We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sit outside in the middle of the stairs in Lugano” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trani

Trani
Via Cattedrale, 12, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
+41 91 922 05 05
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 239 restaurants in Lugano
Price range: $17 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dubai
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sit outside in the middle of the stairs in Lugano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Good food, good ambiance and good service. Their burrata cheese salad was really good and the lasagna too. If you are in a hurry better go to a fast food chain resto; in order to enjoy your evening don't be in a hurry and just enjoy being there and watching people going up and down the stairs.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    62
    49
    13
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food in nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Great Italian food. Small menu with very nice varying selections. Good wine.
Understand the negative comment on service from another reviewer, which we experienced in the beginning of our night until we understood that the staff's English wasn't that good and made them uneasy. The moment we tore out our 3-penny Italian mixed with some French we got there and enjoyed a very nice dinner evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We booked this restaurant for a special meal to celebrate my husband's 30th birthday.

We had read some good reviews on trip advisor, so decided to book a table for 7.30pm on a Saturday night. We arrived to find the waiter standing outside talking to a friend, with her child climbing all over the restaurant furniture. When he eventually tore himself away from his conversation we noticed only one other table occupied inside of the restaurant, so opted to sit outside.

Another waiter brought out some menus and the wine list, all of which were tatty, falling apart and dirty. We didn't see any staff again after that - after around 20 minutes of waiting for someone to at least take a drinks order, we gave up and left.

Absolutely dreadful service for a place which had such promising reviews. Really disappointed. We went to Spaghetti Store on the lake front instead which was brilliant.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“A charming Italian restaurant in Lugano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Trani is a charming Italian restaurant located near the top of a hill. Homemade gnocci and other pastas were mouthwatering, and the charming waitstaff tried their best to ensure we had a wonderful meal. Very comfortable place to have an intimate dinner. I'll definitely return.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

A rather nice Swiss-Italian restaurant. Great ambience and the service was good. It seemed quite busy but they still found us a table/

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trani also viewed

 

Been to Trani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.