We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel International au Lac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel International au Lac to your Saves list
Hotel International au Lac
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nassa 68 | Piazza Luini, Lugano 6901, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
up to 15% off, click HERE
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newport, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Classic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

This is our 50th wedding Anniversary and we were charmed to stay in an up to date classical hotel from an era past. Our room overlooked an old church with bells just feet away. We awoke from our nap being serenaded by the old bells. :)
The dining room is manned by the best old world service. The kitchen produces a wonderful six course dinner for a price that can not be beat. The clientele is an even mix from young to ... us. The location is perfectly sited at the beginning of the shopping walk. Just passed the hanging salami, is the funicular straight up (or down from) to the rail station. (1.20 Fr). We easily walked to the boat dock for a two hour lunch tour/ride of Lake Lugano.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    92
    29
    6
    3
See reviews for
38
84
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thompson, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights in April, the hotel was quaint, well decorated and the staff was excellent. I loved how we had the same staff in at reception, housekeeping and servers every day. The breakfast buffet was delicious, lots of variety, the pool area was nice and warm in the sun.
This hotel is centered perfectly around all the shops and on the weekends the little booths, steps away from a main bus route, close to the Casino and right at the water.
Our room only had a shower and no tub, but we knew this is a norm in Europe. The bathroom was beautiful... all the stone/ tile work is amazing in Europe and Switzerland. This hotel also had a lot of history and a little library/ museum. We had laundry done here and it came back very quickly.
Also from this hotel it is a short train ride or about 80 CHF to the Fox Town Outlet mall and a short train ride from an attraction of Splash and Spa which was excellent (the Spa side amazing).
I have no complaint about the hotel... just all tourists need to remember, stores close at 6pm during the week, early on Sat and are usually close on Sunday, as well as we found few places to eat after 830- 9pm. Though the hotel recommended a place called Alice's... on the water front and it was excellent. The Sea Bass was indescribable.

Room Tip: If a tub is necessary, let them now on reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Have just returned from an Easter break based at the International au Lac.

Superb hotel located just off the lake. Room had a uninterupted view of the lake, superb pleasant staff from check-in through to check-out.

No need for a car as the hotel is only 8 minutes walk from the main train staion and about the same distance from the lake steamers

Room Tip: pay the extra for a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

From the time we arrived for our 3 night stay until we departed everything was first class.
We had a suite at the back of the hotel (no view there of course but right next to the swimming pool and courtyard) and having stayed in much more expensive hotels all over the world, this was one of the best rooms we have ever had, there were even two separate bathrooms and the room was just huge. The free wifi worked perfectly, the included breakfast was great, the bar was cosy and comfortable, the parking was just perfect (entry right by the check-in area), but the real bonus was the location it could not be better, right in the centre of the town in the very best area of Lugano.
My wife and I are just so glad that some of the more so called "grand" hotels were booked out for a medical conference as we would not have booked here, but would never stay anywhere else when we return to Lugano as this beautiful old hotel has a fantastic warmth, charm and style. We would like to thank all the staff once again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Location is not counted in Lugano since its a tiny town, yet you need a hotel with a lake view which was the case for International au lac, stunning views for the rooms facing the frontage.
I loved the historic style of the hotel and how its maintaining the feel of old and very clean. Beautiful bar on the first floor with a nice small french-balcony directly facing the lake. An amazing tiny-museum like room on the first floor having all the hotel's belongings since the beginning of the 20th century, displayed in an excellent way.
Breakfast hall is beautiful and food is good. Very nice swimming pool area if you go in summer with nice wooden seatings.
Rooms need to be renovated somehow while keeping the old style.

Room Tip: Try to check-in for front-side rooms with balconies and more towards the west side of the hotel, to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed here one night and the hotel was fine for my purposes. The staff were all very helpful and friendly, the breakfast was plentiful and the room was clean. The only reason I would try somewhere else next time is that the room had just one socket and you had to go to the bar for wifi. Not a major inconvenience in itself and I suspect that many patrons of this hotel like it for the location and the rather traditional upmarket style bordering on old-fashioned. So, not to my taste, but many people will like this hotel for its location, ambience and service.

Room Tip: Although I did not ask for a room with a view I got one on the side where you could just see the lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Yes, it could do with some updating as previous reviewers have mentioned, but it was still a most comfortable experience spending a couple of nights here. It has real character and atmosphere which is preferable to some of the plastic modernised hotels. Breakfast was amazing, and dinner was also first class. The outside areas and swimming pool (which unfortunately we didn't use because of a thunderstorm!) were also a bonus. Fantastic location, great staff, and great atmosphere were the highlights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel International au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel International au Lac

Address: Via Nassa 68 | Piazza Luini, Lugano 6901, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel International au Lac 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime location in the old-town quarter and shopping district of the city centre and on the lake-promenade.Historical Downtown Hotel with extended facilities such as private garage parking, lobby-bar, garden with swimming-pool and WiFi Internet. A variety of restaurants, pizzerias and typical bars are located close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel International au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Au Lac Lugano
International Au Lac Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel International au Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.