We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay for a budget stay in Lugano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atlantico

Hotel Atlantico
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Atlantico to your Saves list
Hotel Atlantico
Via Concordia 12, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Lugano B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay for a budget stay in Lugano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I stayed in Hotel Atlantico from 25 to 29 June 2014. As many of the reviews have pointed out, the owner Elisabetha and her staff were very friendly and helpful, and they certainly made the stay a very pleasant one. I am thoroughly impressed at how prompt they are in attending to me and I can see that they treat every guest with the utmost respect care.

The rooms are small (typical of many hotels in Switzerland and Europe) but decent, and they have the necessary facilities - free wi fi, hair dryer etc. I stayed in a room with no air conditioning, but this was not a problem as the cooling climate even in summer time compensated for that.

Journeying to the city centre and train station from the hotel is fairly easy. A short 3 to 5 min walk out of the hotel and you will be able to see the beautiful lake lugano. If you want, you can take a stroll to the city centre while enjoying the awesome scenery. I will certainly recommend this hotel should you want a budget stay in Lugano.

Room Tip: As the hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood, there is no need to worry about noise level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
9
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Atlantico for 2 nights in late September of this year. The hotel is located in a more residential area of Lugano, away from the hub bub of the old city center, and is thus much quieter. But is a nice walk or easily accessible from the #2 or #3 bus. It is a fairly standard 2 star hotel for Switzerland, what makes it stand out is the wonderful hostess/manager, Elisabetha. We were struggling to find information on the SBB bus from Lugano to Mennagio, Italy, or for the Italian bus for the same trip. SBB and the tourist information center had given us contradictory and inaccurate information. Elisabetha spent a considerable amount of time on the phone, calling a number of people to find us accurate information. She was just wonderful! She also gave us a great recommendation for dinner, at a quiet out-of-the-way restaurant which was both delicious and reasonably priced. The breakfast at this hotel was a cut above the usual 2-star hotel breakfasts with meats, cheeses, cook-them-yourself eggs for boiling as well as the usual breads cereals and jams, and a cappuccino machine. All in all, our stay at the Hotel Atlantico was very good and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel takes basic to a new level more hostel than hotel/ Looked good in the pictures but was not comfortable- the beds are extremely hard, the bedding was thin and inadequate ; there was no room darkening drapes or blinds, no shower, hairdryer, recyled paper toilet rolls. Breakfast adequate only. If it had been priced right it would have provided very basic accomodation but it was very expensive for what we got.Wrote to them afterwards but received no reply.
Advice- check out the rooms before you commit.

G.P . Canda

Room Tip: check the rooms out before you commit
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I had the chance to stay at Hotel Atlantico for some nights, in June. I know Lugano and its hotels pretty well, yet I found this place to be a very nice surprise.
The owners are kind and polite, the rooms are clean and well-equipped. The breakfast with home-made jams and fresh bread/croissants is simply remarkable.
All my requests (having a room in front of the Monte Bré, as well as an hair-drier) were easily met and I am ready to suggest this hotel to everyone wants a quiet, honest, clean and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel was very clean and tidy, secure, comfortable beds, relatively central, uncluttered, straightforward, parking, buffet breakfast was average continental style. A few local restaurants and bars close by. The hotel is a 2 star and cannot be compared to 5 star standards but compared to many hotels I've stayed across the world I have no complaints with the Atlantico.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rzeszow, Poland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

stayed here just 2 nights on business - I suppose all hotels here are very expensive - can't imagine in the 'season'. room was very basic, nice to have the balcony tho it didn't look onto anything, can't see the lake from the hotel, no fridge or hairdryer (and I knew this from another review so brought my own but it still wouldn't fit in the strange outlet.
breakfast also average, nothing 'hot' but staff VERY kind. the cold drink vending machine on the honor system is a cute touch. note no restaurant either...and note that many places don't serve food till 6 pm..you can use euros BTW no need for SW francs...internet fine

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biel, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The hotel is very simple, but clean and in a quiet area of lugano. Parking is availabe and the berakfast is included too. A nice walk brings you to the center of Lugano.
The staff is excellent and very friendly and has very good tips for sightseeing and places to eat. They speak several languages too and are very helpful. Perfect B&B!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantico

Address: Via Concordia 12, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atlantico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.