We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel International au Lac

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel International au Lac to your Saves list
Hotel International au Lac
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nassa 68 | Piazza Luini, Lugano 6901, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
up to 15% off, click HERE
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bliss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The hotel takes you back to an era of European travellers - from the initial welcome to the helpful staff at dinner, breakfast and in the bar, comfortable beds and a lovely pool in the terraced gardens. Only minutes from the lake, in all a beautiful stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    106
    32
    6
    3
See reviews for
45
101
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This Hotel makes you feel the best moments of the past but in a very clean and modern comfort and popped with a very great attention and hospitality. The location next to the lake and the superb hidden garden with a very nice pool is a gem among real traditional Hotels. One just need to relax in the readingroom with a charming bar or to visit the small museum with the history of the Hotel to feel, that this house has a very real tradition and is not one of the many Hotels pretending to have a history but in reality is just artificial. We also very appreciated the Buffet-Breakfast, great value overall!

Room Tip: we booked an interior room for maximum silence but were upgraded to a lakeview room slightly hidden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Well located, about a ten-minute lake-side walk from the city centre, this was ideal for our one-night visit. Arriving on a hot late-afternoon, we were able to cool off in the delightful swimming pool within minutes of arrival. As the dining room doesn't have any view, we opted to stroll and eat elsewhere (more expensively!), and for a bit of people-watching; but the breakfast offered a good buffet. What I really enjoyed was the sense of history, as I think the hotel has been owned by the same family since it opened in the early 1900s. There is a room full of artefacts (old phones, original china, pieces of furniture, and many photos, showing its location (without being surrounded by the shops of today), previous owners and staff, room lay-out and furniture, and its turn of the last century feel. This is a hotel that should never have too much modernisation imposed on it - it's simply a classic!

Room Tip: Lakeside view rooms are probably more expensive, but if you want easy convenient use of the pool, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

An old building, in the center of Lugano, showing its age.....
Very convenient underground parking.
Very helpful and polite staff.
Breakfast was good, but could be improved.
According to a friend, living in Lugano, not the best choise!

Room Tip: There are 3 different priced rooms - try to avpoid the 'cheap'
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Great location for a reasonable price.

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful.

The room are very basic, however do try to get a room over looking the lake as makes up with the lack of luxury in the room. There is a nice garden space behind the hotel for enjoying the sun.

Breakfast is a huge buffet and great value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I was fortunate to have this hotel recommended by a friend who had travelled to Lugano before.
You can't beat the location and reasonable price. Rooms are fairly sparse but I wasn't there looking to lounge in my room.
They have a restaurant and bar inside, and it's an easy walk from the Funicolare.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The hotel Is conveniently located on strip next to high end shopping districts with many room wart views, but a small hike to best restaurants. Typical European flair breakfast with good coffee. Our room was quite small so make sure you get all info on size. Staff very nice and pleasant compared to some of the restaurants here; Americans are fourth class citizens: 1) Swiss or Italian, 3) German, 4) USA

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.3 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.7 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#13 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#6 of 43 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.8 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#3 of 43 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel International au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel International au Lac

Address: Via Nassa 68 | Piazza Luini, Lugano 6901, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel International au Lac 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime location in the old-town quarter and shopping district of the city centre and on the lake-promenade.Historical Downtown Hotel with extended facilities such as private garage parking, lobby-bar, garden with swimming-pool and WiFi Internet. A variety of restaurants, pizzerias and typical bars are located close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Venere, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel International au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Au Lac Lugano
International Au Lac Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel International au Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.