comments on Trip Advisor and we are sorry to hear that your company was unable to book a double room instead of the single room, as both categories were available in the system and bookable. We apologize if our receptionist seemed rude, we did not want to make you feel uncomfortable. However we understand that Mrs. Stefania then took over the situation and showed you another room with a king size bed and granted you the price for the single room booked instead of the double occupancy price.

We were surprised reading your comment about the fact that the picture of the room you intended to book (Superior double room, the one that by the end you were given by Stefania) did not match to the room originally booked by your travel agency (Deluxe Single room). We are conscious that the two pictures are different because both categories are different to each other.

Certainly we will take in consideration your comments which will help us to improve our service and hope you still consider us as an option next time you plan to visit Lugano. Please feel free to contact us next time you wish to book so we can explain the different categories available and the prices applied according to the single or double occupancy.

We look much forward to welcoming you back soon to our hotel.

With our best regards,

Nicolaas Wiemeijer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Lucerne Area
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

This supposedly 5 Star Hotel is in a nice location but provides an overall package which falls short of 5 Stars.

There was a lack of attention to detail which unneccesarily caused us annoyance and disappoinment. We paid 500 CHF per night for a Junior Suite but we had to transfer to another room due to an infestation of ants. To be fair, the hotel did ugrade us to a better suite free of charge following our complaint but our holiday was already spoiled - it was not nice for our 5 year old son to find the ants and be frightened by the experience. I think the ants had been there for some time from the number of "dead bodies" we found after a detailed inspection of every part of the room following the initial discovery

Other problems included free drinks vouchers which were supposed to be redeemable at the bar. Unfortunately the bar was always deserted with no staff there either (during the early evening - 7:00 pm) - there were no notices either to inform us how to find the staff. After 10 minutes (on 2 separate evenings) we just gave up and went to another hotel down the street.

The Eden also gave us 20 CHF worth of petrol vouchers which we had to sign before receiving them. Unfortunately they could not be used at the AGIP petrol station (it was an AGIP promotion) as they had already expired 9 months before our arrival at the hotel. When we saw the date stamps on the vouchers we had checked with the hotel that they were still valid - they said they were but they were not accepted by AGIP! The hotel discounted our bill by 20 CHF but it was the principal of being misled rather than the money which annoyed us.

The Restaurant Service is very good as it should be considering the really high prices.

Valet Car Parking is excellent and the staff are generally helpful and nice.

Location is excellent right by the lake.

However, we were disappointed with the overall standard of the hotel and would only rate it as 3 stars not the official classification of 5 stars. The hotel did not offer good value for money - you don't get the standard that you pay for.

5 stars should mean luxury, attention to detail and no problems for the clients to discover for themselves.

Six years ago the hotel was a very nice genuine 5 star property but standards have now dropped significantly so we will not be staying there again.

I am unable to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOWLugano, General Manager at Grand Hotel Eden, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Dear Sir,

Following your message regarding your stay the last week end at our hotel we appreciate your comments which for sure we will take in consideration as they will help us to improve our services.

We deeply regret to read your comments on your room which has taken us by surprise as we are more than anything aware of these kind of unwelcome occurrences and our housekeeper is very much aware of this aspect of cleanlier.

During summer we serve at our terrace instead than inside, as the weather in nice. There should have bee an information sign addressing our guests to the terrace, and again, please apologize if the sign was not visible.

Concerning the vouchers of petrol, we have checked with the petrol station why they did not accept them, as the date that was stamped on them was the date of issue and not the expiry date. Kindly note that this is a promotion from the hotel and not from Agip. This might have been a misunderstanding from the lady that served you at Agip as the owner confirmed to us that they do accept them.

We hope you can give us a second chance to revert all this situation, please let me know if you are planning to make another trip to Lugano so we can welcome you again and trust me, we will do our best to make you change mind!

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to our property,

Kindest regards

Nicolaas Wiemeijer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Eden

Address: Riva Paradiso 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Eden 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Eden lies on the water front of Lugano Paradiso one of the sunniest spots in the area of Canton Ticino. Modern and charming, the spacious bedrooms provide all the comforts needed to make our guests' stay an unforgettable and relaxing experience.An ideal place for meetings and business trips alike, the Convention Centre is equipped with the latest communication and conference technology, including video conferencing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.