We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good all round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel International au Lac

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel International au Lac to your Saves list
Hotel International au Lac
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nassa 68 | Piazza Luini, Lugano 6901, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos AIres
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The best:
The location, the hotel is facing the lake, and very close to city center and shops, there is a supermarket very very close.
Great staff and very helfull.
The breakfast was superb, and with plenty of choices. If you eat like a Viking you won't be disappointed.
The restaurant is a little expensive I guess, but the food is very good but not plenty if you are hungry like a bear find a cheaper option.
Has a nice swimming pool and an excellent terrace.
The room is ok, very clean, kind of small though but you are not going to stay there for long anyway.
The building is very good looks ancient.

Its kind of expensive I guess, but hey its Switzerland!. The hotel won't let you down anyway.
Positive balance no doubt about it

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaruMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lier, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

No doubt there are hotels in Lugano with more comfort but the reason why we come each time to this hotel is because the location is excellent, the staff is very friendly and there is both a very familiar and professional athmosphere in this hotel. Breakfast offers a choice of fresh products. The cozy garden with it's swimming pool and the relaxing terrace are typical for International au Lac. If you love Lugano, you will probably love this hotel. For us, Lugano is one of our favorite destinations and arriving in this hotel is somewhat like coming home.

Room Tip: Choose a room with view at the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven082013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

HOTEL IS Just a stones throw from the lake . you walk out the hotel from reception , u have the lake in front of u. on the left you have the pedestrian precinct along to the piazza and the all the quaint shops and restaurants, hotel is so beautiful inside, very old fashioned , bets room are on the 5th fllor looking over the courtyard, quiet, the front off the hotel is rather noisy if u have a room overlooking the lake , more light , more expensive as well , buffet breakfast is fantastic.

Room Tip: have the rooms on the 4th/ 5th floor looking over the courtyard plus the outside swimming pool, also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brianc245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I think that most of this hotels target customer base went down with the titanic and the rest survived and have been staying here ever since. The building and its interior have not changed on over a hundred years. Whilst this obviously appeals to to over 70s ( average age of guest. ) it does however have a charm about it and if your room has a lake view you'll be impressed as we were. The location is excellent & most of the staff very helpful & friendly. Shower facilities useful for anyone 4 foot tall or shorter. Don't bother with the hotels restaurant as every thing we eat out in Lugano was cheaper better and served with a smile. Not the best hotel but we have stayed in worse ( hostels mainly )

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Somethingel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-on-Thames, England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed here in 2005 and we enjoyed our second stay in 2013 even more. Such friendly staff, elegant public rooms and the hotel has been in the same family since 1905 which is clearly evident by the many personal touches, paintings on the walls and fascinating museum on the first floor of the hotel in the last 108 years. Lovely outdoor pool and many sunloungers in a pretty secluded garden. Breakfast offers a large choice and lunch and dinner are available too. Excellent location by the lake, a few minutes stroll to the town square and where the boats leave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pitcairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We liked staying at the hotel and Lugano. Very impressed with location, cleanliness, facilities and breakfast at hotel. Would go there again.
We did not enjoy the first night at the hotel as overall dinners old-fashioned (although well-cooked and presented well). We advised the Manager through our Holiday Rep (Inghams) and the Manager did everything he could to help us enjoy the whole week.
So definitely a good hotel to go to as long as you're aware that (in our view) the dinners are good - but just not to our taste.

Room Tip: We got a nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benny9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is wonderful in all respects. The staff are very professional. We especially loved Vanesa at the front desk. The room we had was very large and newly renovated. There was a small fridge in our room which came in very handy. The bathrooms are very roomy with very nice rain shower, large sink area, hairdryer, toiletries. The towels seem not to have been updated. The hotel is located on the end of a main pedestrian walkway, overlooking the main promenade and water. The hotel offers free wifi in the bar area which worked very well. The pool and terrace area was very nice. We were able to store our rented bikes in the parking garage for free which was very helpful to us. We stayed here in between other European cities, and it was a wonderful place to unwind and recharge. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. It is a 7 minute walk from the train station!

Room Tip: Ask for room #104. It is a large room compared to others, fully renovated winter 2013.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jill_w_marshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.3 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#6 of 44 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#14 of 44 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#3 of 44 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.8 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel International au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel International au Lac

Address: Via Nassa 68 | Piazza Luini, Lugano 6901, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel International au Lac 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime location in the old-town quarter and shopping district of the city centre and on the lake-promenade.Historical Downtown Hotel with extended facilities such as private garage parking, lobby-bar, garden with swimming-pool and WiFi Internet. A variety of restaurants, pizzerias and typical bars are located close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel International au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Au Lac Lugano
International Au Lac Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing