We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel on the lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel International au Lac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel International au Lac to your Saves list
Hotel International au Lac
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nassa 68 | Piazza Luini, Lugano 6901, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Lugano
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel on the lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I love the Hotel International au Lac. I have stayed in many 5 star hotels but I would rate this 3 star over many of them. It really feels like a home from home. The staff are incredibly welcoming and friendly, the rooms are very comfortable, the location is amazing and the terrace and garden in the back by the pool are magical. After a very stressful week I ended up just lounging in the garden over looking the lake - it was perfect. This was not my first time at the hotel and most definitely not my last - I intend to go back at least a couple more times this year if I can.

Room Tip: If you are a single traveler go for a single room at the front as some of the double rooms are at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    91
    29
    6
    3
See reviews for
37
84
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed here three nights and the staff from the front desk to room service is excellent. Loved Marchello the bartender entertaining us each night. We already miss his infectious laugh. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the hotel itself is full of old world charm. Reminds us of the hotel del Coronado in San Diego . The only downside would be that the standard rooms are not updated and very small. But we didn't spend much time in our room so it was fine. Location was close to everything we wanted to do and a magnificent view of the lake. Construction of a casino next door was a little inconvenient and noisy and we were never notified of this before our trip. The e-mail communication while planning our trip was timely and language was not a barrier. Dominico at the front desk is extremely helpful for anything we needed. Overall a great price and location.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

This is our 50th wedding Anniversary and we were charmed to stay in an up to date classical hotel from an era past. Our room overlooked an old church with bells just feet away. We awoke from our nap being serenaded by the old bells. :)
The dining room is manned by the best old world service. The kitchen produces a wonderful six course dinner for a price that can not be beat. The clientele is an even mix from young to ... us. The location is perfectly sited at the beginning of the shopping walk. Just passed the hanging salami, is the funicular straight up (or down from) to the rail station. (1.20 Fr). We easily walked to the boat dock for a two hour lunch tour/ride of Lake Lugano.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights in April, the hotel was quaint, well decorated and the staff was excellent. I loved how we had the same staff in at reception, housekeeping and servers every day. The breakfast buffet was delicious, lots of variety, the pool area was nice and warm in the sun.
This hotel is centered perfectly around all the shops and on the weekends the little booths, steps away from a main bus route, close to the Casino and right at the water.
Our room only had a shower and no tub, but we knew this is a norm in Europe. The bathroom was beautiful... all the stone/ tile work is amazing in Europe and Switzerland. This hotel also had a lot of history and a little library/ museum. We had laundry done here and it came back very quickly.
Also from this hotel it is a short train ride or about 80 CHF to the Fox Town Outlet mall and a short train ride from an attraction of Splash and Spa which was excellent (the Spa side amazing).
I have no complaint about the hotel... just all tourists need to remember, stores close at 6pm during the week, early on Sat and are usually close on Sunday, as well as we found few places to eat after 830- 9pm. Though the hotel recommended a place called Alice's... on the water front and it was excellent. The Sea Bass was indescribable.

Room Tip: If a tub is necessary, let them now on reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Have just returned from an Easter break based at the International au Lac.

Superb hotel located just off the lake. Room had a uninterupted view of the lake, superb pleasant staff from check-in through to check-out.

No need for a car as the hotel is only 8 minutes walk from the main train staion and about the same distance from the lake steamers

Room Tip: pay the extra for a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

From the time we arrived for our 3 night stay until we departed everything was first class.
We had a suite at the back of the hotel (no view there of course but right next to the swimming pool and courtyard) and having stayed in much more expensive hotels all over the world, this was one of the best rooms we have ever had, there were even two separate bathrooms and the room was just huge. The free wifi worked perfectly, the included breakfast was great, the bar was cosy and comfortable, the parking was just perfect (entry right by the check-in area), but the real bonus was the location it could not be better, right in the centre of the town in the very best area of Lugano.
My wife and I are just so glad that some of the more so called "grand" hotels were booked out for a medical conference as we would not have booked here, but would never stay anywhere else when we return to Lugano as this beautiful old hotel has a fantastic warmth, charm and style. We would like to thank all the staff once again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Location is not counted in Lugano since its a tiny town, yet you need a hotel with a lake view which was the case for International au lac, stunning views for the rooms facing the frontage.
I loved the historic style of the hotel and how its maintaining the feel of old and very clean. Beautiful bar on the first floor with a nice small french-balcony directly facing the lake. An amazing tiny-museum like room on the first floor having all the hotel's belongings since the beginning of the 20th century, displayed in an excellent way.
Breakfast hall is beautiful and food is good. Very nice swimming pool area if you go in summer with nice wooden seatings.
Rooms need to be renovated somehow while keeping the old style.

Room Tip: Try to check-in for front-side rooms with balconies and more towards the west side of the hotel, to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel International au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel International au Lac

Address: Via Nassa 68 | Piazza Luini, Lugano 6901, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel International au Lac 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime location in the old-town quarter and shopping district of the city centre and on the lake-promenade.Historical Downtown Hotel with extended facilities such as private garage parking, garden with swimming-pool and WiFi Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel International au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Au Lac Lugano
International Au Lac Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel International au Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.