We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful classic hotel with good lake views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel International au Lac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel International au Lac to your Saves list
Hotel International au Lac
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nassa 68 | Piazza Luini, Lugano 6901, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
up to 15% off, click HERE
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Herefordshire England
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful classic hotel with good lake views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I spent 9 nights in this wonderful old hotel-we upgraded to a front room with lake views- we were on the 4th floor with 2 balconies and the views were stunning. The hotel is very elegant with very clean and comfortable furnishings, a lovely bar on the first floor- and free Internet access-always a bonus! The breakfasts were good with lots of choice and the waiters were very attentive at all times. The only issues were an old air con in the bedroom which was not very effective and the daily menus in the lifts which only appeared in Italian-not very helpful to see at a glance what was on offer. Very convenient for walking to both the the funicular for the railway station and also into the old centre of town for all the restaurants and bars. A good central position for all the attractions and trips- we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and upgrade for a front lake view room towards the 3rd or 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    93
    29
    6
    3
See reviews for
39
84
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel for it's great location and reasonable rates. The breakfast is fantastic and the bar is very nice for either inside or a balcony drink with free wi/fi at the bar. I would return to this hotel again when in Lugano.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This very old hotel is not really on the lake, it is a full block back and separated from the water by a busy and rather noisy road (which quietened right down come sleep time, thank heavens) and by a recycling 'depot'. Our room, 337, did have a lake view, but as the hotel is partly built out on the lake side, I'd suggest you take care in your room choice if the view matters to you. Access to the town centre is good, however.

The room seems to have been renovated 20-30 years ago and was very short of power points for recharging. It had a large and fairly comfortable bed and the bedside lights were good for reading. The air circulation was eccentric - it took over 20 minutes to kick in and in the meantime showed no sign of having been turned on.

The bathroom was all 'wake-you-up' black and white spots and the curtained shower in the bath was only loosely attached and placed way too low on the wall (I am not tall either).

Wifi was strong and free in the bar/lobby area but there was a fee for wifi in your room. Breakfast was OK.

There was one thing we found oddly disturbing, although I'm sure it was well intentioned. While we were all out to dinner, our rooms had been entered and survey forms left on our beds. And napkins saying "Good night / Buona Notte" on one edge (and "Good Morning / Buongiorno" on the other edge) had been placed on the floor next to the beds. It felt a bit creepy, don't know why.

A pleasant stay but, like so much of Switzerland, not very good value. Could use some investment to keep competitive.

Room Tip: Watch out for room location if you expect an actual lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We were so impressed with this hotel on our first visit that when we decided to go back to Lugano
we went back there. The hotel is well placed next to the lake and close to shops. Nothing has changed the staff are exceedingly helpful. The rooms are spacious and kept beautifully clean. We went half board so ate in the restaurant every evening the meals were excellent and if you did not like the main course or dessert you were offered a choice. The restaurant staff went out of their way to be helpful. The views from our room were stunning. We will definetly go back to this hotel when we holiday again at Lugano.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

A modern hotel with good facilities and lovely bathroom! Nice size room. Reasonably friendly staff. Internet surfers note that free wi fi is available but has very poor coverage - it did not work in our room. It is some distance from the station (if thats important to you) - we took a taxi but you could use the furnicular and then a bus/walk.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Well situated hotel by the lake with charming garden and pool. I believe the hotel has been run by the same family for many years. Courteous staff and well appointed rooms Lovely traditional bar with an impressive range of cocktails and free wifi. Small charge for wifi in your room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were very much impressed with Hotel International au Lac in Lugano. Its location in the city is perfect, just across the street from a pedestrian walk along the shore of beautiful lake Lugano, and close to a variety of shopping areas and restaurants.

We arrived early afternoon, and were greeted enthusiastically with a smile and a welcome. The lobby was very clean and impressive with its art items, e.g., old style furniture, sculptures and paintings. While registering, we were given various information about the hours of breakfast (included), the cost of in-room wi-fi (not expensive), as well as the location of shopping areas in the city. We were then given our key and led to the elevators.

Our room was absolutely spotless, and superbly and tastefully old-style decorated with wall sconces, paintings, beautiful lamps, two desks, two very relaxing accent chairs and a large screen TV. The small balcony gave us a very nice view of lake Lugano. The modern bathroom was immaculate with all the necessary items, nothing missing. And when we returned from dinner at around 9 PM, our beds were turned over, something you don't see very often these days. The two large beds were indeed very comfortable with duvet covers - like sleeping on a cloud.

The owner of this very large hotel came to our room to ensure that we were satisfied with the service and the room. How's that for caring?

As the dinner menu was of no interest to us, and because we usually prefer to eat with the locals, we decided to go to one of the many nearby restaurants. Breakfast (included) was the normal buffet fare; it was plentiful and the food was very well prepared.

If ever we go back to Lugano, without hesitation this is were we will stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel International au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel International au Lac

Address: Via Nassa 68 | Piazza Luini, Lugano 6901, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel International au Lac 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime location in the old-town quarter and shopping district of the city centre and on the lake-promenade.Historical Downtown Hotel with extended facilities such as private garage parking, lobby-bar, garden with swimming-pool and WiFi Internet. A variety of restaurants, pizzerias and typical bars are located close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel International au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Au Lac Lugano
International Au Lac Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel International au Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.